Medicare Enrolled

Dr. Ryan O'Quinn, M.D.

MOHS-Micrographic Surgery Physician · San Antonio, TX
Practice pattern: Mixed Practice — Diverse clinical practice across multiple procedure types
2632 BROADWAY ST STE 300, San Antonio, TX 78215
2105586234
Registered in NPPES since 2006
NPI: 1205881281 verify on NPPES ↗
Very High
DATA COVERAGE
Data in 4 of 4 federal sources
Measures public federal data availability — not provider quality
Informational, not a quality rating. This page presents federal public records about Dr. O'Quinn from CMS (NPPES, Open Payments, Medicare Provider Utilization, PECOS). It is not medical advice, an endorsement, or a judgment of clinical quality. Always consult the provider directly and a licensed clinician for medical decisions. Read methodology →
Are you Dr. O'Quinn? Request a correction or review of any data shown here. Provider portal →

What this data tells you about Dr. O'Quinn

Dr. Ryan O'Quinn is a mohs-micrographic surgery physician in San Antonio, TX, with 20 years of NPI registration. Based on federal Medicare data, Dr. O'Quinn performed 21,086 Medicare services in 2023. These records do not provide a deduplicated patient total.

Between the years covered by Open Payments, Dr. O'Quinn received a total of $142,897 from 17 pharmaceutical and/or device companies across 105 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly reported through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their effect on care. A reliable breakdown by payment category is not available in this snapshot. Patients may wish to discuss these relationships with their provider.

The Data Coverage level for Dr. O'Quinn is Very High — reflecting how much public federal data is available about this provider. Patients are encouraged to use this data as one of several factors when choosing a healthcare provider.

✓ 20 years of NPI registration ▲ Top 3% volume in TX $142,897 industry payments

Medicare Practice Summary — 2023

Medicare Utilization ↗
21,086
Medicare services
Top 3% in TX for mohs-micrographic surgery physician
Not available
Unique patients (not deduplicated)
$71
Avg. Medicare payment
Medicare patients only (65+ / disabled) · How to read this →

Top procedures by volume

Ranked by number of services performed for Medicare patients. Avg. submitted charge is what the provider billed; avg. Medicare payment is what CMS paid.

Procedure Volume Avg. paid Avg. submitted
Photodynamic therapy gel for precancerous skin 11,800 $1 $3
Kerecis omega3, per square centimeter 1,737 $160 $312
Destruction of precancerous skin growths, 2-14
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of two to fourteen precancerous skin lesions. It is performed to eliminate abnormal skin cells that have the potential to develop into cancer.
1,139 $5 $13
Ultrasound guidance for radiation therapy field placement
Use of ultrasound imaging to help position radiation therapy fields accurately during treatment.
633 $138 $348
Radiation treatment planning, 1 area
This procedure involves gathering the necessary data to design the most effective radiation therapy plan for a single treatment area.
602 $208 $521
Skin growth removal and lab exam, 1-5 blocks
This procedure involves the removal of a growth from the head, neck, hands, feet, or genitals. The removed tissue is then examined under a microscope in the laboratory.
600 $438 $1,319
Superficial or low voltage radiation treatment
A radiation therapy procedure that delivers radiation to the surface of the body or uses low voltage energy. This treatment targets areas close to the skin.
570 $31 $79
Office visit, established patient (20-29 min)
An office visit for an existing patient lasting between 20 and 29 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
443 $61 $175
New patient office visit (30-44 min)
An initial office visit for a new patient lasting between 30 and 44 minutes. This code is used when the total time spent on the date of the encounter falls within this range.
422 $80 $215
Office visit, established patient (30-39 min)
A follow-up office visit for an existing patient lasting between 30 and 39 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
374 $97 $249
Omega-3 marine collagen wound dressing, per square centimeter
A wound dressing made from omega-3 marine collagen used to support tissue repair. The cost is calculated based on the surface area of the dressing applied.
360 $465 $1,499
Destruction of precancerous skin growth, 1
Removal of a single precancerous skin growth. This procedure destroys abnormal skin cells to prevent them from developing into cancer.
341 $39 $131
Complicated wound repair, 2.6-7.5 cm
A complex surgical procedure to close a wound measuring between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters on areas such as the face, neck, hands, or feet.
226 $191 $920
Skin biopsy, tangential
A procedure to remove a sample of the first identified skin growth for laboratory examination.
214 $63 $197
Removal and microscopic exam of growth of head, neck, hands, feet, or genitals, each additional stage, 1-5 tissue blocks 214 $321 $800
Office visit, established patient (10-19 min)
An office visit for an existing patient lasting 10 to 19 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
126 $39 $110
Complicated wound repair, scalp/arms/legs, 2.6-7.5 cm
A complex surgical procedure to close a wound on the scalp, arms, or legs that measures between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters in length.
119 $191 $830
Skin growth removal and lab exam, 1-5 blocks
A procedure to remove a growth from the trunk, arms, or legs and send 1 to 5 tissue samples to a laboratory for microscopic examination.
103 $439 $1,227
Skin substitute graft application, 25 sq cm or less
Application of a skin substitute graft to a wound on the face, scalp, eyelids, mouth, neck, ears, around eyes, genitals, hands, feet, fingers, or toes. The wound area covered is 25.0 square centimeters or less.
101 $78 $309
Radiation treatment management, 5 sessions
Oversight and management of a radiation therapy course consisting of five treatment sessions.
91 $148 $374
Continuing radiation therapy consultation per week
A weekly consultation to review and manage ongoing radiation therapy treatment.
77 $66 $165
Light application with debridement to destroy precancerous skin growth
This procedure involves applying light to the skin along with debridement to destroy precancerous skin growths.
60 $210 $545
Intraoperative pathology examination, first tissue block
A pathologist examines a tissue sample removed during surgery to provide a preliminary diagnosis. This test is performed on the first tissue block obtained from the procedure.
57 $80 $198
Skin substitute graft application, 25 sq cm or less
Application of a skin substitute graft to a wound on the trunk, arms, or legs covering 25 square centimeters or less.
54 $72 $298
Additional skin growth biopsy
Removal of a sample of an additional skin growth for laboratory examination. This code is used for each extra lesion biopsied during the same session.
53 $38 $98
Full thickness skin graft to nose, ears, eyelids, or lips, 20 sq cm or less
A surgical procedure where a full layer of skin is taken from a donor site and transplanted to the nose, ears, eyelids, or lips. The graft covers an area of 20 square centimeters or less.
48 $765 $1,942
Skin graft repair, 30.1-60.0 sq cm
A surgical procedure to repair a wound by transferring skin from one area to another. This code applies to grafts covering an area between 30.1 and 60.0 square centimeters.
40 $757 $1,913
Calculation of radiation therapy dose 39 $51 $128
Destruction of skin growths (warts/lesions), 1-14
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of one to fourteen skin growths. It is a minor surgical intervention performed on the skin surface.
36 $80 $221
Complex repair of eyelid, nose, ear, or lip wound, 2.6-7.5 cm
A surgical procedure to repair a complex wound on the eyelid, nose, ear, or lip that measures between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters.
34 $200 $961
Destruction of cancer skin growth, 1.1-2.0 cm
Removal of a cancerous skin growth on the trunk, arms, or legs that measures between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters.
32 $107 $348
Skin graft repair of eyelid, nose, ear, or lip, 10.1-30 sq cm
This procedure involves repairing a wound on the eyelid, nose, ear, or lip by transferring skin from another area. The graft size covered is between 10.1 and 30.0 square centimeters.
31 $770 $1,935
New patient office visit, 15-29 minutes
An initial office visit for a new patient lasting 15 to 29 minutes. This code is used when the total time spent on the date of the encounter meets this duration threshold.
30 $53 $140
Simple radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the initial planning phase for radiation therapy treatment. It includes the setup and configuration required to prepare for delivering radiation to a specific area.
29 $56 $138
Design and construction of simple radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a simple radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or condition being treated.
27 $30 $74
Skin graft repair, 10.1-30 sq cm
A surgical procedure to repair wounds on the forehead, cheeks, chin, mouth, neck, underarms, genitals, hands, or feet by transferring skin. The graft covers an area between 10.1 and 30.0 square centimeters.
22 $694 $1,793
Skin graft site preparation, face or scalp, 100 sq cm or less
Preparation of the skin area on the face, scalp, or other specified body parts to receive a skin graft in infants and children. The area prepared is 100 square centimeters or 1% of the body surface area, whichever is less.
22 $308 $767
Complicated wound repair of trunk, 2.6-7.5 cm
A surgical procedure to close a complex wound on the trunk that measures between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters in length.
21 $213 $776
Additional Mohs surgery stage with microscopic exam
This procedure involves the removal and microscopic examination of an additional stage of tissue from the trunk, arms, or legs. It is performed in stages to ensure complete removal of the growth.
21 $273 $766
Ear tissue biopsy
A procedure to remove a small sample of tissue from the ear for laboratory examination.
21 $54 $188
Complicated wound repair, each additional 5 cm or less
This code covers the additional work for a complex surgical repair of a wound on the scalp, arms, or legs when the repair extends beyond the initial measurement. It is billed for each incremental 5-centimeter segment added to the primary procedure.
19 $95 $248
Full thickness skin graft, 20 sq cm or less
A surgical procedure where a full layer of skin is taken from a donor site and transplanted to an area on the face, neck, or other specified body parts. The graft covers an area of 20 square centimeters or less.
16 $705 $1,803
Destruction of cancer skin growth of scalp, neck, hands, feet, or genitals, 1.1-2.0 cm 16 $110 $368
Skin graft repair of eyelid, nose, ear, or lip, 10 sq cm or less
A surgical procedure to repair a wound on the eyelid, nose, ear, or lip by transferring a small piece of skin. The transferred skin covers an area of 10 square centimeters or less.
15 $600 $1,496
Complicated wound repair, each additional 5 cm or less
This code covers the additional work for repairing a complex wound in specified body areas when the repair extends beyond the initial measurement. It applies to each incremental 5.0 cm or less added to the primary repair length.
14 $132 $327
Surgical removal of skin cancer, 1.1-2.0 cm
Surgical excision of a cancerous skin growth measuring between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters on the body, arms, or legs.
13 $96 $475
New patient office visit (45-59 min)
An initial office visit for a new patient lasting between 45 and 59 minutes. This code covers the total time spent by the physician or qualified healthcare professional on the date of the encounter.
13 $124 $324
Design and construction of complex radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a complex radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or conditions treated.
11 $98 $243
How to read this data: This reflects Medicare patients only (typically 65+). Payment amounts are what Medicare paid the provider, not your out-of-pocket cost. These counts do not measure clinical quality or years of experience.
0.1% high complexity
11.2% medium
88.7% routine

Industry Payment Transparency

Open Payments through 2024 ↗
$142,897
Total received (2018-2024)
Avg $20,414/year across 7 years
Top 5% in TX for mohs-micrographic surgery physician
A higher payment rank reflects disclosed industry relationships (consulting, research, speaking) common among subspecialists — not wrongdoing.
17
Companies
105
Payment records
Payments are publicly reported; disclosure does not establish legality · Not evidence of wrongdoing · How to interpret →

Payment categories are unavailable while the source breakdown is being rebuilt. Company and year totals do not identify how much belongs to each category.

Payment trend by year

Annual totals from pharmaceutical and medical device companies.

2024
$74,868
2023
$37,105
2022
$29,741
2021
$122
2020
$110
2019
$693
2018
$257

Payments by company (2024)

Kerecis Limited
$74,665
Regeneron Healthcare Solutions, Inc.
$188
Tactile Systems Technology Inc
$15
Top 3 companies account for 100.0% of 2024 payments
All-time payments by company (2018-2024) ›
Kerecis Limited
$140,990
AbbVie, Inc.
$391
Genentech USA, Inc.
$252
Regeneron Healthcare Solutions, Inc.
$218
Lilly USA, LLC
$151
PFIZER INC.
$125
Journey Medical Corporation
$125
AbbVie Inc.
$124
ABBVIE INC.
$124
Biofrontera Inc.
$93
Smith+Nephew, Inc.
$84
Integra LifeSciences Corporation
$80
Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$40
Organogenesis Inc.
$36
Tactile Systems Technology Inc
$31
Incyte Corporation
$17
Galderma Laboratories, L.P.
$16
Top 3 companies account for 99.1% of all-time payments
Associated products mentioned in payments ›
AMELUZ · Ameluz · Apligraf · BILAYER WOUND MATRIX (BWM) · COLLAGENASE SANTYL · EUCRISA · Erivedge · Flexitouch Plus · GRAFIX PL · Grafix PL PRIME · HUMIRA · Humira · INTEGRA MESHED BILAYER WOUND MATRIX · Kerecis Omega3 SurgiClose · LIBTAYO · OPZELURA · ORACEA · REGRANEX · REMICADE · RINVOQ · SKYRIZI · Skyrizi · TALTZ
Should you be concerned? Industry payments are disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their purpose, legality, or effect on care. What matters is whether a recommended drug or device appears in your doctor's payment records. If so, consider asking your doctor about it. How to interpret this data →
Looking for a mohs-micrographic surgery physician in San Antonio?
Compare mohs-micrographic surgery physicians in the San Antonio area by procedure volume, costs, and industry payment transparency.
Browse mohs-micrographic surgery physicians nearby

Geographic Context

Mohs-micrographic surgery physicians in nearby ZIP areas
5
County median income
$70,571
Nearest hospital to ZIP centroid (approximate)
BAPTIST MEDICAL CENTER
1.2 mi

Data Sources

Provider Registry NPPES NPPES snapshot; verify current record
Medicare Enrollment PECOS PECOS snapshot
Practice Data Medicare Util. Annual (CY lag)
Industry Payments Open Payments CY 2024
Disciplinary History — Not included N/A

This provider has data in 4 of 4 available federal datasets, with a Data Coverage level of Very High. This reflects how much public data is available about a provider. How we calculate this →

Summary

Dr. O'Quinn is a mixed practice specialist, with above-average Medicare volume (top 3% in TX), with 20 years of NPI registration.

This summary is auto-generated from federal data, describing data availability and patterns. Read our methodology →

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Dr. O'Quinn experienced with photodynamic therapy gel for precancerous skin?
Based on Medicare claims data, Dr. O'Quinn performed 11,800 photodynamic therapy gel for precancerous skin services. These records cover Medicare fee-for-service activity, including eligible younger beneficiaries; they do not measure total practice volume or clinical quality.
Does Dr. O'Quinn receive payments from pharmaceutical companies?
Yes. Dr. O'Quinn received a total of $142,897 from 17 companies across 105 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their legality or effect on care. Patients may wish to ask their doctor about these relationships, especially if a recommended drug or device appears in the payment records.
How do Dr. O'Quinn's costs compare to other mohs-micrographic surgery physicians in San Antonio?
Dr. O'Quinn's average Medicare payment per service is $71. Note that these figures represent what Medicare pays, not your out-of-pocket cost, which depends on your specific insurance plan and deductible. Procedure-level data above shows both what was submitted and what Medicare paid for each service type.
What does Data Coverage mean?
Data Coverage (currently Very High for Dr. O'Quinn) measures how much public federal data is available about a provider. It is not a quality rating. A "Very High" or "High" level means the provider has data across multiple federal sources (NPPES, PECOS, Medicare Utilization, Open Payments), indicating the presence of registry, enrollment, activity or payment records, not verified experience or clinical quality. A "Low" or "Moderate" level may simply mean the provider is newer, does not see Medicare patients, or has not received any industry payments — none of which are inherently negative. Read our full methodology →
Is this data up to date?
Source publication dates and the snapshots loaded on this site can differ. Rebuilding a page does not refresh its source records. Check the Medicare reporting year and the payment interval shown above; consult the linked official sources for newer releases and current registry details. See our data freshness policy →
About this page

This page combines public CMS records with calculated summaries and explanatory procedure labels. These transformations are not verbatim federal records. Sources: NPPES ↗, Open Payments ↗, Medicare Provider Utilization ↗, and PECOS. Publication is mandated by the Physician Payments Sunshine Act (§6002 ACA, 42 U.S.C. §1320a-7h) and the Freedom of Information Act.

This page is not medical advice, an endorsement, a recommendation, or a quality rating. Data Coverage reflects data completeness — how much federal information exists for this provider — not clinical performance, patient outcomes, or quality of care. Always verify information directly with the provider and consult a licensed clinician before making medical decisions.

Provider corrections: Provider portal · Privacy questions: Privacy Policy · Terms: Terms of Use · Methodology: Methodology

Data Disclaimer — Data sourced from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS): National Plan and Provider Enumeration System (NPPES), Open Payments program, Medicare Provider Utilization and Payment Data, and Provider Enrollment & Certification data (PECOS). Published under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). This website is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by CMS, HHS, or the U.S. Government. Data may contain errors as reported to CMS by providers and reporting entities. Industry payment disclosure alone establishes neither wrongdoing nor legality. Medicare data reflects only patients aged 65+ or those with qualifying disabilities. For corrections, contact CMS directly. This information does not constitute medical advice and should not be used as the sole basis for choosing a healthcare provider. Procedure descriptions use plain language and do not reference CPT® codes, which are copyrighted by the American Medical Association. Full methodology → · Report a data error → · Privacy policy →