Medicare Enrolled

Dr. Steven Frank, M.D.

Radiology - Diagnostic · Houston, TX
Practice pattern: Clinical Cardiology — Primarily office-based clinical cardiology
1515 HOLCOMBE BLVD, Houston, TX 77030
7137926161
Registered in NPPES since 2006
NPI: 1578659975 verify on NPPES ↗
Very High
DATA COVERAGE
Data in 4 of 4 federal sources
Measures public federal data availability — not provider quality
Informational, not a quality rating. This page presents federal public records about Dr. Frank from CMS (NPPES, Open Payments, Medicare Provider Utilization, PECOS). It is not medical advice, an endorsement, or a judgment of clinical quality. Always consult the provider directly and a licensed clinician for medical decisions. Read methodology →
Are you Dr. Frank? Request a correction or review of any data shown here. Provider portal →

What this data tells you about Dr. Frank

Dr. Steven Frank is a radiology - diagnostic specialist in Houston, TX, with 19 years of NPI registration. Based on federal Medicare data, Dr. Frank performed 509 Medicare services in 2023. These records do not provide a deduplicated patient total.

Between the years covered by Open Payments, Dr. Frank received a total of $26,533 from 11 pharmaceutical and/or device companies across 19 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly reported through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their effect on care. A reliable breakdown by payment category is not available in this snapshot. Patients may wish to discuss these relationships with their provider.

The Data Coverage level for Dr. Frank is Very High — reflecting how much public federal data is available about this provider. Patients are encouraged to use this data as one of several factors when choosing a healthcare provider.

✓ 19 years of NPI registration ▲ 509 Medicare services $26,533 industry payments

Medicare Practice Summary — 2023

Medicare Utilization ↗
509
Medicare services
Bottom 15% in TX for radiology - diagnostic
Lower Medicare volume may reflect subspecialty focus, hospital-based work, or a higher share of non-Medicare patients.
Not available
Unique patients (not deduplicated)
$111
Avg. Medicare payment
Medicare patients only (65+ / disabled) · How to read this →

Top procedures by volume

Ranked by number of services performed for Medicare patients. Avg. submitted charge is what the provider billed; avg. Medicare payment is what CMS paid.

Procedure Volume Avg. paid Avg. submitted
Radiation treatment management, 5 sessions
Oversight and management of a radiation therapy course consisting of five treatment sessions.
83 $152 $1,495
Calculation of radiation therapy dose 63 $27 $376
Design and construction of complex radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a complex radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or conditions treated.
43 $49 $709
3D radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves creating a three-dimensional treatment plan for radiation therapy. It uses imaging data to map the target area and surrounding tissues to guide precise radiation delivery.
36 $182 $2,162
Radiation treatment planning, complex
This procedure involves obtaining the necessary data to develop an optimal radiation treatment plan for three or more treatment areas, or any number of areas requiring special treatment.
30 $67 $1,644
Stereoscopic X-ray guidance for radiation therapy localization
This procedure uses stereoscopic X-ray imaging to precisely locate the target area for radiation therapy delivery.
27 $16 $216
Office visit, established patient (20-29 min)
An office visit for an existing patient lasting between 20 and 29 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
23 $51 $171
Flexible laryngoscopy
A diagnostic exam of the voice box using a flexible endoscope to visualize the larynx.
22 $56 $732
Prostate radiation therapy needle insertion
A needle or tube is inserted into the prostate to deliver radiation therapy.
18 $629 $4,039
Ultrasound guidance for needle placement
Use of ultrasound imaging to guide the precise placement of a needle during a medical procedure.
18 $25 $384
Ultrasound guidance for radiation therapy
Use of ultrasound imaging to guide the administration of radiation therapy.
18 $54 $699
Complex application of radiation source
A procedure involving the complex placement of a radiation source. The specific clinical purpose is not stated in the source description.
18 $372 $4,148
Complex radiation therapy planning 17 $137 $2,863
Radiation treatment planning, 1 area
This procedure involves gathering the necessary data to design the most effective radiation therapy plan for a single treatment area.
17 $31 $879
Complex radiation therapy planning for internal radiation
This procedure involves the detailed planning required to deliver internal radiation therapy. It covers the technical preparation necessary for the administration of the treatment.
17 $123 $1,376
Design and construction of simple radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a simple radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or condition being treated.
17 $19 $336
Special radiation treatment 17 $87 $1,366
New patient office visit, complex (60-74 min) 14 $138 $673
Telephone medical discussion, 11-20 minutes
A phone conversation with a physician lasting between 11 and 20 minutes.
11 $44 $172
How to read this data: This reflects Medicare patients only (typically 65+). Payment amounts are what Medicare paid the provider, not your out-of-pocket cost. These counts do not measure clinical quality or years of experience.

Industry Payment Transparency

Open Payments through 2024 ↗
$26,533
Total received (2018-2024)
Avg $4,422/year across 6 years
Top 6% in TX for radiology - diagnostic
A higher payment rank reflects disclosed industry relationships (consulting, research, speaking) common among subspecialists — not wrongdoing.
11
Companies
19
Payment records
Payments are publicly reported; disclosure does not establish legality · Not evidence of wrongdoing · How to interpret →

Payment categories are unavailable while the source breakdown is being rebuilt. Company and year totals do not identify how much belongs to each category.

Payment trend by year

Annual totals from pharmaceutical and medical device companies.

2024
$8,710
2023
$7,471
2022
$6,261
2021
$2,000
2019
$2,003
2018
$88

Payments by company (2024)

Ion Beam Applications S.A.
$8,500
BIOPROTECT MEDICAL, INC.
$210
Top 3 companies account for 100.0% of 2024 payments
All-time payments by company (2018-2024) ›
Ion Beam Applications S.A.
$8,500
IBA Proton Therapy, Inc.
$7,291
IsoRay, Inc
$5,553
Varian Medical Systems, Inc.
$2,028
BOSTON SCIENTIFIC CORPORATION
$2,000
Siemens Medical Solutions USA, Inc.
$708
BIOPROTECT MEDICAL, INC.
$210
Telix Pharmaceuticals
$128
Boston Scientific Corporation
$51
Amgen Inc.
$37
Augmenix, Inc.
$25
Top 3 companies account for 80.4% of all-time payments
Associated products mentioned in payments ›
BIOPROTECT BALLOON IMPLANT SYSTEM · BrachyVision · Brachytherapy Source · GENERAL BPH · ILLUCCIX · ProBeam · SpaceOAR · SpaceOAR System · Varian Treatment
Should you be concerned? Industry payments are disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their purpose, legality, or effect on care. What matters is whether a recommended drug or device appears in your doctor's payment records. If so, consider asking your doctor about it. How to interpret this data →
Looking for a radiology - diagnostic specialist in Houston?
Compare radiology - diagnostics in the Houston area by procedure volume, costs, and industry payment transparency.
Browse radiology - diagnostics nearby

Geographic Context

Radiology - diagnostics in nearby ZIP areas
141
County median income
$73,104
Nearest hospital to ZIP centroid (approximate)
MEMORIAL HERMANN - TEXAS MEDICAL CENTER
0.0 mi

Data Sources

Provider Registry NPPES NPPES snapshot; verify current record
Medicare Enrollment PECOS PECOS snapshot
Practice Data Medicare Util. Annual (CY lag)
Industry Payments Open Payments CY 2024
Disciplinary History — Not included N/A

This provider has data in 4 of 4 available federal datasets, with a Data Coverage level of Very High. This reflects how much public data is available about a provider. How we calculate this →

Summary

Dr. Frank is a clinical cardiology specialist, with moderate Medicare volume, with 19 years of NPI registration.

This summary is auto-generated from federal data, describing data availability and patterns. Read our methodology →

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Dr. Frank experienced with radiation treatment management, 5 sessions?
Based on Medicare claims data, Dr. Frank performed 83 radiation treatment management, 5 sessions services. These records cover Medicare fee-for-service activity, including eligible younger beneficiaries; they do not measure total practice volume or clinical quality.
Does Dr. Frank receive payments from pharmaceutical companies?
Yes. Dr. Frank received a total of $26,533 from 11 companies across 19 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their legality or effect on care. Patients may wish to ask their doctor about these relationships, especially if a recommended drug or device appears in the payment records.
How do Dr. Frank's costs compare to other radiology - diagnostics in Houston?
Dr. Frank's average Medicare payment per service is $111. Note that these figures represent what Medicare pays, not your out-of-pocket cost, which depends on your specific insurance plan and deductible. Procedure-level data above shows both what was submitted and what Medicare paid for each service type.
What does Data Coverage mean?
Data Coverage (currently Very High for Dr. Frank) measures how much public federal data is available about a provider. It is not a quality rating. A "Very High" or "High" level means the provider has data across multiple federal sources (NPPES, PECOS, Medicare Utilization, Open Payments), indicating the presence of registry, enrollment, activity or payment records, not verified experience or clinical quality. A "Low" or "Moderate" level may simply mean the provider is newer, does not see Medicare patients, or has not received any industry payments — none of which are inherently negative. Read our full methodology →
Is this data up to date?
Source publication dates and the snapshots loaded on this site can differ. Rebuilding a page does not refresh its source records. Check the Medicare reporting year and the payment interval shown above; consult the linked official sources for newer releases and current registry details. See our data freshness policy →
About this page

This page combines public CMS records with calculated summaries and explanatory procedure labels. These transformations are not verbatim federal records. Sources: NPPES ↗, Open Payments ↗, Medicare Provider Utilization ↗, and PECOS. Publication is mandated by the Physician Payments Sunshine Act (§6002 ACA, 42 U.S.C. §1320a-7h) and the Freedom of Information Act.

This page is not medical advice, an endorsement, a recommendation, or a quality rating. Data Coverage reflects data completeness — how much federal information exists for this provider — not clinical performance, patient outcomes, or quality of care. Always verify information directly with the provider and consult a licensed clinician before making medical decisions.

Provider corrections: Provider portal · Privacy questions: Privacy Policy · Terms: Terms of Use · Methodology: Methodology

Data Disclaimer — Data sourced from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS): National Plan and Provider Enumeration System (NPPES), Open Payments program, Medicare Provider Utilization and Payment Data, and Provider Enrollment & Certification data (PECOS). Published under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). This website is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by CMS, HHS, or the U.S. Government. Data may contain errors as reported to CMS by providers and reporting entities. Industry payment disclosure alone establishes neither wrongdoing nor legality. Medicare data reflects only patients aged 65+ or those with qualifying disabilities. For corrections, contact CMS directly. This information does not constitute medical advice and should not be used as the sole basis for choosing a healthcare provider. Procedure descriptions use plain language and do not reference CPT® codes, which are copyrighted by the American Medical Association. Full methodology → · Report a data error → · Privacy policy →