Medicare Enrolled

Alpesh Desai

Dermatology · Houston, TX
Practice pattern: Clinical Cardiology — Primarily office-based clinical cardiology
2120 ASHLAND ST, Houston, TX 77008
7138642659
Registered in NPPES since 2006
NPI: 1386696904 verify on NPPES ↗
Very High
DATA COVERAGE
Data in 4 of 4 federal sources
Measures public federal data availability — not provider quality
Informational, not a quality rating. This page presents federal public records about Desai from CMS (NPPES, Open Payments, Medicare Provider Utilization, PECOS). It is not medical advice, an endorsement, or a judgment of clinical quality. Always consult the provider directly and a licensed clinician for medical decisions. Read methodology →
Are you Desai? Request a correction or review of any data shown here. Provider portal →

What this data tells you about Desai

Alpesh Desai is a dermatology specialist in Houston, TX, with 20 years of NPI registration. Based on federal Medicare data, Desai performed 18,459 Medicare services in 2023. These records do not provide a deduplicated patient total.

Between the years covered by Open Payments, Desai received a total of $1,372,119 from 24 pharmaceutical and/or device companies across 1010 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly reported through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their effect on care. A reliable breakdown by payment category is not available in this snapshot. Patients may wish to discuss these relationships with their provider.

The Data Coverage level for Desai is Very High — reflecting how much public federal data is available about this provider. Patients are encouraged to use this data as one of several factors when choosing a healthcare provider.

✓ 20 years of NPI registration ▲ Top 2% volume in TX $1,372,119 industry payments

Medicare Practice Summary — 2023

Medicare Utilization ↗
18,459
Medicare services
Top 2% in TX for dermatology
Not available
Unique patients (not deduplicated)
$100
Avg. Medicare payment
Medicare patients only (65+ / disabled) · How to read this →

Top procedures by volume

Ranked by number of services performed for Medicare patients. Avg. submitted charge is what the provider billed; avg. Medicare payment is what CMS paid.

Procedure Volume Avg. paid Avg. submitted
Ultrasound guidance for radiation therapy field placement
Use of ultrasound imaging to help position radiation therapy fields accurately during treatment.
3,634 $141 $267
Radiation treatment planning, 1 area
This procedure involves gathering the necessary data to design the most effective radiation therapy plan for a single treatment area.
3,558 $212 $400
Superficial or low voltage radiation treatment
A radiation therapy procedure that delivers radiation to the surface of the body or uses low voltage energy. This treatment targets areas close to the skin.
3,440 $32 $61
Destruction of precancerous skin growths, 2-14
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of two to fourteen precancerous skin lesions. It is performed to eliminate abnormal skin cells that have the potential to develop into cancer.
1,711 $5 $10
Office visit, established patient (20-29 min)
An office visit for an existing patient lasting between 20 and 29 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
938 $54 $134
Office visit, established patient (30-39 min)
A follow-up office visit for an existing patient lasting between 30 and 39 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
581 $75 $193
Skin biopsy, tangential
A procedure to remove a sample of the first identified skin growth for laboratory examination.
498 $59 $152
Continuing radiation therapy consultation per week
A weekly consultation to review and manage ongoing radiation therapy treatment.
494 $68 $127
Destruction of precancerous skin growth, 1
Removal of a single precancerous skin growth. This procedure destroys abnormal skin cells to prevent them from developing into cancer.
487 $31 $100
Radiation treatment management, 5 sessions
Oversight and management of a radiation therapy course consisting of five treatment sessions.
486 $149 $284
Destruction of skin growths (warts/lesions), 1-14
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of one to fourteen skin growths. It is a minor surgical intervention performed on the skin surface.
296 $68 $170
Calculation of radiation therapy dose 288 $52 $98
Destruction of 15 or more precancerous skin growths
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of fifteen or more precancerous skin lesions. It is performed to treat abnormal skin cells that have the potential to develop into cancer.
272 $122 $255
Additional skin growth biopsy
Removal of a sample of an additional skin growth for laboratory examination. This code is used for each extra lesion biopsied during the same session.
253 $39 $75
New patient office visit (30-44 min)
An initial office visit for a new patient lasting between 30 and 44 minutes. This code is used when the total time spent on the date of the encounter falls within this range.
168 $52 $167
Design and construction of simple radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a simple radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or condition being treated.
158 $30 $59
Steroid injection (triamcinolone)
A 10 mg injection of triamcinolone acetonide, a corticosteroid medication. This code specifies the drug and dosage administered.
149 $1 $2
Simple radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the initial planning phase for radiation therapy treatment. It includes the setup and configuration required to prepare for delivering radiation to a specific area.
136 $55 $105
Topical aminolevulinic acid HCl 20% solution
A topical medication applied to the skin for medical treatment. It is supplied as a single-unit dosage form containing 354 mg of the active ingredient.
77 $306 $586
New patient office visit (45-59 min)
An initial office visit for a new patient lasting between 45 and 59 minutes. This code covers the total time spent by the physician or qualified healthcare professional on the date of the encounter.
68 $101 $250
Office visit, established patient (10-19 min)
An office visit for an existing patient lasting 10 to 19 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
60 $33 $83
Shaving of skin growth, 0.6-1.0 cm
A minor procedure to shave off a skin growth on the body, arms, or legs that measures between 0.6 and 1.0 centimeters.
54 $76 $187
Surgical removal of skin cancer, 1.1-2.0 cm
Surgical excision of a cancerous skin growth measuring between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters on the body, arms, or legs.
43 $101 $370
Design and construction of intermediate radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of an intermediate radiation treatment device. It does not specify a particular clinical purpose or condition.
43 $109 $204
Shaving of skin growth, 1.1-2.0 cm
This procedure involves shaving off a skin growth measuring between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters from the body, arms, or legs.
40 $101 $209
Design and construction of complex radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a complex radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or conditions treated.
40 $96 $184
Injection into skin growths, 1-7
A procedure involving the injection of medication into one to seven skin growths.
36 $30 $85
Ear tissue biopsy
A procedure to remove a small sample of tissue from the ear for laboratory examination.
34 $38 $145
Light application with debridement to destroy precancerous skin growth
This procedure involves applying light to the skin along with debridement to destroy precancerous skin growths.
34 $199 $414
Intermediate wound repair, 2.6-7.5 cm
A medical procedure to close a wound on the scalp, underarms, trunk, arms, or legs that measures between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters. This type of repair involves cleaning the wound and stitching it closed to promote healing.
31 $196 $443
Removal of noncancer skin growth, 1.1-2.0 cm
This procedure involves the surgical removal of a benign skin growth located on the body, arms, or legs. The growth measured between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters in diameter.
30 $92 $258
Intermediate radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the intermediate-level planning for radiation therapy treatment.
30 $86 $157
Radiation treatment planning, 2 areas
This procedure involves gathering the necessary data to design the most effective radiation therapy plan for two distinct treatment areas.
30 $343 $634
Drug injection, under skin or into muscle
A procedure involving the administration of a medication or substance via injection into the subcutaneous tissue or muscle.
23 $11 $22
Removal of noncancer skin growth, 0.6-1.0 cm
This procedure involves the removal of a benign skin growth located on the body, arms, or legs. The growth removed measures between 0.6 and 1.0 centimeters in diameter.
21 $96 $237
Shaving of skin growth, 0.6-1.0 cm
A minor procedure to shave off a skin growth measuring 0.6 to 1.0 cm from the scalp, neck, hands, feet, or genitals.
20 $88 $188
Intermediate wound repair, 2.5 cm or less
This procedure involves stitching a wound on the scalp, underarms, trunk, arms, or legs that is 2.5 centimeters or smaller. It includes cleaning the wound and closing it with sutures to promote healing.
20 $157 $397
Surgical removal of skin cancer, 2.1-3.0 cm
This procedure involves the surgical excision of a cancerous skin growth located on the body, arms, or legs. The size of the removed tissue measures between 2.1 and 3.0 centimeters.
19 $131 $412
Light therapy to destroy precancerous skin growth
A qualified healthcare professional applies light to the skin to destroy precancerous growths.
19 $178 $353
Punch biopsy of first skin growth
A small, circular piece of skin is removed from a skin growth using a circular blade. The sample is then sent to a laboratory for examination.
18 $82 $192
Complicated wound repair, 2.6-7.5 cm
A complex surgical procedure to close a wound measuring between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters on areas such as the face, neck, hands, or feet.
18 $351 $693
Complicated wound repair, scalp/arms/legs, 2.6-7.5 cm
A complex surgical procedure to close a wound on the scalp, arms, or legs that measures between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters in length.
17 $295 $624
Complex radiation therapy planning 17 $134 $251
Radiation treatment planning, complex
This procedure involves obtaining the necessary data to develop an optimal radiation treatment plan for three or more treatment areas, or any number of areas requiring special treatment.
17 $358 $671
Shaving of skin growth on face, 0.6-1.0 cm
This procedure involves shaving off a skin growth located on the face, ears, eyelids, nose, lips, or mouth. The size of the growth being removed is between 0.6 and 1.0 centimeters.
15 $89 $205
Destruction of skin growth, 15 or more growths 14 $76 $199
New patient office visit, 15-29 minutes
An initial office visit for a new patient lasting 15 to 29 minutes. This code is used when the total time spent on the date of the encounter meets this duration threshold.
13 $31 $107
Surgical removal of facial skin cancer, 1.1-2.0 cm
This procedure involves the surgical excision of a cancerous skin growth located on the face, ears, eyelids, nose, lips, or mouth. The size of the removed tissue is between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters.
11 $130 $394
How to read this data: This reflects Medicare patients only (typically 65+). Payment amounts are what Medicare paid the provider, not your out-of-pocket cost. These counts do not measure clinical quality or years of experience.

Industry Payment Transparency

Open Payments through 2024 ↗
$1,372,119
Total received (2018-2024)
Avg $196,017/year across 7 years
Top 0% in TX for dermatology
A higher payment rank reflects disclosed industry relationships (consulting, research, speaking) common among subspecialists — not wrongdoing.
24
Companies
1,010
Payment records
Payments are publicly reported; disclosure does not establish legality · Not evidence of wrongdoing · How to interpret →

Payment categories are unavailable while the source breakdown is being rebuilt. Company and year totals do not identify how much belongs to each category.

Payment trend by year

Annual totals from pharmaceutical and medical device companies.

2024
$743,914
2023
$188,926
2022
$156,991
2021
$93,089
2020
$61,509
2019
$93,589
2018
$34,100

Payments by company (2024)

Skye Orthobiologics LLC
$573,060
Regeneron Healthcare Solutions, Inc.
$71,753
ABBVIE INC.
$59,821
GENZYME CORPORATION
$25,255
Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$13,800
E.R. Squibb & Sons, L.L.C.
$131
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
$63
SUN PHARMACEUTICAL INDUSTRIES INC.
$15
STRATA Skin Sciences, Inc.
$15
Top 3 companies account for 94.7% of 2024 payments
All-time payments by company (2018-2024) ›
Skye Orthobiologics LLC
$573,060
Regeneron Healthcare Solutions, Inc.
$184,301
Janssen Scientific Affairs, LLC
$109,089
AbbVie Inc.
$99,904
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
$91,776
GENZYME CORPORATION
$91,630
ABBVIE INC.
$90,552
AbbVie, Inc.
$82,439
Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$30,753
Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Inc.
$10,064
NOVARTIS PHARMACEUTICALS CORPORATION
$7,967
E.R. Squibb & Sons, L.L.C.
$185
Arcutis Biotherapeutics, Inc.
$89
STRATA Skin Sciences, Inc.
$49
Allergan, Inc.
$48
DUSA Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$37
PFIZER INC.
$32
LEO Pharma Inc.
$29
Amgen Inc.
$28
UCB, Inc.
$22
Helsinn Therapeutics (U.S.), Inc.
$22
Dermavant Sciences, Inc.
$15
SUN PHARMACEUTICAL INDUSTRIES INC.
$15
Avion Pharmaceuticals
$14
Top 3 companies account for 63.1% of all-time payments
Associated products mentioned in payments ›
20% · ADBRY · BLU-U · BOTOX · CIBINQO · COSENTYX · Cimzia · DUPIXENT · EUCRISA · HUMIRA · Humira · LEVULAN KERASTICK · Levulan Kerastick (aminolevulinic acid HCl) for Topical Solution · ODOMZO · Odomzo · Otezla · Prenate Mini · REMICADE · RINVOQ · SKYRIZI · Skyrizi · Sotyktu · TREMFYA · VALCHLOR · VTAMA · XTRAC
Should you be concerned? Industry payments are disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their purpose, legality, or effect on care. What matters is whether a recommended drug or device appears in your doctor's payment records. If so, consider asking your doctor about it. How to interpret this data →
Looking for a dermatology specialist in Houston?
Compare dermatologists in the Houston area by procedure volume, costs, and industry payment transparency.
Browse dermatologists nearby

Geographic Context

Dermatologists in nearby ZIP areas
273
County median income
$73,104
Nearest hospital to ZIP centroid (approximate)
MEMORIAL HERMANN HOSPITAL SYSTEM
0.0 mi

Data Sources

Provider Registry NPPES NPPES snapshot; verify current record
Medicare Enrollment PECOS PECOS snapshot
Practice Data Medicare Util. Annual (CY lag)
Industry Payments Open Payments CY 2024
Disciplinary History — Not included N/A

This provider has data in 4 of 4 available federal datasets, with a Data Coverage level of Very High. This reflects how much public data is available about a provider. How we calculate this →

Summary

Desai is a clinical cardiology specialist, with above-average Medicare volume (top 2% in TX), with 20 years of NPI registration.

This summary is auto-generated from federal data, describing data availability and patterns. Read our methodology →

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Desai experienced with ultrasound guidance for radiation therapy field placement?
Based on Medicare claims data, Desai performed 3,634 ultrasound guidance for radiation therapy field placement services. These records cover Medicare fee-for-service activity, including eligible younger beneficiaries; they do not measure total practice volume or clinical quality.
Does Desai receive payments from pharmaceutical companies?
Yes. Desai received a total of $1,372,119 from 24 companies across 1,010 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their legality or effect on care. Patients may wish to ask their doctor about these relationships, especially if a recommended drug or device appears in the payment records.
How do Desai's costs compare to other dermatologists in Houston?
Desai's average Medicare payment per service is $100. Note that these figures represent what Medicare pays, not your out-of-pocket cost, which depends on your specific insurance plan and deductible. Procedure-level data above shows both what was submitted and what Medicare paid for each service type.
What does Data Coverage mean?
Data Coverage (currently Very High for Desai) measures how much public federal data is available about a provider. It is not a quality rating. A "Very High" or "High" level means the provider has data across multiple federal sources (NPPES, PECOS, Medicare Utilization, Open Payments), indicating the presence of registry, enrollment, activity or payment records, not verified experience or clinical quality. A "Low" or "Moderate" level may simply mean the provider is newer, does not see Medicare patients, or has not received any industry payments — none of which are inherently negative. Read our full methodology →
Is this data up to date?
Source publication dates and the snapshots loaded on this site can differ. Rebuilding a page does not refresh its source records. Check the Medicare reporting year and the payment interval shown above; consult the linked official sources for newer releases and current registry details. See our data freshness policy →
About this page

This page combines public CMS records with calculated summaries and explanatory procedure labels. These transformations are not verbatim federal records. Sources: NPPES ↗, Open Payments ↗, Medicare Provider Utilization ↗, and PECOS. Publication is mandated by the Physician Payments Sunshine Act (§6002 ACA, 42 U.S.C. §1320a-7h) and the Freedom of Information Act.

This page is not medical advice, an endorsement, a recommendation, or a quality rating. Data Coverage reflects data completeness — how much federal information exists for this provider — not clinical performance, patient outcomes, or quality of care. Always verify information directly with the provider and consult a licensed clinician before making medical decisions.

Provider corrections: Provider portal · Privacy questions: Privacy Policy · Terms: Terms of Use · Methodology: Methodology

Data Disclaimer — Data sourced from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS): National Plan and Provider Enumeration System (NPPES), Open Payments program, Medicare Provider Utilization and Payment Data, and Provider Enrollment & Certification data (PECOS). Published under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). This website is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by CMS, HHS, or the U.S. Government. Data may contain errors as reported to CMS by providers and reporting entities. Industry payment disclosure alone establishes neither wrongdoing nor legality. Medicare data reflects only patients aged 65+ or those with qualifying disabilities. For corrections, contact CMS directly. This information does not constitute medical advice and should not be used as the sole basis for choosing a healthcare provider. Procedure descriptions use plain language and do not reference CPT® codes, which are copyrighted by the American Medical Association. Full methodology → · Report a data error → · Privacy policy →