Medicare Enrolled

Dr. Russell Rowe, MD

MOHS-Micrographic Surgery Physician · Gatesville, TX
Practice pattern: Clinical Cardiology — Primarily office-based clinical cardiology
1507 W MAIN ST, Gatesville, TX 76528
2542657100
Registered in NPPES since 2006
NPI: 1215026232 verify on NPPES ↗
Very High
DATA COVERAGE
Data in 4 of 4 federal sources
Measures public federal data availability — not provider quality
Informational, not a quality rating. This page presents federal public records about Dr. Rowe from CMS (NPPES, Open Payments, Medicare Provider Utilization, PECOS). It is not medical advice, an endorsement, or a judgment of clinical quality. Always consult the provider directly and a licensed clinician for medical decisions. Read methodology →
Are you Dr. Rowe? Request a correction or review of any data shown here. Provider portal →

What this data tells you about Dr. Rowe

Dr. Russell Rowe is a mohs-micrographic surgery physician in Gatesville, TX, with 19 years of NPI registration. Based on federal Medicare data, Dr. Rowe performed 11,113 Medicare services in 2023. These records do not provide a deduplicated patient total.

Between the years covered by Open Payments, Dr. Rowe received a total of $8,597 from 29 pharmaceutical and/or device companies across 284 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly reported through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their effect on care. A reliable breakdown by payment category is not available in this snapshot. Patients may wish to discuss these relationships with their provider.

The Data Coverage level for Dr. Rowe is Very High — reflecting how much public federal data is available about this provider. Patients are encouraged to use this data as one of several factors when choosing a healthcare provider.

✓ 19 years of NPI registration ▲ Top 10% volume in TX $8,597 industry payments

Medicare Practice Summary — 2023

Medicare Utilization ↗
11,113
Medicare services
Top 10% in TX for mohs-micrographic surgery physician
Not available
Unique patients (not deduplicated)
$96
Avg. Medicare payment
Medicare patients only (65+ / disabled) · How to read this →

Top procedures by volume

Ranked by number of services performed for Medicare patients. Avg. submitted charge is what the provider billed; avg. Medicare payment is what CMS paid.

Procedure Volume Avg. paid Avg. submitted
Destruction of precancerous skin growths, 2-14
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of two to fourteen precancerous skin lesions. It is performed to eliminate abnormal skin cells that have the potential to develop into cancer.
2,558 $5 $11
Ultrasound guidance for radiation therapy field placement
Use of ultrasound imaging to help position radiation therapy fields accurately during treatment.
1,191 $135 $305
Radiation treatment planning, 1 area
This procedure involves gathering the necessary data to design the most effective radiation therapy plan for a single treatment area.
1,126 $204 $456
Superficial or low voltage radiation treatment
A radiation therapy procedure that delivers radiation to the surface of the body or uses low voltage energy. This treatment targets areas close to the skin.
1,085 $31 $69
Office visit, established patient (20-29 min)
An office visit for an existing patient lasting between 20 and 29 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
1,005 $58 $153
Destruction of precancerous skin growth, 1
Removal of a single precancerous skin growth. This procedure destroys abnormal skin cells to prevent them from developing into cancer.
813 $32 $114
Cogenex amniotic membrane, per square centimeter
This code represents the application of Cogenex, a processed amniotic membrane product, measured by each square centimeter used during a procedure.
448 $190 $650
Skin biopsy, tangential
A procedure to remove a sample of the first identified skin growth for laboratory examination.
406 $58 $173
Destruction of skin growths (warts/lesions), 1-14
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of one to fourteen skin growths. It is a minor surgical intervention performed on the skin surface.
399 $77 $193
Skin growth removal and lab exam, 1-5 blocks
This procedure involves the removal of a growth from the head, neck, hands, feet, or genitals. The removed tissue is then examined under a microscope in the laboratory.
381 $476 $1,133
Radiation treatment management, 5 sessions
Oversight and management of a radiation therapy course consisting of five treatment sessions.
208 $147 $327
Continuing radiation therapy consultation per week
A weekly consultation to review and manage ongoing radiation therapy treatment.
175 $65 $144
New patient office visit (30-44 min)
An initial office visit for a new patient lasting between 30 and 44 minutes. This code is used when the total time spent on the date of the encounter falls within this range.
151 $68 $190
Office visit, established patient (10-19 min)
An office visit for an existing patient lasting 10 to 19 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
146 $35 $96
Additional skin growth biopsy
Removal of a sample of an additional skin growth for laboratory examination. This code is used for each extra lesion biopsied during the same session.
129 $37 $86
Complicated wound repair, 2.6-7.5 cm
A complex surgical procedure to close a wound measuring between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters on areas such as the face, neck, hands, or feet.
109 $191 $774
Removal and microscopic exam of growth of head, neck, hands, feet, or genitals, each additional stage, 1-5 tissue blocks 100 $315 $693
Calculation of radiation therapy dose 88 $50 $112
Skin growth removal and lab exam, 1-5 blocks
A procedure to remove a growth from the trunk, arms, or legs and send 1 to 5 tissue samples to a laboratory for microscopic examination.
76 $468 $1,080
Complicated wound repair, scalp/arms/legs, 2.6-7.5 cm
A complex surgical procedure to close a wound on the scalp, arms, or legs that measures between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters in length.
74 $190 $718
Design and construction of simple radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a simple radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or condition being treated.
56 $29 $65
Skin substitute graft application, 25 sq cm or less
Application of a skin substitute graft to a wound on the face, scalp, eyelids, mouth, neck, ears, around eyes, genitals, hands, feet, fingers, or toes. The wound area covered is 25.0 square centimeters or less.
52 $88 $269
Simple radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the initial planning phase for radiation therapy treatment. It includes the setup and configuration required to prepare for delivering radiation to a specific area.
44 $54 $121
Office visit, established patient (30-39 min)
A follow-up office visit for an existing patient lasting between 30 and 39 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
42 $85 $218
New patient office visit, 15-29 minutes
An initial office visit for a new patient lasting 15 to 29 minutes. This code is used when the total time spent on the date of the encounter meets this duration threshold.
37 $42 $123
Destruction of 15 or more precancerous skin growths
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of fifteen or more precancerous skin lesions. It is performed to treat abnormal skin cells that have the potential to develop into cancer.
31 $116 $287
Intermediate wound repair, 2.6-7.5 cm
A medical procedure to close a wound on the scalp, underarms, trunk, arms, or legs that measures between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters. This type of repair involves cleaning the wound and stitching it closed to promote healing.
30 $168 $518
Ear tissue biopsy
A procedure to remove a small sample of tissue from the ear for laboratory examination.
27 $52 $164
Complex repair of eyelid, nose, ear, or lip wound, 2.6-7.5 cm
A surgical procedure to repair a complex wound on the eyelid, nose, ear, or lip that measures between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters.
24 $199 $827
Skin graft repair, 10 sq cm or less
A surgical procedure to repair a wound by transferring a small piece of skin to the affected area. The graft covers wounds on the face, neck, hands, feet, or other specified body parts.
22 $554 $1,258
Complex repair of eyelid, nose, ear, or lip wound, 1.1-2.5 cm
A surgical procedure to repair a complex wound on the eyelid, nose, ear, or lip that measures between 1.1 and 2.5 centimeters.
20 $170 $716
Intermediate wound repair, 2.6-7.5 cm
This procedure involves stitching a wound on the neck, hands, feet, or genitals that measures between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters. It is classified as an intermediate repair requiring layered closure.
17 $133 $528
Design and construction of intermediate radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of an intermediate radiation treatment device. It does not specify a particular clinical purpose or condition.
17 $105 $234
Intermediate repair of wound of face, ears, eyelids, nose, lips, or mouth, 2.6-5.0 cm 13 $121 $540
Complex wound repair, 1.1-2.5 cm
A surgical procedure to close a complex wound measuring between 1.1 and 2.5 centimeters on areas such as the face, neck, hands, or feet.
13 $149 $648
How to read this data: This reflects Medicare patients only (typically 65+). Payment amounts are what Medicare paid the provider, not your out-of-pocket cost. These counts do not measure clinical quality or years of experience.

Industry Payment Transparency

Open Payments through 2024 ↗
$8,597
Total received (2018-2024)
Avg $1,228/year across 7 years
Top 16% in TX for mohs-micrographic surgery physician
A higher payment rank reflects disclosed industry relationships (consulting, research, speaking) common among subspecialists — not wrongdoing.
29
Companies
284
Payment records
Payments are publicly reported; disclosure does not establish legality · Not evidence of wrongdoing · How to interpret →

Payment categories are unavailable while the source breakdown is being rebuilt. Company and year totals do not identify how much belongs to each category.

Payment trend by year

Annual totals from pharmaceutical and medical device companies.

2024
$2,014
2023
$2,096
2022
$750
2021
$941
2020
$210
2019
$366
2018
$2,219

Payments by company (2024)

Kerecis Limited
$462
ABBVIE INC.
$295
E.R. Squibb & Sons, L.L.C.
$253
PFIZER INC.
$201
SUN PHARMACEUTICAL INDUSTRIES INC.
$198
GENZYME CORPORATION
$178
UCB, Inc.
$145
Regeneron Healthcare Solutions, Inc.
$86
Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$63
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
$54
ANI Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$28
Galderma Laboratories, L.P.
$21
Bayer Healthcare Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$16
Incyte Corporation
$14
Top 3 companies account for 50.2% of 2024 payments
All-time payments by company (2018-2024) ›
AbbVie, Inc.
$1,891
E.R. Squibb & Sons, L.L.C.
$879
AbbVie Inc.
$869
PFIZER INC.
$697
ABBVIE INC.
$622
Kerecis Limited
$529
GENZYME CORPORATION
$431
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
$425
Regeneron Healthcare Solutions, Inc.
$421
Galderma Laboratories, L.P.
$337
Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$285
SUN PHARMACEUTICAL INDUSTRIES INC.
$198
Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Inc.
$172
UCB, Inc.
$158
LEO Pharma Inc.
$152
Amgen Inc.
$124
Lilly USA, LLC
$107
Otsuka America Pharmaceutical, Inc.
$69
DUSA Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$49
Averitas Pharma Inc.
$30
ANI Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$28
MAYNE PHARMA INC.
$24
Genentech USA, Inc.
$20
Celgene Corporation
$16
Bayer Healthcare Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$16
Incyte Corporation
$14
Amarin Pharma Inc.
$13
Mylan Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$12
Melinta Therapeutics, LLC
$12
Top 3 companies account for 42.3% of all-time payments
Associated products mentioned in payments ›
20% · ABILIFY MAINTENA · ABSORICA (isotretinoin) · ADBRY · AKLIEF · BLU-U · Bimzelx · CIBINQO · COSENTYX · Cimzia · DERMATITIS - DISEASE · DUPIXENT · DUPIXENT DUPILUMAB INJECTION · EPIDUO FORTE · EUCRISA · Erivedge · HUMIRA · Humira · ILUMYA · Kerecis Omega3 SurgiClose · Kerendia · Kimyrsa · LIBTAYO · LITFULO · Levulan Kerastick (aminolevulinic acid HCl) for Topical Solution · OPZELURA · Odomzo · Olux · Otezla · PURIFIED CORTROPHIN GEL · QUTENZA · REMICADE · REXULTI · RINVOQ · SKYRIZI · SOOLANTRA · Sotyktu · TALTZ · TREMFYA · TWYNEO · Vascepa
Should you be concerned? Industry payments are disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their purpose, legality, or effect on care. What matters is whether a recommended drug or device appears in your doctor's payment records. If so, consider asking your doctor about it. How to interpret this data →
Looking for a mohs-micrographic surgery physician in Gatesville?
Compare mohs-micrographic surgery physicians in the Gatesville area by procedure volume, costs, and industry payment transparency.
Browse mohs-micrographic surgery physicians nearby

Geographic Context

Mohs-micrographic surgery physicians in nearby ZIP areas
1
County median income
$68,904
Nearest hospital to ZIP centroid (approximate)
CORYELL MEMORIAL HOSPITAL
0.0 mi

Data Sources

Provider Registry NPPES NPPES snapshot; verify current record
Medicare Enrollment PECOS PECOS snapshot
Practice Data Medicare Util. Annual (CY lag)
Industry Payments Open Payments CY 2024
Disciplinary History — Not included N/A

This provider has data in 4 of 4 available federal datasets, with a Data Coverage level of Very High. This reflects how much public data is available about a provider. How we calculate this →

Summary

Dr. Rowe is a clinical cardiology specialist, with above-average Medicare volume (top 10% in TX), with 19 years of NPI registration.

This summary is auto-generated from federal data, describing data availability and patterns. Read our methodology →

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Dr. Rowe experienced with destruction of precancerous skin growths, 2-14?
Based on Medicare claims data, Dr. Rowe performed 2,558 destruction of precancerous skin growths, 2-14 services. These records cover Medicare fee-for-service activity, including eligible younger beneficiaries; they do not measure total practice volume or clinical quality.
Does Dr. Rowe receive payments from pharmaceutical companies?
Yes. Dr. Rowe received a total of $8,597 from 29 companies across 284 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their legality or effect on care. Patients may wish to ask their doctor about these relationships, especially if a recommended drug or device appears in the payment records.
How do Dr. Rowe's costs compare to other mohs-micrographic surgery physicians in Gatesville?
Dr. Rowe's average Medicare payment per service is $96. Note that these figures represent what Medicare pays, not your out-of-pocket cost, which depends on your specific insurance plan and deductible. Procedure-level data above shows both what was submitted and what Medicare paid for each service type.
What does Data Coverage mean?
Data Coverage (currently Very High for Dr. Rowe) measures how much public federal data is available about a provider. It is not a quality rating. A "Very High" or "High" level means the provider has data across multiple federal sources (NPPES, PECOS, Medicare Utilization, Open Payments), indicating the presence of registry, enrollment, activity or payment records, not verified experience or clinical quality. A "Low" or "Moderate" level may simply mean the provider is newer, does not see Medicare patients, or has not received any industry payments — none of which are inherently negative. Read our full methodology →
Is this data up to date?
Source publication dates and the snapshots loaded on this site can differ. Rebuilding a page does not refresh its source records. Check the Medicare reporting year and the payment interval shown above; consult the linked official sources for newer releases and current registry details. See our data freshness policy →
About this page

This page combines public CMS records with calculated summaries and explanatory procedure labels. These transformations are not verbatim federal records. Sources: NPPES ↗, Open Payments ↗, Medicare Provider Utilization ↗, and PECOS. Publication is mandated by the Physician Payments Sunshine Act (§6002 ACA, 42 U.S.C. §1320a-7h) and the Freedom of Information Act.

This page is not medical advice, an endorsement, a recommendation, or a quality rating. Data Coverage reflects data completeness — how much federal information exists for this provider — not clinical performance, patient outcomes, or quality of care. Always verify information directly with the provider and consult a licensed clinician before making medical decisions.

Provider corrections: Provider portal · Privacy questions: Privacy Policy · Terms: Terms of Use · Methodology: Methodology

Data Disclaimer — Data sourced from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS): National Plan and Provider Enumeration System (NPPES), Open Payments program, Medicare Provider Utilization and Payment Data, and Provider Enrollment & Certification data (PECOS). Published under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). This website is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by CMS, HHS, or the U.S. Government. Data may contain errors as reported to CMS by providers and reporting entities. Industry payment disclosure alone establishes neither wrongdoing nor legality. Medicare data reflects only patients aged 65+ or those with qualifying disabilities. For corrections, contact CMS directly. This information does not constitute medical advice and should not be used as the sole basis for choosing a healthcare provider. Procedure descriptions use plain language and do not reference CPT® codes, which are copyrighted by the American Medical Association. Full methodology → · Report a data error → · Privacy policy →