Medicare Enrolled

Dr. Matthew Cavey, MD

Radiology - Diagnostic · Fort Worth, TX
Practice pattern: Clinical Cardiology — Primarily office-based clinical cardiology
1300 W TERRELL AVE, Fort Worth, TX 76104
8177611844
Registered in NPPES since 2006
NPI: 1720031263 verify on NPPES ↗
Very High
DATA COVERAGE
Data in 4 of 4 federal sources
Measures public federal data availability — not provider quality
Informational, not a quality rating. This page presents federal public records about Dr. Cavey from CMS (NPPES, Open Payments, Medicare Provider Utilization, PECOS). It is not medical advice, an endorsement, or a judgment of clinical quality. Always consult the provider directly and a licensed clinician for medical decisions. Read methodology →
Are you Dr. Cavey? Request a correction or review of any data shown here. Provider portal →

What this data tells you about Dr. Cavey

Dr. Matthew Cavey is a radiology - diagnostic specialist in Fort Worth, TX, with 20 years of NPI registration. Based on federal Medicare data, Dr. Cavey performed 9,593 Medicare services in 2023. These records do not provide a deduplicated patient total.

Between the years covered by Open Payments, Dr. Cavey received a total of $12,354 from 24 pharmaceutical and/or device companies across 85 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly reported through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their effect on care. A reliable breakdown by payment category is not available in this snapshot. Patients may wish to discuss these relationships with their provider.

The Data Coverage level for Dr. Cavey is Very High — reflecting how much public federal data is available about this provider. Patients are encouraged to use this data as one of several factors when choosing a healthcare provider.

✓ 20 years of NPI registration ▲ Top 14% volume in TX $12,354 industry payments

Medicare Practice Summary — 2023

Medicare Utilization ↗
9,593
Medicare services
Top 14% in TX for radiology - diagnostic
Not available
Unique patients (not deduplicated)
$203
Avg. Medicare payment
Medicare patients only (65+ / disabled) · How to read this →

Top procedures by volume

Ranked by number of services performed for Medicare patients. Avg. submitted charge is what the provider billed; avg. Medicare payment is what CMS paid.

Procedure Volume Avg. paid Avg. submitted
CT guidance for radiation therapy
This procedure uses computed tomography imaging to guide the precise placement of radiation therapy fields. It ensures accurate positioning for targeted treatment delivery.
3,184 $94 $370
Intensity-modulated radiation therapy delivery
Delivery of radiation therapy using narrow beams that are spatially and temporally modulated to target specific areas. This process is performed per treatment session.
3,132 $280 $1,098
Continuing radiation therapy consultation per week
A weekly consultation to review and manage ongoing radiation therapy treatment.
673 $66 $239
Radiation treatment management, 5 sessions
Oversight and management of a radiation therapy course consisting of five treatment sessions.
653 $147 $582
Office visit, established patient (30-39 min)
A follow-up office visit for an existing patient lasting between 30 and 39 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
315 $90 $327
Calculation of radiation therapy dose 221 $51 $202
Design and construction of radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a device used for high precision radiation therapy. It does not include the actual administration of radiation treatment.
136 $359 $1,479
Complex radiation therapy planning 134 $128 $516
New patient office visit, complex (60-74 min) 123 $158 $624
High precision radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the detailed planning and setup required for delivering high-precision radiation therapy to a target area of the body.
114 $1,425 $5,791
Stereotactic radiosurgery, 2nd through 5th session
Image-guided robotic radiation therapy delivery for the second through fifth sessions of a fractionated treatment course. This code covers up to five sessions per course of treatment.
108 $1,574 $6,033
Ultrasound guidance for needle placement
Use of ultrasound imaging to guide the precise placement of a needle during a medical procedure.
93 $26 $108
Prostate radiation therapy device placement
A device is placed in the prostate to facilitate radiation therapy. This procedure involves positioning the device to aid in the delivery of radiation treatment.
91 $43 $443
Injection of biodegradable material next to prostate
A procedure involving the injection of a biodegradable substance into the tissue surrounding the prostate gland.
82 $117 $9,341
Complex radiation therapy planning for internal radiation
This procedure involves the detailed planning required to deliver internal radiation therapy. It covers the technical preparation necessary for the administration of the treatment.
66 $355 $1,241
Special radiation treatment 66 $105 $407
Transrectal ultrasound of prostate
An ultrasound imaging procedure where a probe is inserted into the rectum to create pictures of the prostate gland.
60 $129 $533
Complex application of radiation source
A procedure involving the complex placement of a radiation source. The specific clinical purpose is not stated in the source description.
58 $355 $960
Design and construction of simple radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a simple radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or condition being treated.
57 $18 $73
Special medical radiation therapy consultation
A consultation with a radiation oncologist to discuss treatment options and plan for medical radiation therapy.
45 $109 $372
3D radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves creating a three-dimensional treatment plan for radiation therapy. It uses imaging data to map the target area and surrounding tissues to guide precise radiation delivery.
42 $361 $1,482
3D radiographic procedure with computerized image postprocessing
A radiographic imaging procedure that creates three-dimensional images using computerized processing of the captured data.
28 $42 $220
Fractionated radiation therapy for cranial lesion
Treatment using radiation delivered in multiple sessions to manage a lesion in the head.
27 $485 $1,964
Robotic stereotactic radiosurgery, first session
A precise radiation treatment delivered using a robotic linear accelerator guided by imaging. This code covers the first session of a fractionated course or a complete single-session treatment.
27 $2,093 $8,021
Prostate gland biopsy
A procedure to remove small samples of tissue from the prostate gland for laboratory examination.
21 $182 $635
Radiologist review of MRI guidance for needle placement
A radiologist reviews the MRI images to guide the placement of a needle. This step ensures accurate positioning during a medical procedure.
14 $55 $753
Implantable tissue marker, each
A small marker is implanted into tissue to serve as a reference point for future medical imaging or procedures.
12 $95 $121
Office visit for established patient
An office visit for an existing patient that may not require the healthcare professional to be present.
11 $13 $70
How to read this data: This reflects Medicare patients only (typically 65+). Payment amounts are what Medicare paid the provider, not your out-of-pocket cost. These counts do not measure clinical quality or years of experience.
1.4% high complexity
93.5% medium
5.1% routine

Industry Payment Transparency

Open Payments through 2024 ↗
$12,354
Total received (2019-2024)
Avg $2,059/year across 6 years
Top 11% in TX for radiology - diagnostic
A higher payment rank reflects disclosed industry relationships (consulting, research, speaking) common among subspecialists — not wrongdoing.
24
Companies
85
Payment records
Payments are publicly reported; disclosure does not establish legality · Not evidence of wrongdoing · How to interpret →

Payment categories are unavailable while the source breakdown is being rebuilt. Company and year totals do not identify how much belongs to each category.

Payment trend by year

Annual totals from pharmaceutical and medical device companies.

2024
$7,520
2023
$2,384
2022
$2,038
2021
$324
2020
$26
2019
$62

Payments by company (2024)

Olympus America Inc.
$6,723
BIOPROTECT MEDICAL, INC.
$236
Accuray Incorporated
$164
Boston Scientific Corporation
$120
Blue Earth Diagnostics Limited
$78
IsoRay, Inc
$73
Telix Pharmaceuticals
$41
PFIZER INC.
$24
MEDTEC LLC
$21
PROGENICS PHARMACEUTICALS, INC.
$20
CIVCO Medical Instruments
$19
Top 3 companies account for 94.7% of 2024 payments
All-time payments by company (2019-2024) ›
Olympus America Inc.
$6,723
Elekta, Inc.
$1,388
VIEWRAY TECHNOLOGIES INC
$1,347
IsoRay, Inc
$847
Boston Scientific Corporation
$362
Palette Life Sciences, Inc.
$340
Accuray Incorporated
$319
ACCURAY INCORPORATED
$242
BIOPROTECT MEDICAL, INC.
$236
Blue Earth Diagnostics Limited
$101
BOSTON SCIENTIFIC CORPORATION
$76
Myriad Genetic Laboratories, Inc.
$53
PFIZER INC.
$44
Telix Pharmaceuticals
$41
Exelixis Inc.
$38
Zap Surgical Systems, Inc.
$26
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
$25
PALETTE LIFE SCIENCES, INC.
$24
Bayer HealthCare Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$24
Progenics Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$22
MEDTEC LLC
$21
PROGENICS PHARMACEUTICALS, INC.
$20
CIVCO Medical Instruments
$19
Novocure Inc.
$15
Top 3 companies account for 76.6% of all-time payments
Associated products mentioned in payments ›
Axumin · BIOPROTECT BALLOON IMPLANT SYSTEM · BRACHYTHERAPY SOURCE · Brachytherapy Source · Cabometyx · CyberKnife System · ELEKTA MEDICAL LINEAR ACCELERATOR · ELEKTA UNITY · GENERAL - THERAPIES · General - Therapies · ILLUCCIX · MRIdian LINAC · MYRISK · ORGOVYX · Optune · PLUVICTO · POSLUMA · PYLARIFY · RHINO-LARYNGO FIBERSCOPE · Rezum Generator · SpaceOAR VUE System - 10mL · Tomo Therapy System · TomoTherapy System · XTANDI · Xofigo · Zap-X
Should you be concerned? Industry payments are disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their purpose, legality, or effect on care. What matters is whether a recommended drug or device appears in your doctor's payment records. If so, consider asking your doctor about it. How to interpret this data →
Looking for a radiology - diagnostic specialist in Fort Worth?
Compare radiology - diagnostics in the Fort Worth area by procedure volume, costs, and industry payment transparency.
Browse radiology - diagnostics nearby

Geographic Context

Radiology - diagnostics in nearby ZIP areas
19
County median income
$81,905
Nearest hospital to ZIP centroid (approximate)
JPS HEALTH NETWORK
0.0 mi

Data Sources

Provider Registry NPPES NPPES snapshot; verify current record
Medicare Enrollment PECOS PECOS snapshot
Practice Data Medicare Util. Annual (CY lag)
Industry Payments Open Payments CY 2024
Disciplinary History — Not included N/A

This provider has data in 4 of 4 available federal datasets, with a Data Coverage level of Very High. This reflects how much public data is available about a provider. How we calculate this →

Summary

Dr. Cavey is a clinical cardiology specialist, with above-average Medicare volume (top 14% in TX), with 20 years of NPI registration.

This summary is auto-generated from federal data, describing data availability and patterns. Read our methodology →

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Dr. Cavey experienced with ct guidance for radiation therapy?
Based on Medicare claims data, Dr. Cavey performed 3,184 ct guidance for radiation therapy services. These records cover Medicare fee-for-service activity, including eligible younger beneficiaries; they do not measure total practice volume or clinical quality.
Does Dr. Cavey receive payments from pharmaceutical companies?
Yes. Dr. Cavey received a total of $12,354 from 24 companies across 85 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their legality or effect on care. Patients may wish to ask their doctor about these relationships, especially if a recommended drug or device appears in the payment records.
How do Dr. Cavey's costs compare to other radiology - diagnostics in Fort Worth?
Dr. Cavey's average Medicare payment per service is $203. Note that these figures represent what Medicare pays, not your out-of-pocket cost, which depends on your specific insurance plan and deductible. Procedure-level data above shows both what was submitted and what Medicare paid for each service type.
What does Data Coverage mean?
Data Coverage (currently Very High for Dr. Cavey) measures how much public federal data is available about a provider. It is not a quality rating. A "Very High" or "High" level means the provider has data across multiple federal sources (NPPES, PECOS, Medicare Utilization, Open Payments), indicating the presence of registry, enrollment, activity or payment records, not verified experience or clinical quality. A "Low" or "Moderate" level may simply mean the provider is newer, does not see Medicare patients, or has not received any industry payments — none of which are inherently negative. Read our full methodology →
Is this data up to date?
Source publication dates and the snapshots loaded on this site can differ. Rebuilding a page does not refresh its source records. Check the Medicare reporting year and the payment interval shown above; consult the linked official sources for newer releases and current registry details. See our data freshness policy →
About this page

This page combines public CMS records with calculated summaries and explanatory procedure labels. These transformations are not verbatim federal records. Sources: NPPES ↗, Open Payments ↗, Medicare Provider Utilization ↗, and PECOS. Publication is mandated by the Physician Payments Sunshine Act (§6002 ACA, 42 U.S.C. §1320a-7h) and the Freedom of Information Act.

This page is not medical advice, an endorsement, a recommendation, or a quality rating. Data Coverage reflects data completeness — how much federal information exists for this provider — not clinical performance, patient outcomes, or quality of care. Always verify information directly with the provider and consult a licensed clinician before making medical decisions.

Provider corrections: Provider portal · Privacy questions: Privacy Policy · Terms: Terms of Use · Methodology: Methodology

Data Disclaimer — Data sourced from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS): National Plan and Provider Enumeration System (NPPES), Open Payments program, Medicare Provider Utilization and Payment Data, and Provider Enrollment & Certification data (PECOS). Published under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). This website is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by CMS, HHS, or the U.S. Government. Data may contain errors as reported to CMS by providers and reporting entities. Industry payment disclosure alone establishes neither wrongdoing nor legality. Medicare data reflects only patients aged 65+ or those with qualifying disabilities. For corrections, contact CMS directly. This information does not constitute medical advice and should not be used as the sole basis for choosing a healthcare provider. Procedure descriptions use plain language and do not reference CPT® codes, which are copyrighted by the American Medical Association. Full methodology → · Report a data error → · Privacy policy →