Medicare Enrolled

Dr. Jameson Mendel, MD

Internal Medicine · El Paso, TX
Practice pattern: Mixed Practice — Diverse clinical practice across multiple procedure types
7420 REMCON CIR STE A, El Paso, TX 79912
9154220154
Registered in NPPES since 2015
NPI: 1679952915 verify on NPPES ↗
Very High
DATA COVERAGE
Data in 4 of 4 federal sources
Measures public federal data availability — not provider quality
Informational, not a quality rating. This page presents federal public records about Dr. Mendel from CMS (NPPES, Open Payments, Medicare Provider Utilization, PECOS). It is not medical advice, an endorsement, or a judgment of clinical quality. Always consult the provider directly and a licensed clinician for medical decisions. Read methodology →
Are you Dr. Mendel? Request a correction or review of any data shown here. Provider portal →

What this data tells you about Dr. Mendel

Dr. Jameson Mendel is an internal medicine specialist in El Paso, TX, with 11 years of NPI registration. Based on federal Medicare data, Dr. Mendel performed 16,169 Medicare services in 2023. These records do not provide a deduplicated patient total.

Between the years covered by Open Payments, Dr. Mendel received a total of $19,122 from 44 pharmaceutical and/or device companies across 240 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly reported through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their effect on care. A reliable breakdown by payment category is not available in this snapshot. Patients may wish to discuss these relationships with their provider.

The Data Coverage level for Dr. Mendel is Very High — reflecting how much public federal data is available about this provider. Patients are encouraged to use this data as one of several factors when choosing a healthcare provider.

✓ 11 years of NPI registration ▲ Top 2% volume in TX $19,122 industry payments

Medicare Practice Summary — 2023

Medicare Utilization ↗
16,169
Medicare services
Top 2% in TX for internal medicine
Not available
Unique patients (not deduplicated)
$99
Avg. Medicare payment
Medicare patients only (65+ / disabled) · How to read this →

Top procedures by volume

Ranked by number of services performed for Medicare patients. Avg. submitted charge is what the provider billed; avg. Medicare payment is what CMS paid.

Procedure Volume Avg. paid Avg. submitted
Denosumab injection (Prolia/Xgeva) 4,020 $18 $38
Injection, degarelix, 1 mg 3,760 $3 $8
Intensity-modulated radiation therapy delivery
Delivery of radiation therapy using narrow beams that are spatially and temporally modulated to target specific areas. This process is performed per treatment session.
2,153 $276 $920
CT guidance for radiation therapy
This procedure uses computed tomography imaging to guide the precise placement of radiation therapy fields. It ensures accurate positioning for targeted treatment delivery.
2,046 $94 $305
Continuing radiation therapy consultation per week
A weekly consultation to review and manage ongoing radiation therapy treatment.
455 $66 $178
Leuprolide acetate (for depot suspension), 7.5 mg 444 $133 $600
Calculation of radiation therapy dose 428 $51 $165
Radiation treatment management, 5 sessions
Oversight and management of a radiation therapy course consisting of five treatment sessions.
418 $149 $550
Contrast dye for imaging (iodine-based)
A contrast agent containing 300-399 mg/ml of iodine used to enhance imaging studies. It is administered per milliliter to improve the visibility of internal structures.
207 $0 $15
Office visit, established patient (30-39 min)
A follow-up office visit for an existing patient lasting between 30 and 39 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
199 $92 $200
CT scan of abdomen and pelvis with contrast
A CT scan of the abdomen and pelvis using contrast dye before and after administration to visualize internal structures.
169 $267 $940
Office visit, established patient (20-29 min)
An office visit for an existing patient lasting between 20 and 29 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
164 $61 $150
Design and construction of radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a device used for high precision radiation therapy. It does not include the actual administration of radiation treatment.
127 $354 $1,090
CT scan of abdomen and pelvis, without contrast
A computed tomography scan that creates detailed images of the abdominal and pelvic organs. The procedure is performed without the use of intravenous contrast dye.
113 $138 $640
Subcutaneous or intramuscular chemotherapy injection
This procedure involves administering anti-cancer hormonal medication through an injection into the tissue under the skin or into a muscle.
109 $26 $66
Blood draw (venipuncture)
Insertion of a needle into a vein to collect a blood sample.
102 $8 $22
Blood creatinine level test
A blood test that measures the amount of creatinine, a waste product from muscle wear and tear, to help assess kidney function.
97 $5 $13
New patient office visit, complex (60-74 min) 95 $152 $330
Design and construction of complex radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a complex radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or conditions treated.
93 $94 $440
Cranial lesion radiation therapy
Treatment of a brain lesion using radiation delivered over multiple sessions.
90 $773 $5,500
Complex radiation therapy planning 88 $130 $400
High precision radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the detailed planning and setup required for delivering high-precision radiation therapy to a target area of the body.
80 $1,400 $5,830
Transrectal ultrasound of the pelvis
An ultrasound imaging procedure where a probe is inserted into the rectum to visualize pelvic structures.
74 $105 $325
Prostate gland biopsy
A procedure to remove small samples of tissue from the prostate gland for laboratory examination.
68 $182 $483
Implantable tissue marker, each
A small marker is implanted into tissue to serve as a reference point for future medical imaging or procedures.
64 $82 $143
Injection of biodegradable material next to prostate
A procedure involving the injection of a biodegradable substance into the tissue surrounding the prostate gland.
61 $2,213 $6,500
Prostate radiation therapy device placement
A device is placed in the prostate to facilitate radiation therapy. This procedure involves positioning the device to aid in the delivery of radiation treatment.
55 $58 $420
Office visit, established patient, complex (40-54 min)
An office or outpatient visit for an existing patient lasting between 40 and 54 minutes. This level of service is determined by the total time spent on the date of the encounter.
53 $132 $289
Drug injection, under skin or into muscle
A procedure involving the administration of a medication or substance via injection into the subcutaneous tissue or muscle.
51 $11 $35
Ultrasound guidance for needle placement
Use of ultrasound imaging to guide the precise placement of a needle during a medical procedure.
46 $45 $85
New patient office visit (45-59 min)
An initial office visit for a new patient lasting between 45 and 59 minutes. This code covers the total time spent by the physician or qualified healthcare professional on the date of the encounter.
41 $118 $265
Radiation treatment planning, 1 area
This procedure involves gathering the necessary data to design the most effective radiation therapy plan for a single treatment area.
37 $209 $800
Telephone medical discussion, 21-30 minutes
A telephone conversation with a physician lasting between 21 and 30 minutes. This code covers the time spent discussing medical matters over the phone.
36 $91 $212
Design and construction of simple radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a simple radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or condition being treated.
31 $22 $128
Office visit, established patient (10-19 min)
An office visit for an existing patient lasting 10 to 19 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
29 $42 $95
Radiation treatment planning, complex
This procedure involves obtaining the necessary data to develop an optimal radiation treatment plan for three or more treatment areas, or any number of areas requiring special treatment.
20 $351 $1,230
Fractionated radiation therapy for cranial lesion
Treatment using radiation delivered in multiple sessions to manage a lesion in the head.
18 $504 $3,000
CT scan of abdomen with and without contrast
A CT scan of the abdomen performed both before and after the administration of contrast dye to provide detailed images of internal structures.
15 $185 $500
Special radiation treatment 13 $109 $330
How to read this data: This reflects Medicare patients only (typically 65+). Payment amounts are what Medicare paid the provider, not your out-of-pocket cost. These counts do not measure clinical quality or years of experience.

Industry Payment Transparency

Open Payments through 2024 ↗
$19,122
Total received (2018-2024)
Avg $2,732/year across 7 years
Top 5% in TX for internal medicine
A higher payment rank reflects disclosed industry relationships (consulting, research, speaking) common among subspecialists — not wrongdoing.
44
Companies
240
Payment records
Payments are publicly reported; disclosure does not establish legality · Not evidence of wrongdoing · How to interpret →

Payment categories are unavailable while the source breakdown is being rebuilt. Company and year totals do not identify how much belongs to each category.

Payment trend by year

Annual totals from pharmaceutical and medical device companies.

2024
$10,111
2023
$5,554
2022
$1,645
2021
$940
2020
$592
2019
$208
2018
$73

Payments by company (2024)

Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
$3,329
Bayer Healthcare LLC
$3,282
Boston Scientific Corporation
$847
BIOPROTECT MEDICAL, INC.
$778
Astellas Pharma US Inc
$317
Dendreon Pharmaceuticals LLC
$304
Bayer Healthcare Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$290
Teleflex LLC
$231
Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC
$151
SUN PHARMACEUTICAL INDUSTRIES INC.
$125
Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$114
GE HEALTHCARE
$89
PFIZER INC.
$59
Myriad Genetic Laboratories, Inc.
$39
Verity Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$35
Sumitomo Pharma America, Inc.
$35
PROGENICS PHARMACEUTICALS, INC.
$25
ABBVIE INC.
$24
Tolmar, Inc.
$22
AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals LP
$15
Top 3 companies account for 73.8% of 2024 payments
All-time payments by company (2018-2024) ›
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
$3,483
Bayer Healthcare LLC
$3,282
Boston Scientific Corporation
$2,413
PALETTE LIFE SCIENCES, INC.
$1,570
Siemens Medical Solutions USA, Inc.
$841
Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$810
BIOPROTECT MEDICAL, INC.
$778
Novocure Inc.
$452
Progenics Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$436
Bayer Healthcare Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$419
Varian Medical Systems, Inc.
$365
Astellas Pharma US Inc
$317
Dendreon Pharmaceuticals LLC
$304
Sumitomo Pharma America, Inc.
$293
Myriad Genetic Laboratories, Inc.
$253
BOSTON SCIENTIFIC CORPORATION
$245
Teleflex LLC
$231
TOLMAR Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$230
AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals LP
$223
Bayer HealthCare Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$175
Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC
$167
Palette Life Sciences, Inc.
$160
ABBVIE INC.
$155
ACCORD HEALTHCARE, INC.
$152
GE HealthCare
$141
COLOPLAST CORP
$137
Verity Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$131
SUN PHARMACEUTICAL INDUSTRIES INC.
$125
PFIZER INC.
$119
GE HEALTHCARE
$89
AbbVie Inc.
$78
Myovant Sciences Inc.
$71
Telix Pharmaceuticals
$68
UroGen Pharma, Inc.
$63
Calyxo, Inc.
$55
Tolmar, Inc.
$51
Caldera Medical, Inc
$51
Profound Medical Corp.
$50
Amgen Inc.
$32
Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Inc.
$32
PROGENICS PHARMACEUTICALS, INC.
$25
Blue Earth Diagnostics Limited
$19
Foundation Medicine, Inc.
$17
Elekta, Inc.
$15
Top 3 companies account for 48.0% of all-time payments
Associated products mentioned in payments ›
ARIA Radiation Therapy Management Software · BIOPROTECT BALLOON IMPLANT SYSTEM · BRAC CDx · BRACANALYSIS CDX · Biograph Horizon-3R · CAMCEVI · CVAC ASPIRATION SYSTEM · Desara · ELIGARD · ERLEADA · FOUNDATIONONE · GEMTESA · GENERAL THERAPIES · GENERAL - THERAPIES · Halcyon · ILLUCCIX · JELMYTO · KEYTRUDA · LUPRON DEPOT · LUTATHERA · LYNPARZA · MYRISK · NovoTTF-100L · Nubeqa · ORGOVYX · Oncology · PLUVICTO · POSLUMA · PROLARIS · PROVENGE · PYLARIFY · Prolaris · Prolia · Rezum Generator · SPACEOAR VUE · SpaceOAR System · SpaceOAR VUE System - 10mL · Titan · Trelstar · TrueBeam · Tulsa-Pro · Varian Ethos Treatment Planning · Versa HD · XGEVA · XTANDI · Xofigo · Xtandi · YONSA
Should you be concerned? Industry payments are disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their purpose, legality, or effect on care. What matters is whether a recommended drug or device appears in your doctor's payment records. If so, consider asking your doctor about it. How to interpret this data →
Looking for an internal medicine specialist in El Paso?
Compare internal medicine physicians in the El Paso area by procedure volume, costs, and industry payment transparency.
Browse internal medicine physicians nearby

Geographic Context

Internal medicine physicians in nearby ZIP areas
288
County median income
$58,859
Nearest hospital to ZIP centroid (approximate)
RIO VISTA BEHAVIORAL HEALTH
0.0 mi

Data Sources

Provider Registry NPPES NPPES snapshot; verify current record
Medicare Enrollment PECOS PECOS snapshot
Practice Data Medicare Util. Annual (CY lag)
Industry Payments Open Payments CY 2024
Disciplinary History — Not included N/A

This provider has data in 4 of 4 available federal datasets, with a Data Coverage level of Very High. This reflects how much public data is available about a provider. How we calculate this →

Summary

Dr. Mendel is a mixed practice specialist, with above-average Medicare volume (top 2% in TX).

This summary is auto-generated from federal data, describing data availability and patterns. Read our methodology →

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Dr. Mendel experienced with denosumab injection (prolia/xgeva)?
Based on Medicare claims data, Dr. Mendel performed 4,020 denosumab injection (prolia/xgeva) services. These records cover Medicare fee-for-service activity, including eligible younger beneficiaries; they do not measure total practice volume or clinical quality.
Does Dr. Mendel receive payments from pharmaceutical companies?
Yes. Dr. Mendel received a total of $19,122 from 44 companies across 240 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their legality or effect on care. Patients may wish to ask their doctor about these relationships, especially if a recommended drug or device appears in the payment records.
How do Dr. Mendel's costs compare to other internal medicine physicians in El Paso?
Dr. Mendel's average Medicare payment per service is $99. Note that these figures represent what Medicare pays, not your out-of-pocket cost, which depends on your specific insurance plan and deductible. Procedure-level data above shows both what was submitted and what Medicare paid for each service type.
What does Data Coverage mean?
Data Coverage (currently Very High for Dr. Mendel) measures how much public federal data is available about a provider. It is not a quality rating. A "Very High" or "High" level means the provider has data across multiple federal sources (NPPES, PECOS, Medicare Utilization, Open Payments), indicating the presence of registry, enrollment, activity or payment records, not verified experience or clinical quality. A "Low" or "Moderate" level may simply mean the provider is newer, does not see Medicare patients, or has not received any industry payments — none of which are inherently negative. Read our full methodology →
Is this data up to date?
Source publication dates and the snapshots loaded on this site can differ. Rebuilding a page does not refresh its source records. Check the Medicare reporting year and the payment interval shown above; consult the linked official sources for newer releases and current registry details. See our data freshness policy →
About this page

This page combines public CMS records with calculated summaries and explanatory procedure labels. These transformations are not verbatim federal records. Sources: NPPES ↗, Open Payments ↗, Medicare Provider Utilization ↗, and PECOS. Publication is mandated by the Physician Payments Sunshine Act (§6002 ACA, 42 U.S.C. §1320a-7h) and the Freedom of Information Act.

This page is not medical advice, an endorsement, a recommendation, or a quality rating. Data Coverage reflects data completeness — how much federal information exists for this provider — not clinical performance, patient outcomes, or quality of care. Always verify information directly with the provider and consult a licensed clinician before making medical decisions.

Provider corrections: Provider portal · Privacy questions: Privacy Policy · Terms: Terms of Use · Methodology: Methodology

Data Disclaimer — Data sourced from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS): National Plan and Provider Enumeration System (NPPES), Open Payments program, Medicare Provider Utilization and Payment Data, and Provider Enrollment & Certification data (PECOS). Published under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). This website is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by CMS, HHS, or the U.S. Government. Data may contain errors as reported to CMS by providers and reporting entities. Industry payment disclosure alone establishes neither wrongdoing nor legality. Medicare data reflects only patients aged 65+ or those with qualifying disabilities. For corrections, contact CMS directly. This information does not constitute medical advice and should not be used as the sole basis for choosing a healthcare provider. Procedure descriptions use plain language and do not reference CPT® codes, which are copyrighted by the American Medical Association. Full methodology → · Report a data error → · Privacy policy →