Medicare Enrolled

Dr. Liqiao Ma, MD

Dermatology · Denison, TX
Practice pattern: Mixed Practice — Diverse clinical practice across multiple procedure types
5012 US HWY 75 STE 200, Denison, TX 75020
9034632223
Registered in NPPES since 2014
NPI: 1174941835 verify on NPPES ↗
Very High
DATA COVERAGE
Data in 4 of 4 federal sources
Measures public federal data availability — not provider quality
Informational, not a quality rating. This page presents federal public records about Dr. Ma from CMS (NPPES, Open Payments, Medicare Provider Utilization, PECOS). It is not medical advice, an endorsement, or a judgment of clinical quality. Always consult the provider directly and a licensed clinician for medical decisions. Read methodology →
Are you Dr. Ma? Request a correction or review of any data shown here. Provider portal →

What this data tells you about Dr. Ma

Dr. Liqiao Ma is a dermatology specialist in Denison, TX, with 12 years of NPI registration. Based on federal Medicare data, Dr. Ma performed 29,533 Medicare services in 2023. These records do not provide a deduplicated patient total.

Between the years covered by Open Payments, Dr. Ma received a total of $9,865 from 38 pharmaceutical and/or device companies across 436 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly reported through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their effect on care. A reliable breakdown by payment category is not available in this snapshot. Patients may wish to discuss these relationships with their provider.

The Data Coverage level for Dr. Ma is Very High — reflecting how much public federal data is available about this provider. Patients are encouraged to use this data as one of several factors when choosing a healthcare provider.

✓ 12 years of NPI registration ▲ Top 1% volume in TX $9,865 industry payments

Medicare Practice Summary — 2023

Medicare Utilization ↗
29,533
Medicare services
Top 1% in TX for dermatology
Not available
Unique patients (not deduplicated)
$105
Avg. Medicare payment
Medicare patients only (65+ / disabled) · How to read this →

Top procedures by volume

Ranked by number of services performed for Medicare patients. Avg. submitted charge is what the provider billed; avg. Medicare payment is what CMS paid.

Procedure Volume Avg. paid Avg. submitted
Ultrasound guidance for radiation therapy field placement
Use of ultrasound imaging to help position radiation therapy fields accurately during treatment.
6,755 $135 $263
Radiation treatment planning, 1 area
This procedure involves gathering the necessary data to design the most effective radiation therapy plan for a single treatment area.
6,619 $204 $393
Superficial or low voltage radiation treatment
A radiation therapy procedure that delivers radiation to the surface of the body or uses low voltage energy. This treatment targets areas close to the skin.
6,445 $31 $60
Destruction of precancerous skin growths, 2-14
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of two to fourteen precancerous skin lesions. It is performed to eliminate abnormal skin cells that have the potential to develop into cancer.
2,085 $5 $10
Radiation treatment management, 5 sessions
Oversight and management of a radiation therapy course consisting of five treatment sessions.
1,234 $146 $281
Continuing radiation therapy consultation per week
A weekly consultation to review and manage ongoing radiation therapy treatment.
956 $65 $125
Office visit, established patient (20-29 min)
An office visit for an existing patient lasting between 20 and 29 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
868 $58 $132
Calculation of radiation therapy dose 600 $50 $97
Destruction of precancerous skin growth, 1
Removal of a single precancerous skin growth. This procedure destroys abnormal skin cells to prevent them from developing into cancer.
598 $34 $99
Office visit, established patient (30-39 min)
A follow-up office visit for an existing patient lasting between 30 and 39 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
556 $82 $187
Skin biopsy, tangential
A procedure to remove a sample of the first identified skin growth for laboratory examination.
401 $62 $149
Destruction of skin growths (warts/lesions), 1-14
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of one to fourteen skin growths. It is a minor surgical intervention performed on the skin surface.
360 $76 $167
Additional skin growth biopsy
Removal of a sample of an additional skin growth for laboratory examination. This code is used for each extra lesion biopsied during the same session.
319 $38 $74
Design and construction of simple radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a simple radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or condition being treated.
241 $29 $56
Simple radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the initial planning phase for radiation therapy treatment. It includes the setup and configuration required to prepare for delivering radiation to a specific area.
202 $52 $104
Design and construction of intermediate radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of an intermediate radiation treatment device. It does not specify a particular clinical purpose or condition.
147 $104 $201
New patient office visit (45-59 min)
An initial office visit for a new patient lasting between 45 and 59 minutes. This code covers the total time spent by the physician or qualified healthcare professional on the date of the encounter.
126 $91 $243
Destruction of 15 or more precancerous skin growths
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of fifteen or more precancerous skin lesions. It is performed to treat abnormal skin cells that have the potential to develop into cancer.
101 $112 $250
New patient office visit (30-44 min)
An initial office visit for a new patient lasting between 30 and 44 minutes. This code is used when the total time spent on the date of the encounter falls within this range.
95 $63 $164
Intermediate radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the intermediate-level planning for radiation therapy treatment.
67 $79 $159
Radiation treatment planning, 2 areas
This procedure involves gathering the necessary data to design the most effective radiation therapy plan for two distinct treatment areas.
67 $333 $641
Office visit, established patient (10-19 min)
An office visit for an existing patient lasting 10 to 19 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
60 $36 $83
Complex radiation therapy planning 59 $126 $248
Radiation treatment planning, complex
This procedure involves obtaining the necessary data to develop an optimal radiation treatment plan for three or more treatment areas, or any number of areas requiring special treatment.
59 $341 $660
Steroid injection (triamcinolone)
A 10 mg injection of triamcinolone acetonide, a corticosteroid medication. This code specifies the drug and dosage administered.
57 $1 $2
Surgical removal of skin cancer, 1.1-2.0 cm
Surgical excision of a cancerous skin growth measuring between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters on the body, arms, or legs.
42 $94 $359
Complicated wound repair, scalp/arms/legs, 2.6-7.5 cm
A complex surgical procedure to close a wound on the scalp, arms, or legs that measures between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters in length.
42 $319 $625
Ear tissue biopsy
A procedure to remove a small sample of tissue from the ear for laboratory examination.
41 $49 $142
Design and construction of complex radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a complex radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or conditions treated.
40 $95 $181
Destruction of skin growth, 15 or more growths 38 $93 $200
Acne surgery
A surgical procedure to treat acne. The specific techniques and extent of the surgery are not defined in this general code description.
37 $79 $174
Injection into skin growths, 1-7
A procedure involving the injection of medication into one to seven skin growths.
31 $32 $83
Drug injection, under skin or into muscle
A procedure involving the administration of a medication or substance via injection into the subcutaneous tissue or muscle.
31 $9 $21
Complicated wound repair, 2.6-7.5 cm
A complex surgical procedure to close a wound measuring between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters on areas such as the face, neck, hands, or feet.
29 $352 $693
Punch biopsy of first skin growth
A small, circular piece of skin is removed from a skin growth using a circular blade. The sample is then sent to a laboratory for examination.
28 $93 $184
Destruction of cancer skin growth, 1.1-2.0 cm
Removal of a cancerous skin growth on the trunk, arms, or legs that measures between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters.
21 $108 $263
Complicated wound repair of trunk, 2.6-7.5 cm
A surgical procedure to close a complex wound on the trunk that measures between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters in length.
19 $296 $583
Surgical removal of skin cancer, 2.1-3.0 cm
This procedure involves the surgical excision of a cancerous skin growth located on the body, arms, or legs. The size of the removed tissue measures between 2.1 and 3.0 centimeters.
18 $107 $408
Surgical removal of facial skin cancer, 1.1-2.0 cm
This procedure involves the surgical excision of a cancerous skin growth located on the face, ears, eyelids, nose, lips, or mouth. The size of the removed tissue is between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters.
15 $103 $393
Destruction of cancer skin growth, 0.6-1.0 cm
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of a cancerous skin growth located on the trunk, arms, or legs that measures between 0.6 and 1.0 centimeters.
13 $83 $216
Surgical removal of skin cancer, 1.1-2.0 cm
Surgical excision of a cancerous skin growth measuring 1.1 to 2.0 centimeters from the scalp, neck, hands, feet, or genitals.
11 $97 $370
How to read this data: This reflects Medicare patients only (typically 65+). Payment amounts are what Medicare paid the provider, not your out-of-pocket cost. These counts do not measure clinical quality or years of experience.
0.1% high complexity
82.6% medium
17.3% routine

Industry Payment Transparency

Open Payments through 2024 ↗
$9,865
Total received (2018-2024)
Avg $1,409/year across 7 years
Top 27% in TX for dermatology
A higher payment rank reflects disclosed industry relationships (consulting, research, speaking) common among subspecialists — not wrongdoing.
38
Companies
436
Payment records
Payments are publicly reported; disclosure does not establish legality · Not evidence of wrongdoing · How to interpret →

Payment categories are unavailable while the source breakdown is being rebuilt. Company and year totals do not identify how much belongs to each category.

Payment trend by year

Annual totals from pharmaceutical and medical device companies.

2024
$1,763
2023
$1,118
2022
$917
2021
$736
2020
$580
2019
$2,502
2018
$2,250

Payments by company (2024)

ABBVIE INC.
$275
Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$170
Lilly USA, LLC
$159
Arcutis Biotherapeutics, Inc.
$155
Dermavant Sciences, Inc.
$144
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
$141
LEO Pharma Inc.
$112
UCB, Inc.
$103
Ortho Dermatologics, a division of Bausch Health US, LLC
$73
Regeneron Healthcare Solutions, Inc.
$55
E.R. Squibb & Sons, L.L.C.
$54
Organogenesis Inc.
$53
Incyte Corporation
$48
PFIZER INC.
$43
GENZYME CORPORATION
$38
Paratek Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$34
Amgen Inc.
$23
SUN PHARMACEUTICAL INDUSTRIES INC.
$21
Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$19
Solventum Corporation
$17
Galderma Laboratories, L.P.
$14
Kerecis Limited
$13
Top 3 companies account for 34.3% of 2024 payments
All-time payments by company (2018-2024) ›
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
$950
GENZYME CORPORATION
$896
ABBVIE INC.
$819
Janssen Scientific Affairs, LLC
$802
Lilly USA, LLC
$767
AbbVie, Inc.
$714
Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$676
LEO Pharma Inc.
$667
Regeneron Healthcare Solutions, Inc.
$616
PFIZER INC.
$462
Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Inc.
$354
Dermavant Sciences, Inc.
$255
Amgen Inc.
$171
Arcutis Biotherapeutics, Inc.
$170
Incyte Corporation
$151
Ortho Dermatologics, a division of Bausch Health US, LLC
$151
Celgene Corporation
$142
UCB, Inc.
$118
AbbVie Inc.
$109
E.R. Squibb & Sons, L.L.C.
$94
Genentech USA, Inc.
$81
Almirall LLC
$80
Galderma Laboratories, L.P.
$75
MAYNE PHARMA INC.
$74
Merz North America, Inc.
$73
SANOFI-AVENTIS U.S. LLC
$65
DERMIRA, INC.
$54
Organogenesis Inc.
$53
SUN PHARMACEUTICAL INDUSTRIES INC.
$41
Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$37
Paratek Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$34
Biofrontera Inc.
$22
Solventum Corporation
$17
Merck Sharp & Dohme Corporation
$16
Mission Pharmacal Company
$16
EPI Health, LLC
$15
DUSA Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$14
Kerecis Limited
$13
Top 3 companies account for 27.0% of all-time payments
Associated products mentioned in payments ›
ABSORICA LD · ACTIV.A.C. · ADBRY · AFFINITY · AKLIEF · AMELUZ · ARAZLO · Avar · BOTOX · Bimzelx · CLODERM · COSENTYX · Cabtreo · DORYX · DUOBRII · DUPIXENT · DUPIXENT DUPILUMAB INJECTION · EBGLYSS · ENSTILAR · EPIDUO FORTE · EUCRISA · Erivedge · HUMIRA · Humira · ILUMYA · ILUMYA (tildrakizumab-asmn) injection · Kerecis Omega3 SurgiClose · LEVULAN KERASTICK · LIBTAYO · NUZYRA · OLUMIANT · OPZELURA · ORACEA · Otezla · QBREXZA · REMICADE · RETIN-A · RINVOQ · SIVEXTRO · SKYRIZI · SPEVIGO · Seysara · Skyrizi · Sotyktu · TALTZ · TREMFYA · Tremfya · VTAMA · Winlevi · XEOMIN · Zoryve
Should you be concerned? Industry payments are disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their purpose, legality, or effect on care. What matters is whether a recommended drug or device appears in your doctor's payment records. If so, consider asking your doctor about it. How to interpret this data →
Looking for a dermatology specialist in Denison?
Compare dermatologists in the Denison area by procedure volume, costs, and industry payment transparency.
Browse dermatologists nearby

Geographic Context

Dermatologists in nearby ZIP areas
8
County median income
$70,455
Nearest hospital to ZIP centroid (approximate)
TEXOMA MEDICAL CENTER
0.0 mi

Data Sources

Provider Registry NPPES NPPES snapshot; verify current record
Medicare Enrollment PECOS PECOS snapshot
Practice Data Medicare Util. Annual (CY lag)
Industry Payments Open Payments CY 2024
Disciplinary History — Not included N/A

This provider has data in 4 of 4 available federal datasets, with a Data Coverage level of Very High. This reflects how much public data is available about a provider. How we calculate this →

Summary

Dr. Ma is a mixed practice specialist, with above-average Medicare volume (top 1% in TX).

This summary is auto-generated from federal data, describing data availability and patterns. Read our methodology →

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Dr. Ma experienced with ultrasound guidance for radiation therapy field placement?
Based on Medicare claims data, Dr. Ma performed 6,755 ultrasound guidance for radiation therapy field placement services. These records cover Medicare fee-for-service activity, including eligible younger beneficiaries; they do not measure total practice volume or clinical quality.
Does Dr. Ma receive payments from pharmaceutical companies?
Yes. Dr. Ma received a total of $9,865 from 38 companies across 436 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their legality or effect on care. Patients may wish to ask their doctor about these relationships, especially if a recommended drug or device appears in the payment records.
How do Dr. Ma's costs compare to other dermatologists in Denison?
Dr. Ma's average Medicare payment per service is $105. Note that these figures represent what Medicare pays, not your out-of-pocket cost, which depends on your specific insurance plan and deductible. Procedure-level data above shows both what was submitted and what Medicare paid for each service type.
What does Data Coverage mean?
Data Coverage (currently Very High for Dr. Ma) measures how much public federal data is available about a provider. It is not a quality rating. A "Very High" or "High" level means the provider has data across multiple federal sources (NPPES, PECOS, Medicare Utilization, Open Payments), indicating the presence of registry, enrollment, activity or payment records, not verified experience or clinical quality. A "Low" or "Moderate" level may simply mean the provider is newer, does not see Medicare patients, or has not received any industry payments — none of which are inherently negative. Read our full methodology →
Is this data up to date?
Source publication dates and the snapshots loaded on this site can differ. Rebuilding a page does not refresh its source records. Check the Medicare reporting year and the payment interval shown above; consult the linked official sources for newer releases and current registry details. See our data freshness policy →
About this page

This page combines public CMS records with calculated summaries and explanatory procedure labels. These transformations are not verbatim federal records. Sources: NPPES ↗, Open Payments ↗, Medicare Provider Utilization ↗, and PECOS. Publication is mandated by the Physician Payments Sunshine Act (§6002 ACA, 42 U.S.C. §1320a-7h) and the Freedom of Information Act.

This page is not medical advice, an endorsement, a recommendation, or a quality rating. Data Coverage reflects data completeness — how much federal information exists for this provider — not clinical performance, patient outcomes, or quality of care. Always verify information directly with the provider and consult a licensed clinician before making medical decisions.

Provider corrections: Provider portal · Privacy questions: Privacy Policy · Terms: Terms of Use · Methodology: Methodology

Data Disclaimer — Data sourced from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS): National Plan and Provider Enumeration System (NPPES), Open Payments program, Medicare Provider Utilization and Payment Data, and Provider Enrollment & Certification data (PECOS). Published under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). This website is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by CMS, HHS, or the U.S. Government. Data may contain errors as reported to CMS by providers and reporting entities. Industry payment disclosure alone establishes neither wrongdoing nor legality. Medicare data reflects only patients aged 65+ or those with qualifying disabilities. For corrections, contact CMS directly. This information does not constitute medical advice and should not be used as the sole basis for choosing a healthcare provider. Procedure descriptions use plain language and do not reference CPT® codes, which are copyrighted by the American Medical Association. Full methodology → · Report a data error → · Privacy policy →