Dr. Shing Chin, M.D., PH.D.
What this data tells you about Dr. Chin
Dr. Shing Chin is a radiology - diagnostic specialist in Sayre, PA, with 20 years of NPI registration. Based on federal Medicare data, Dr. Chin performed 4,526 Medicare services in 2023. These records do not provide a deduplicated patient total.
Between the years covered by Open Payments, Dr. Chin received a total of $825 from 11 pharmaceutical and/or device companies across 11 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly reported through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their effect on care. A reliable breakdown by payment category is not available in this snapshot. Patients may wish to discuss these relationships with their provider.
The Data Coverage level for Dr. Chin is Very High — reflecting how much public federal data is available about this provider. Patients are encouraged to use this data as one of several factors when choosing a healthcare provider.
Medicare Practice Summary — 2023
Medicare Utilization ↗Top procedures by volume
Ranked by number of services performed for Medicare patients. Avg. submitted charge is what the provider billed; avg. Medicare payment is what CMS paid.
| Procedure | Volume | Avg. paid | Avg. submitted |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contrast dye for imaging (iodine-based) A contrast agent containing 300-399 mg/ml of iodine used to enhance imaging studies. It is administered per milliliter to improve the visibility of internal structures. |
1,560 | $0 | $1 |
| Calculation of radiation therapy dose | 538 | $51 | $182 |
| CT guidance for radiation therapy This procedure uses computed tomography imaging to guide the precise placement of radiation therapy fields. It ensures accurate positioning for targeted treatment delivery. |
335 | $94 | $314 |
| Intensity-modulated radiation therapy delivery Delivery of radiation therapy using narrow beams that are spatially and temporally modulated to target specific areas. This process is performed per treatment session. |
315 | $277 | $1,417 |
| Dexamethasone injection (steroid) An injection of dexamethasone sodium phosphate, a corticosteroid medication, administered in a dose of 1 milligram. |
225 | $0 | $1 |
| Office visit, established patient (20-29 min) An office visit for an existing patient lasting between 20 and 29 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition. |
159 | $63 | $148 |
| Stereotactic radiosurgery, 2nd through 5th session Image-guided robotic radiation therapy delivery for the second through fifth sessions of a fractionated treatment course. This code covers up to five sessions per course of treatment. |
147 | $2,527 | $8,599 |
| Continuing radiation therapy consultation per week A weekly consultation to review and manage ongoing radiation therapy treatment. |
137 | $66 | $225 |
| Design and construction of complex radiation treatment device This code covers the design and construction of a complex radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or conditions treated. |
121 | $97 | $365 |
| Radiation treatment management, 5 sessions Oversight and management of a radiation therapy course consisting of five treatment sessions. |
86 | $150 | $516 |
| Complex radiation therapy planning | 85 | $132 | $458 |
| New patient office visit, complex (60-74 min) | 74 | $166 | $423 |
| Intravenous injection of additional new drug or substance Administration of an additional new medication or substance directly into a vein. |
70 | $12 | $59 |
| High precision radiation therapy planning This procedure involves the detailed planning and setup required for delivering high-precision radiation therapy to a target area of the body. |
69 | $1,425 | $4,853 |
| Radiation treatment planning, complex This procedure involves obtaining the necessary data to develop an optimal radiation treatment plan for three or more treatment areas, or any number of areas requiring special treatment. |
54 | $350 | $1,278 |
| Office visit, established patient (30-39 min) A follow-up office visit for an existing patient lasting between 30 and 39 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition. |
51 | $98 | $220 |
| Design and construction of radiation treatment device This code covers the design and construction of a device used for high precision radiation therapy. It does not include the actual administration of radiation treatment. |
47 | $362 | $1,259 |
| Robotic stereotactic radiosurgery, first session A precise radiation treatment delivered using a robotic linear accelerator guided by imaging. This code covers the first session of a fractionated course or a complete single-session treatment. |
46 | $3,461 | $11,757 |
| Blood draw (venipuncture) Insertion of a needle into a vein to collect a blood sample. |
41 | $8 | $20 |
| Fractionated radiation therapy for cranial lesion Treatment using radiation delivered in multiple sessions to manage a lesion in the head. |
41 | $503 | $1,731 |
| Intravenous chemotherapy infusion, 1 hour or less Administration of chemotherapy medication directly into a vein. The procedure takes one hour or less to complete. |
39 | $98 | $361 |
| Special radiation therapy planning This procedure involves the specialized planning required for radiation therapy treatment. |
34 | $51 | $181 |
| Office visit, established patient, complex (40-54 min) An office or outpatient visit for an existing patient lasting between 40 and 54 minutes. This level of service is determined by the total time spent on the date of the encounter. |
33 | $140 | $297 |
| PSA test (prostate cancer screening) | 31 | $18 | $53 |
| Drug injection, under skin or into muscle A procedure involving the administration of a medication or substance via injection into the subcutaneous tissue or muscle. |
30 | $11 | $65 |
| Non-hormonal chemotherapy injection This procedure involves administering non-hormonal anti-neoplastic chemotherapy medication via injection into the skin or muscle tissue. |
29 | $56 | $201 |
| CT scan of chest, without contrast A computed tomography scan of the chest area that uses X-rays to create detailed images without the use of contrast dye. |
28 | $51 | $364 |
| Design and construction of simple radiation treatment device This code covers the design and construction of a simple radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or condition being treated. |
26 | $30 | $198 |
| Intravenous infusion, 1 hour or less Administration of medication or fluid directly into a vein for therapeutic, preventive, or diagnostic purposes. The procedure lasts one hour or less. |
18 | $49 | $183 |
| Special radiation treatment | 16 | $109 | $377 |
| Radiation treatment planning, 1 area This procedure involves gathering the necessary data to design the most effective radiation therapy plan for a single treatment area. |
15 | $209 | $722 |
| Respiratory data collection for radiation therapy planning This procedure involves gathering respiratory data to help develop the optimal radiation treatment plan. |
13 | $321 | $1,158 |
| 3D radiation therapy planning This procedure involves creating a three-dimensional treatment plan for radiation therapy. It uses imaging data to map the target area and surrounding tissues to guide precise radiation delivery. |
13 | $373 | $1,759 |
Industry Payment Transparency
Open Payments through 2024 ↗Payment categories are unavailable while the source breakdown is being rebuilt. Company and year totals do not identify how much belongs to each category.
Payment trend by year
Annual totals from pharmaceutical and medical device companies.
Payments by company (2024)
All-time payments by company (2018-2024) ›
Associated products mentioned in payments ›
Geographic Context
0.0 mi
Data Sources
| Provider Registry | ✓ NPPES | NPPES snapshot; verify current record |
| Medicare Enrollment | ✓ PECOS | PECOS snapshot |
| Practice Data | ✓ Medicare Util. | Annual (CY lag) |
| Industry Payments | ✓ Open Payments | CY 2024 |
| Disciplinary History | — Not included | N/A |
This provider has data in 4 of 4 available federal datasets, with a Data Coverage level of Very High. This reflects how much public data is available about a provider. How we calculate this →
Summary
Dr. Chin is a mixed practice specialist, with above-average Medicare volume (top 6% in PA), with 20 years of NPI registration.
This summary is auto-generated from federal data, describing data availability and patterns. Read our methodology →
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Dr. Chin experienced with contrast dye for imaging (iodine-based)?
Does Dr. Chin receive payments from pharmaceutical companies?
How do Dr. Chin's costs compare to other radiology - diagnostics in Sayre?
What does Data Coverage mean?
Is this data up to date?
Explore related providers
This page combines public CMS records with calculated summaries and explanatory procedure labels. These transformations are not verbatim federal records. Sources: NPPES ↗, Open Payments ↗, Medicare Provider Utilization ↗, and PECOS. Publication is mandated by the Physician Payments Sunshine Act (§6002 ACA, 42 U.S.C. §1320a-7h) and the Freedom of Information Act.
This page is not medical advice, an endorsement, a recommendation, or a quality rating. Data Coverage reflects data completeness — how much federal information exists for this provider — not clinical performance, patient outcomes, or quality of care. Always verify information directly with the provider and consult a licensed clinician before making medical decisions.
Provider corrections: Provider portal · Privacy questions: Privacy Policy · Terms: Terms of Use · Methodology: Methodology