Medicare Enrolled

Dr. Ajay Bhatnagar, MD

Radiology - Diagnostic · Hershey, PA
Practice pattern: Clinical Cardiology — Primarily office-based clinical cardiology
500 UNIVERSITY DR, Hershey, PA 17033
7175318024
Registered in NPPES since 2007
NPI: 1417161704 verify on NPPES ↗
Very High
DATA COVERAGE
Data in 4 of 4 federal sources
Measures public federal data availability — not provider quality
Informational, not a quality rating. This page presents federal public records about Dr. Bhatnagar from CMS (NPPES, Open Payments, Medicare Provider Utilization, PECOS). It is not medical advice, an endorsement, or a judgment of clinical quality. Always consult the provider directly and a licensed clinician for medical decisions. Read methodology →
Are you Dr. Bhatnagar? Request a correction or review of any data shown here. Provider portal →

What this data tells you about Dr. Bhatnagar

Dr. Ajay Bhatnagar is a radiology - diagnostic specialist in Hershey, PA, with 19 years of NPI registration. Based on federal Medicare data, Dr. Bhatnagar performed 302 Medicare services in 2023. These records do not provide a deduplicated patient total.

Between the years covered by Open Payments, Dr. Bhatnagar received a total of $34,810 from 77 pharmaceutical and/or device companies across 316 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly reported through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their effect on care. A reliable breakdown by payment category is not available in this snapshot. Patients may wish to discuss these relationships with their provider.

The Data Coverage level for Dr. Bhatnagar is Very High — reflecting how much public federal data is available about this provider. Patients are encouraged to use this data as one of several factors when choosing a healthcare provider.

✓ 19 years of NPI registration ▲ 302 Medicare services $34,810 industry payments

Medicare Practice Summary — 2023

Medicare Utilization ↗
302
Medicare services
Bottom 12% in PA for radiology - diagnostic
Lower Medicare volume may reflect subspecialty focus, hospital-based work, or a higher share of non-Medicare patients.
Not available
Unique patients (not deduplicated)
$171
Avg. Medicare payment
Medicare patients only (65+ / disabled) · How to read this →

Top procedures by volume

Ranked by number of services performed for Medicare patients. Avg. submitted charge is what the provider billed; avg. Medicare payment is what CMS paid.

Procedure Volume Avg. paid Avg. submitted
Radiation treatment planning, complex
This procedure involves obtaining the necessary data to develop an optimal radiation treatment plan for three or more treatment areas, or any number of areas requiring special treatment.
52 $247 $2,243
Complex radiation therapy planning for internal radiation
This procedure involves the detailed planning required to deliver internal radiation therapy. It covers the technical preparation necessary for the administration of the treatment.
28 $206 $2,215
New patient office visit, complex (60-74 min) 28 $153 $1,091
Complex radiation therapy planning 25 $131 $833
3D radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves creating a three-dimensional treatment plan for radiation therapy. It uses imaging data to map the target area and surrounding tissues to guide precise radiation delivery.
25 $369 $2,328
Special radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the specialized planning required for radiation therapy treatment.
25 $50 $318
Special radiation treatment 25 $107 $671
Special medical radiation therapy consultation
A consultation with a radiation oncologist to discuss treatment options and plan for medical radiation therapy.
23 $106 $635
Transrectal ultrasound of prostate
An ultrasound imaging procedure where a probe is inserted into the rectum to create pictures of the prostate gland.
20 $131 $865
Ultrasound guidance for radiation therapy
Use of ultrasound imaging to guide the administration of radiation therapy.
17 $52 $460
Design and construction of simple radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a simple radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or condition being treated.
17 $19 $189
Complex application of radiation source
A procedure involving the complex placement of a radiation source. The specific clinical purpose is not stated in the source description.
17 $358 $4,416
How to read this data: This reflects Medicare patients only (typically 65+). Payment amounts are what Medicare paid the provider, not your out-of-pocket cost. These counts do not measure clinical quality or years of experience.

Industry Payment Transparency

Open Payments through 2024 ↗
$34,810
Total received (2018-2024)
Avg $4,973/year across 7 years
Top 3% in PA for radiology - diagnostic
A higher payment rank reflects disclosed industry relationships (consulting, research, speaking) common among subspecialists — not wrongdoing.
77
Companies
316
Payment records
Payments are publicly reported; disclosure does not establish legality · Not evidence of wrongdoing · How to interpret →

Payment categories are unavailable while the source breakdown is being rebuilt. Company and year totals do not identify how much belongs to each category.

Payment trend by year

Annual totals from pharmaceutical and medical device companies.

2024
$10,346
2023
$3,720
2022
$4,118
2021
$11,634
2020
$454
2019
$1,256
2018
$3,283

Payments by company (2024)

Bard Peripheral Vascular, Inc.
$7,459
Teleflex LLC
$1,889
PROCEPT BioRobotics Corporation
$266
Theragenics Corporation
$161
Siemens Medical Solutions USA, Inc.
$156
Dendreon Pharmaceuticals LLC
$117
ASAHI INTECC USA, INC.
$112
BIOPROTECT MEDICAL, INC.
$78
Telix Pharmaceuticals
$48
SpringWorks Therapeutics, Inc.
$27
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
$19
SOBI, INC
$15
Top 3 companies account for 92.9% of 2024 payments
All-time payments by company (2018-2024) ›
Bard Peripheral Vascular, Inc.
$17,253
Varian Medical Systems, Inc.
$2,914
IsoRay, Inc
$2,383
PALETTE LIFE SCIENCES, INC.
$2,234
Teleflex LLC
$1,889
Siemens Medical Solutions USA, Inc.
$1,351
VIEWRAY TECHNOLOGIES INC
$1,242
Palette Life Sciences, Inc.
$373
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
$349
Blue Earth Diagnostics Limited
$317
Theragenics Corporation
$298
Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$287
PROCEPT BioRobotics Corporation
$266
Dendreon Pharmaceuticals LLC
$221
Bayer Healthcare Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$187
Pharmacyclics LLC, An AbbVie Company
$177
Amgen Inc.
$171
Augmenix, Inc.
$155
Celgene Corporation
$151
Astellas Pharma US Inc
$148
RefleXion Medical, Inc.
$148
KOELIS Inc.
$142
Coloplast Corp
$140
ASAHI INTECC USA, INC.
$112
Merck Sharp & Dohme Corporation
$106
Bayer HealthCare Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$99
GENZYME CORPORATION
$93
Lilly USA, LLC
$82
BIOPROTECT MEDICAL, INC.
$78
Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC
$75
Boston Scientific Corporation
$72
Novocure Inc.
$67
PFIZER INC.
$67
West Therapeutics Development, LLC
$64
Gilead Sciences, Inc.
$61
AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals LP
$58
E.R. Squibb & Sons, L.L.C.
$50
Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Inc.
$49
Telix Pharmaceuticals
$48
Sumitomo Pharma America, Inc.
$45
AbbVie, Inc.
$43
Spectrum Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$40
Genentech USA, Inc.
$36
Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$35
Ipsen Biopharmaceuticals, Inc
$34
AbbVie Inc.
$33
Eisai Inc.
$31
Tolmar, Inc.
$31
EMD Serono, Inc.
$29
Kyowa Kirin, Inc.
$28
SpringWorks Therapeutics, Inc.
$27
TESARO, Inc.
$27
INSYS Therapeutics Inc
$23
Lexicon Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$22
TerSera Therapeutics LLC
$21
Dova Pharmaceuticals
$21
EISAI INC.
$20
Secura Bio, Inc.
$19
ABBVIE INC.
$18
Taiho Oncology, Inc.
$18
Seattle Genetics, Inc.
$17
AMAG Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$17
Seagen Inc.
$16
Incyte Corporation
$16
Genmab U.S., Inc.
$16
SOBI, INC
$15
Verastem, Inc.
$14
Rigel Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$14
Sobi, Inc
$14
Regeneron Healthcare Solutions, Inc.
$13
AVEO Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$13
SUN PHARMACEUTICAL INDUSTRIES INC.
$13
Mylan Institutional Inc.
$12
Coherus Biosciences Inc.
$12
Myovant Sciences Inc.
$12
Foundation Medicine, Inc.
$12
Tactile Systems Technology Inc
$12
Top 3 companies account for 64.8% of all-time payments
Associated products mentioned in payments ›
ADCETRIS · AFINITOR · AQUABEAM SYSTEM · Alecensa · Axumin · BIOPROTECT BALLOON IMPLANT SYSTEM · BOSULIF · BRACHYTHERAPY SOURCE · Bavencio · Brachytherapy Source · CYRAMZA · Coloplast TFL Drive · Copiktra · DARZALEX · DOPTELET · Doptelet · EDGE · ELIGARD · ERLEADA · Eclipse · Eclipse Treatment Planning System for External Beam Radiation Therapy · Erleada · FARYDAK · FERAHEME · FLEXITOUCH · FOTIVDA · FOUNDATIONONE · GENERAL BPH · GENERAL - BPH · GILOTRIF · Herceptin · IBRANCE · ILLUCCIX · IMBRUVICA · IMFINZI · INFUGEM · Imbruvica · JADENU · JAKAFI · JEVTANA · KEYTRUDA · KISQALI · Kyprolis · LIBTAYO · LUMAKRAS · Lazanda · Lenvima · Lonsurf · MEKINIST · MRIdian · MRIdian LINAC · Model 200 TheraSeed Palladium-103 in ReadyLink · Nplate · Nubeqa · OGSIVEO · OPDIVO · ORGOVYX · OTHER · Ogivri · Oncology · Optune · PADCEV · PERIPHERAL VASCULAR · PLUVICTO · POSLUMA · POTELIGEO · PROMACTA · PROVENGE · REFLEXION MEDICAL RADIOTHERAPY SYSTEM · RETEVMO · Radiation Oncology · Revlimid · SCEMBLIX · SOMATULINE DEPOT · SPACEOAR · SUBSYS · SUTENT · SYNAGIS · SpaceOAR · SpeediCath · Stivarga · TIVDAK · TUKYSA · Tavalisse · Trinity · Trodelvy · TrueBeam · UROLIFT · Udenyca · VENCLEXTA · VERZENIO · VariSeed 9.0 · Varian Ethos Treatment Planning · Vectibix · Venclexta · XALKORI · XOSPATA · Xermelo · Xofigo · Xtandi · YONSA · ZEJULA · ZYTIGA · Zevalin
Should you be concerned? Industry payments are disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their purpose, legality, or effect on care. What matters is whether a recommended drug or device appears in your doctor's payment records. If so, consider asking your doctor about it. How to interpret this data →
Looking for a radiology - diagnostic specialist in Hershey?
Compare radiology - diagnostics in the Hershey area by procedure volume, costs, and industry payment transparency.
Browse radiology - diagnostics nearby

Geographic Context

Radiology - diagnostics in nearby ZIP areas
33
County median income
$74,159
Nearest hospital to ZIP centroid (approximate)
MILTON S HERSHEY MEDICAL CENTER
0.0 mi

Data Sources

Provider Registry NPPES NPPES snapshot; verify current record
Medicare Enrollment PECOS PECOS snapshot
Practice Data Medicare Util. Annual (CY lag)
Industry Payments Open Payments CY 2024
Disciplinary History — Not included N/A

This provider has data in 4 of 4 available federal datasets, with a Data Coverage level of Very High. This reflects how much public data is available about a provider. How we calculate this →

Summary

Dr. Bhatnagar is a clinical cardiology specialist, with moderate Medicare volume, with 19 years of NPI registration.

This summary is auto-generated from federal data, describing data availability and patterns. Read our methodology →

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Dr. Bhatnagar experienced with radiation treatment planning, complex?
Based on Medicare claims data, Dr. Bhatnagar performed 52 radiation treatment planning, complex services. These records cover Medicare fee-for-service activity, including eligible younger beneficiaries; they do not measure total practice volume or clinical quality.
Does Dr. Bhatnagar receive payments from pharmaceutical companies?
Yes. Dr. Bhatnagar received a total of $34,810 from 77 companies across 316 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their legality or effect on care. Patients may wish to ask their doctor about these relationships, especially if a recommended drug or device appears in the payment records.
How do Dr. Bhatnagar's costs compare to other radiology - diagnostics in Hershey?
Dr. Bhatnagar's average Medicare payment per service is $171. Note that these figures represent what Medicare pays, not your out-of-pocket cost, which depends on your specific insurance plan and deductible. Procedure-level data above shows both what was submitted and what Medicare paid for each service type.
What does Data Coverage mean?
Data Coverage (currently Very High for Dr. Bhatnagar) measures how much public federal data is available about a provider. It is not a quality rating. A "Very High" or "High" level means the provider has data across multiple federal sources (NPPES, PECOS, Medicare Utilization, Open Payments), indicating the presence of registry, enrollment, activity or payment records, not verified experience or clinical quality. A "Low" or "Moderate" level may simply mean the provider is newer, does not see Medicare patients, or has not received any industry payments — none of which are inherently negative. Read our full methodology →
Is this data up to date?
Source publication dates and the snapshots loaded on this site can differ. Rebuilding a page does not refresh its source records. Check the Medicare reporting year and the payment interval shown above; consult the linked official sources for newer releases and current registry details. See our data freshness policy →
About this page

This page combines public CMS records with calculated summaries and explanatory procedure labels. These transformations are not verbatim federal records. Sources: NPPES ↗, Open Payments ↗, Medicare Provider Utilization ↗, and PECOS. Publication is mandated by the Physician Payments Sunshine Act (§6002 ACA, 42 U.S.C. §1320a-7h) and the Freedom of Information Act.

This page is not medical advice, an endorsement, a recommendation, or a quality rating. Data Coverage reflects data completeness — how much federal information exists for this provider — not clinical performance, patient outcomes, or quality of care. Always verify information directly with the provider and consult a licensed clinician before making medical decisions.

Provider corrections: Provider portal · Privacy questions: Privacy Policy · Terms: Terms of Use · Methodology: Methodology

Data Disclaimer — Data sourced from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS): National Plan and Provider Enumeration System (NPPES), Open Payments program, Medicare Provider Utilization and Payment Data, and Provider Enrollment & Certification data (PECOS). Published under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). This website is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by CMS, HHS, or the U.S. Government. Data may contain errors as reported to CMS by providers and reporting entities. Industry payment disclosure alone establishes neither wrongdoing nor legality. Medicare data reflects only patients aged 65+ or those with qualifying disabilities. For corrections, contact CMS directly. This information does not constitute medical advice and should not be used as the sole basis for choosing a healthcare provider. Procedure descriptions use plain language and do not reference CPT® codes, which are copyrighted by the American Medical Association. Full methodology → · Report a data error → · Privacy policy →