Medicare Enrolled

Dr. James Betler, D.O.

Therapeutic Radiology Physician · Clairton, PA
Practice pattern: Clinical Cardiology — Primarily office-based clinical cardiology
565 COAL VALLEY RD, Clairton, PA 15025
4122676900
Registered in NPPES since 2008
NPI: 1093967523 verify on NPPES ↗
Very High
DATA COVERAGE
Data in 4 of 4 federal sources
Measures public federal data availability — not provider quality
Informational, not a quality rating. This page presents federal public records about Dr. Betler from CMS (NPPES, Open Payments, Medicare Provider Utilization, PECOS). It is not medical advice, an endorsement, or a judgment of clinical quality. Always consult the provider directly and a licensed clinician for medical decisions. Read methodology →
Are you Dr. Betler? Request a correction or review of any data shown here. Provider portal →

What this data tells you about Dr. Betler

Dr. James Betler is a therapeutic radiology physician in Clairton, PA, with 17 years of NPI registration. Based on federal Medicare data, Dr. Betler performed 521 Medicare services in 2023. These records do not provide a deduplicated patient total.

Between the years covered by Open Payments, Dr. Betler received a total of $19,468 from 17 pharmaceutical and/or device companies across 101 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly reported through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their effect on care. A reliable breakdown by payment category is not available in this snapshot. Patients may wish to discuss these relationships with their provider.

The Data Coverage level for Dr. Betler is Very High — reflecting how much public federal data is available about this provider. Patients are encouraged to use this data as one of several factors when choosing a healthcare provider.

✓ 17 years of NPI registration ▲ 521 Medicare services $19,468 industry payments

Medicare Practice Summary — 2023

Medicare Utilization ↗
521
Medicare services
Bottom 27% in PA for therapeutic radiology physician
Lower Medicare volume may reflect subspecialty focus, hospital-based work, or a higher share of non-Medicare patients.
Not available
Unique patients (not deduplicated)
$101
Avg. Medicare payment
Medicare patients only (65+ / disabled) · How to read this →

Top procedures by volume

Ranked by number of services performed for Medicare patients. Avg. submitted charge is what the provider billed; avg. Medicare payment is what CMS paid.

Procedure Volume Avg. paid Avg. submitted
CT guidance for radiation therapy
This procedure uses computed tomography imaging to guide the precise placement of radiation therapy fields. It ensures accurate positioning for targeted treatment delivery.
204 $38 $132
Radiation treatment management, 5 sessions
Oversight and management of a radiation therapy course consisting of five treatment sessions.
53 $146 $563
New patient office visit, complex (60-74 min) 47 $138 $555
Calculation of radiation therapy dose 33 $27 $103
Design and construction of complex radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a complex radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or conditions treated.
27 $49 $185
Office visit, established patient (30-39 min)
A follow-up office visit for an existing patient lasting between 30 and 39 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
26 $74 $289
Complex radiation therapy planning 22 $133 $498
Design and construction of radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a device used for high precision radiation therapy. It does not include the actual administration of radiation treatment.
18 $188 $704
High precision radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the detailed planning and setup required for delivering high-precision radiation therapy to a target area of the body.
17 $384 $1,486
Radiation treatment planning, complex
This procedure involves obtaining the necessary data to develop an optimal radiation treatment plan for three or more treatment areas, or any number of areas requiring special treatment.
16 $65 $243
3D radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves creating a three-dimensional treatment plan for radiation therapy. It uses imaging data to map the target area and surrounding tissues to guide precise radiation delivery.
15 $168 $764
Special radiation treatment 15 $84 $315
Complex application of radiation source
A procedure involving the complex placement of a radiation source. The specific clinical purpose is not stated in the source description.
15 $358 $1,355
Intensity-modulated radiation therapy delivery
Delivery of radiation therapy using narrow beams that are spatially and temporally modulated to target specific areas. This process is performed per treatment session.
13 $273 $667
How to read this data: This reflects Medicare patients only (typically 65+). Payment amounts are what Medicare paid the provider, not your out-of-pocket cost. These counts do not measure clinical quality or years of experience.

Industry Payment Transparency

Open Payments through 2024 ↗
$19,468
Total received (2018-2024)
Avg $2,781/year across 7 years
Top 12% in PA for therapeutic radiology physician
A higher payment rank reflects disclosed industry relationships (consulting, research, speaking) common among subspecialists — not wrongdoing.
17
Companies
101
Payment records
Payments are publicly reported; disclosure does not establish legality · Not evidence of wrongdoing · How to interpret →

Payment categories are unavailable while the source breakdown is being rebuilt. Company and year totals do not identify how much belongs to each category.

Payment trend by year

Annual totals from pharmaceutical and medical device companies.

2024
$558
2023
$12,589
2022
$4,741
2021
$844
2020
$88
2019
$246
2018
$401

Payments by company (2024)

Elekta, Inc.
$216
Sumitomo Pharma America, Inc.
$204
PROGENICS PHARMACEUTICALS, INC.
$124
Boston Scientific Corporation
$13
Top 3 companies account for 97.6% of 2024 payments
All-time payments by company (2018-2024) ›
Sumitomo Pharma America, Inc.
$12,225
Boston Scientific Corporation
$3,296
Myovant Sciences Inc.
$1,232
Elekta, Inc.
$573
Novocure Inc.
$540
BOSTON SCIENTIFIC CORPORATION
$335
Intuitive Surgical, Inc.
$259
AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals LP
$241
MEDIVATION SERVICES LLC
$228
Tactile Systems Technology Inc
$128
PFIZER INC.
$127
PROGENICS PHARMACEUTICALS, INC.
$124
Carl Zeiss Meditec USA, Inc.
$69
NOVARTIS PHARMACEUTICALS CORPORATION
$43
Genentech USA, Inc.
$16
E.R. Squibb & Sons, L.L.C.
$15
Merck Sharp & Dohme Corporation
$15
Top 3 companies account for 86.1% of all-time payments
Associated products mentioned in payments ›
COSENTYX · Da Vinci Surgical System · ELEKTA MEDICAL LINEAR ACCELERATOR · FLEXITOUCH · GAZYVA · GENERAL THERAPIES · INTRABEAM · KEYTRUDA · NovoTTF-100L · ORGOVYX · Optune · PYLARIFY · SPACEOAR · SPACEOAR VUE · SpaceOAR System · SpaceOAR VUE System - 10mL · TAGRISSO · Vantage · Versa HD
Should you be concerned? Industry payments are disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their purpose, legality, or effect on care. What matters is whether a recommended drug or device appears in your doctor's payment records. If so, consider asking your doctor about it. How to interpret this data →
Looking for a therapeutic radiology physician in Clairton?
Compare therapeutic radiology physicians in the Clairton area by procedure volume, costs, and industry payment transparency.
Browse therapeutic radiology physicians nearby

Geographic Context

Therapeutic radiology physicians in nearby ZIP areas
14
County median income
$76,393
Nearest hospital to ZIP centroid (approximate)
JEFFERSON HOSPITAL
0.0 mi

Data Sources

Provider Registry NPPES NPPES snapshot; verify current record
Medicare Enrollment PECOS PECOS snapshot
Practice Data Medicare Util. Annual (CY lag)
Industry Payments Open Payments CY 2024
Disciplinary History — Not included N/A

This provider has data in 4 of 4 available federal datasets, with a Data Coverage level of Very High. This reflects how much public data is available about a provider. How we calculate this →

Summary

Dr. Betler is a clinical cardiology specialist, with moderate Medicare volume, with 17 years of NPI registration.

This summary is auto-generated from federal data, describing data availability and patterns. Read our methodology →

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Dr. Betler experienced with ct guidance for radiation therapy?
Based on Medicare claims data, Dr. Betler performed 204 ct guidance for radiation therapy services. These records cover Medicare fee-for-service activity, including eligible younger beneficiaries; they do not measure total practice volume or clinical quality.
Does Dr. Betler receive payments from pharmaceutical companies?
Yes. Dr. Betler received a total of $19,468 from 17 companies across 101 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their legality or effect on care. Patients may wish to ask their doctor about these relationships, especially if a recommended drug or device appears in the payment records.
How do Dr. Betler's costs compare to other therapeutic radiology physicians in Clairton?
Dr. Betler's average Medicare payment per service is $101. Note that these figures represent what Medicare pays, not your out-of-pocket cost, which depends on your specific insurance plan and deductible. Procedure-level data above shows both what was submitted and what Medicare paid for each service type.
What does Data Coverage mean?
Data Coverage (currently Very High for Dr. Betler) measures how much public federal data is available about a provider. It is not a quality rating. A "Very High" or "High" level means the provider has data across multiple federal sources (NPPES, PECOS, Medicare Utilization, Open Payments), indicating the presence of registry, enrollment, activity or payment records, not verified experience or clinical quality. A "Low" or "Moderate" level may simply mean the provider is newer, does not see Medicare patients, or has not received any industry payments — none of which are inherently negative. Read our full methodology →
Is this data up to date?
Source publication dates and the snapshots loaded on this site can differ. Rebuilding a page does not refresh its source records. Check the Medicare reporting year and the payment interval shown above; consult the linked official sources for newer releases and current registry details. See our data freshness policy →
About this page

This page combines public CMS records with calculated summaries and explanatory procedure labels. These transformations are not verbatim federal records. Sources: NPPES ↗, Open Payments ↗, Medicare Provider Utilization ↗, and PECOS. Publication is mandated by the Physician Payments Sunshine Act (§6002 ACA, 42 U.S.C. §1320a-7h) and the Freedom of Information Act.

This page is not medical advice, an endorsement, a recommendation, or a quality rating. Data Coverage reflects data completeness — how much federal information exists for this provider — not clinical performance, patient outcomes, or quality of care. Always verify information directly with the provider and consult a licensed clinician before making medical decisions.

Provider corrections: Provider portal · Privacy questions: Privacy Policy · Terms: Terms of Use · Methodology: Methodology

Data Disclaimer — Data sourced from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS): National Plan and Provider Enumeration System (NPPES), Open Payments program, Medicare Provider Utilization and Payment Data, and Provider Enrollment & Certification data (PECOS). Published under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). This website is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by CMS, HHS, or the U.S. Government. Data may contain errors as reported to CMS by providers and reporting entities. Industry payment disclosure alone establishes neither wrongdoing nor legality. Medicare data reflects only patients aged 65+ or those with qualifying disabilities. For corrections, contact CMS directly. This information does not constitute medical advice and should not be used as the sole basis for choosing a healthcare provider. Procedure descriptions use plain language and do not reference CPT® codes, which are copyrighted by the American Medical Association. Full methodology → · Report a data error → · Privacy policy →