Medicare Enrolled

Dr. Johnny Kao, M.D.

Radiology - Diagnostic · West Islip, NY
Practice pattern: Clinical Cardiology — Primarily office-based clinical cardiology
1000 MONTAUK HWY, West Islip, NY 11795
6313764047
Registered in NPPES since 2006
NPI: 1639141476 verify on NPPES ↗
Very High
DATA COVERAGE
Data in 4 of 4 federal sources
Measures public federal data availability — not provider quality
Informational, not a quality rating. This page presents federal public records about Dr. Kao from CMS (NPPES, Open Payments, Medicare Provider Utilization, PECOS). It is not medical advice, an endorsement, or a judgment of clinical quality. Always consult the provider directly and a licensed clinician for medical decisions. Read methodology →
Are you Dr. Kao? Request a correction or review of any data shown here. Provider portal →

What this data tells you about Dr. Kao

Dr. Johnny Kao is a radiology - diagnostic specialist in West Islip, NY, with 20 years of NPI registration. Based on federal Medicare data, Dr. Kao performed 4,569 Medicare services in 2023. These records do not provide a deduplicated patient total.

Between the years covered by Open Payments, Dr. Kao received a total of $14,708 from 21 pharmaceutical and/or device companies across 59 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly reported through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their effect on care. A reliable breakdown by payment category is not available in this snapshot. Patients may wish to discuss these relationships with their provider.

The Data Coverage level for Dr. Kao is Very High — reflecting how much public federal data is available about this provider. Patients are encouraged to use this data as one of several factors when choosing a healthcare provider.

✓ 20 years of NPI registration ▲ Top 8% volume in NY $14,708 industry payments

Medicare Practice Summary — 2023

Medicare Utilization ↗
4,569
Medicare services
Top 8% in NY for radiology - diagnostic
Not available
Unique patients (not deduplicated)
$77
Avg. Medicare payment
Medicare patients only (65+ / disabled) · How to read this →

Top procedures by volume

Ranked by number of services performed for Medicare patients. Avg. submitted charge is what the provider billed; avg. Medicare payment is what CMS paid.

Procedure Volume Avg. paid Avg. submitted
CT guidance for radiation therapy
This procedure uses computed tomography imaging to guide the precise placement of radiation therapy fields. It ensures accurate positioning for targeted treatment delivery.
1,467 $40 $152
Intra-fraction radiation therapy motion tracking
Real-time monitoring and tracking of patient or target movement during each radiation therapy session to ensure precise delivery.
657 $18 $71
Calculation of radiation therapy dose 642 $30 $113
Radiation treatment management, 5 sessions
Oversight and management of a radiation therapy course consisting of five treatment sessions.
397 $176 $661
Office visit, established patient (20-29 min)
An office visit for an existing patient lasting between 20 and 29 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
270 $54 $230
Design and construction of complex radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a complex radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or conditions treated.
228 $53 $202
Complex radiation therapy planning 157 $155 $583
Design and construction of radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a device used for high precision radiation therapy. It does not include the actual administration of radiation treatment.
137 $203 $759
Special radiation treatment 132 $96 $362
High precision radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the detailed planning and setup required for delivering high-precision radiation therapy to a target area of the body.
125 $379 $1,415
New patient office visit, complex (60-74 min) 78 $166 $623
Radiation treatment planning, complex
This procedure involves obtaining the necessary data to develop an optimal radiation treatment plan for three or more treatment areas, or any number of areas requiring special treatment.
45 $73 $278
Stereoscopic X-ray guidance for radiation therapy localization
This procedure uses stereoscopic X-ray imaging to precisely locate the target area for radiation therapy delivery.
44 $19 $70
Radiation treatment planning, 1 area
This procedure involves gathering the necessary data to design the most effective radiation therapy plan for a single treatment area.
40 $34 $130
Fractionated radiation therapy for cranial lesion
Treatment using radiation delivered in multiple sessions to manage a lesion in the head.
33 $591 $2,210
Design and construction of simple radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a simple radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or condition being treated.
32 $22 $81
3D radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves creating a three-dimensional treatment plan for radiation therapy. It uses imaging data to map the target area and surrounding tissues to guide precise radiation delivery.
25 $203 $759
Initial hospital admission, moderate complexity
Initial hospital inpatient or observation care for a new patient involving moderate-level medical decision making, with at least 55 minutes total time on the date of the encounter.
24 $120 $447
Office visit, established patient (30-39 min)
A follow-up office visit for an existing patient lasting between 30 and 39 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
20 $89 $332
Initial hospital admission, high complexity
Initial hospital inpatient or observation care for a new patient involving high-level medical decision making, with at least 75 minutes total time on the date of the encounter.
16 $158 $591
How to read this data: This reflects Medicare patients only (typically 65+). Payment amounts are what Medicare paid the provider, not your out-of-pocket cost. These counts do not measure clinical quality or years of experience.

Industry Payment Transparency

Open Payments through 2024 ↗
$14,708
Total received (2018-2024)
Avg $2,101/year across 7 years
Top 10% in NY for radiology - diagnostic
A higher payment rank reflects disclosed industry relationships (consulting, research, speaking) common among subspecialists — not wrongdoing.
21
Companies
59
Payment records
Payments are publicly reported; disclosure does not establish legality · Not evidence of wrongdoing · How to interpret →

Payment categories are unavailable while the source breakdown is being rebuilt. Company and year totals do not identify how much belongs to each category.

Payment trend by year

Annual totals from pharmaceutical and medical device companies.

2024
$3,854
2023
$3,403
2022
$46
2021
$2,349
2020
$47
2019
$4,813
2018
$195

Payments by company (2024)

AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals LP
$2,265
Bayer Healthcare Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$1,494
PROGENICS PHARMACEUTICALS, INC.
$38
Novocure Inc.
$33
RefleXion Medical, Inc.
$25
Top 3 companies account for 98.5% of 2024 payments
All-time payments by company (2018-2024) ›
AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals LP
$12,142
Bayer Healthcare Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$1,581
Novocure Inc.
$304
Bayer HealthCare Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$126
Varian Medical Systems, Inc.
$97
Myriad Genetic Laboratories, Inc.
$60
INSYS Therapeutics Inc
$51
Tactile Systems Technology Inc
$40
PROGENICS PHARMACEUTICALS, INC.
$38
Blue Earth Diagnostics Limited
$35
Midatech Pharma US Inc
$34
Myovant Sciences Inc.
$27
Medtronic, Inc.
$25
RefleXion Medical, Inc.
$25
Carl Zeiss Meditec, Inc.
$22
Elekta, Inc.
$22
Boston Scientific Corporation
$20
Fortovia Therapeutics, Inc.
$17
Eisai Inc.
$16
Cumberland Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$13
Genentech USA, Inc.
$12
Top 3 companies account for 95.4% of all-time payments
Associated products mentioned in payments ›
Axumin · Edge · Ethyol · FLEXITOUCH · FLEXITRON HDR · GENERAL THERAPIES · Gelclair · Herceptin · IMFINZI · IORT · Lenvima · MYCARELINK · Nubeqa · ORGOVYX · Oncology · Optune · PROLARIS · PYLARIFY · REFLEXION MEDICAL RADIOTHERAPY SYSTEM · SUBSYS · SYNDROS · Xofigo
Should you be concerned? Industry payments are disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their purpose, legality, or effect on care. What matters is whether a recommended drug or device appears in your doctor's payment records. If so, consider asking your doctor about it. How to interpret this data →
Looking for a radiology - diagnostic specialist in West Islip?
Compare radiology - diagnostics in the West Islip area by procedure volume, costs, and industry payment transparency.
Browse radiology - diagnostics nearby

Geographic Context

Radiology - diagnostics in nearby ZIP areas
51
County median income
$128,329
Nearest hospital to ZIP centroid (approximate)
GOOD SAMARITAN HOSPITAL MEDICAL CENTER
0.0 mi

Data Sources

Provider Registry NPPES NPPES snapshot; verify current record
Medicare Enrollment PECOS PECOS snapshot
Practice Data Medicare Util. Annual (CY lag)
Industry Payments Open Payments CY 2024
Disciplinary History — Not included N/A

This provider has data in 4 of 4 available federal datasets, with a Data Coverage level of Very High. This reflects how much public data is available about a provider. How we calculate this →

Summary

Dr. Kao is a clinical cardiology specialist, with above-average Medicare volume (top 8% in NY), with 20 years of NPI registration.

This summary is auto-generated from federal data, describing data availability and patterns. Read our methodology →

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Dr. Kao experienced with ct guidance for radiation therapy?
Based on Medicare claims data, Dr. Kao performed 1,467 ct guidance for radiation therapy services. These records cover Medicare fee-for-service activity, including eligible younger beneficiaries; they do not measure total practice volume or clinical quality.
Does Dr. Kao receive payments from pharmaceutical companies?
Yes. Dr. Kao received a total of $14,708 from 21 companies across 59 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their legality or effect on care. Patients may wish to ask their doctor about these relationships, especially if a recommended drug or device appears in the payment records.
How do Dr. Kao's costs compare to other radiology - diagnostics in West Islip?
Dr. Kao's average Medicare payment per service is $77. Note that these figures represent what Medicare pays, not your out-of-pocket cost, which depends on your specific insurance plan and deductible. Procedure-level data above shows both what was submitted and what Medicare paid for each service type.
What does Data Coverage mean?
Data Coverage (currently Very High for Dr. Kao) measures how much public federal data is available about a provider. It is not a quality rating. A "Very High" or "High" level means the provider has data across multiple federal sources (NPPES, PECOS, Medicare Utilization, Open Payments), indicating the presence of registry, enrollment, activity or payment records, not verified experience or clinical quality. A "Low" or "Moderate" level may simply mean the provider is newer, does not see Medicare patients, or has not received any industry payments — none of which are inherently negative. Read our full methodology →
Is this data up to date?
Source publication dates and the snapshots loaded on this site can differ. Rebuilding a page does not refresh its source records. Check the Medicare reporting year and the payment interval shown above; consult the linked official sources for newer releases and current registry details. See our data freshness policy →
About this page

This page combines public CMS records with calculated summaries and explanatory procedure labels. These transformations are not verbatim federal records. Sources: NPPES ↗, Open Payments ↗, Medicare Provider Utilization ↗, and PECOS. Publication is mandated by the Physician Payments Sunshine Act (§6002 ACA, 42 U.S.C. §1320a-7h) and the Freedom of Information Act.

This page is not medical advice, an endorsement, a recommendation, or a quality rating. Data Coverage reflects data completeness — how much federal information exists for this provider — not clinical performance, patient outcomes, or quality of care. Always verify information directly with the provider and consult a licensed clinician before making medical decisions.

Provider corrections: Provider portal · Privacy questions: Privacy Policy · Terms: Terms of Use · Methodology: Methodology

Data Disclaimer — Data sourced from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS): National Plan and Provider Enumeration System (NPPES), Open Payments program, Medicare Provider Utilization and Payment Data, and Provider Enrollment & Certification data (PECOS). Published under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). This website is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by CMS, HHS, or the U.S. Government. Data may contain errors as reported to CMS by providers and reporting entities. Industry payment disclosure alone establishes neither wrongdoing nor legality. Medicare data reflects only patients aged 65+ or those with qualifying disabilities. For corrections, contact CMS directly. This information does not constitute medical advice and should not be used as the sole basis for choosing a healthcare provider. Procedure descriptions use plain language and do not reference CPT® codes, which are copyrighted by the American Medical Association. Full methodology → · Report a data error → · Privacy policy →