Medicare Enrolled

Dr. Shawn Zimberg, MD

Radiology - Diagnostic · Plainview, NY
Practice pattern: Clinical Cardiology — Primarily office-based clinical cardiology
688 OLD COUNTRY RD, Plainview, NY 11803
5169326007
Registered in NPPES since 2006
NPI: 1528021714 verify on NPPES ↗
Very High
DATA COVERAGE
Data in 4 of 4 federal sources
Measures public federal data availability — not provider quality
Informational, not a quality rating. This page presents federal public records about Dr. Zimberg from CMS (NPPES, Open Payments, Medicare Provider Utilization, PECOS). It is not medical advice, an endorsement, or a judgment of clinical quality. Always consult the provider directly and a licensed clinician for medical decisions. Read methodology →
Are you Dr. Zimberg? Request a correction or review of any data shown here. Provider portal →

What this data tells you about Dr. Zimberg

Dr. Shawn Zimberg is a radiology - diagnostic specialist in Plainview, NY, with 20 years of NPI registration. Based on federal Medicare data, Dr. Zimberg performed 4,781 Medicare services in 2023. These records do not provide a deduplicated patient total.

Between the years covered by Open Payments, Dr. Zimberg received a total of $167,925 from 27 pharmaceutical and/or device companies across 211 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly reported through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their effect on care. A reliable breakdown by payment category is not available in this snapshot. Patients may wish to discuss these relationships with their provider.

The Data Coverage level for Dr. Zimberg is Very High — reflecting how much public federal data is available about this provider. Patients are encouraged to use this data as one of several factors when choosing a healthcare provider.

✓ 20 years of NPI registration ▲ Top 7% volume in NY $167,925 industry payments

Medicare Practice Summary — 2023

Medicare Utilization ↗
4,781
Medicare services
Top 7% in NY for radiology - diagnostic
Not available
Unique patients (not deduplicated)
$227
Avg. Medicare payment
Medicare patients only (65+ / disabled) · How to read this →

Top procedures by volume

Ranked by number of services performed for Medicare patients. Avg. submitted charge is what the provider billed; avg. Medicare payment is what CMS paid.

Procedure Volume Avg. paid Avg. submitted
Injection, amikacin sulfate, 100 mg 880 $1 $1
Implantable tissue marker, each
A small marker is implanted into tissue to serve as a reference point for future medical imaging or procedures.
632 $100 $364
Continuing radiation therapy consultation per week
A weekly consultation to review and manage ongoing radiation therapy treatment.
533 $87 $319
Calculation of radiation therapy dose 416 $63 $235
Office visit, established patient (20-29 min)
An office visit for an existing patient lasting between 20 and 29 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
408 $77 $316
Radiation treatment management, 5 sessions
Oversight and management of a radiation therapy course consisting of five treatment sessions.
224 $180 $665
Intensity-modulated radiation therapy delivery
Delivery of radiation therapy using narrow beams that are spatially and temporally modulated to target specific areas. This process is performed per treatment session.
186 $351 $1,369
Injection of biodegradable material next to prostate
A procedure involving the injection of a biodegradable substance into the tissue surrounding the prostate gland.
177 $2,832 $10,451
Prostate radiation therapy device placement
A device is placed in the prostate to facilitate radiation therapy. This procedure involves positioning the device to aid in the delivery of radiation treatment.
175 $75 $537
Ultrasound guidance for needle placement
Use of ultrasound imaging to guide the precise placement of a needle during a medical procedure.
175 $56 $204
CT guidance for radiation therapy
This procedure uses computed tomography imaging to guide the precise placement of radiation therapy fields. It ensures accurate positioning for targeted treatment delivery.
175 $115 $426
Drug injection, under skin or into muscle
A procedure involving the administration of a medication or substance via injection into the subcutaneous tissue or muscle.
175 $13 $49
Design and construction of radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a device used for high precision radiation therapy. It does not include the actual administration of radiation treatment.
139 $446 $1,628
New patient office visit, complex (60-74 min) 109 $206 $763
Design and construction of complex radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a complex radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or conditions treated.
105 $117 $440
Complex radiation therapy planning 74 $157 $582
High precision radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the detailed planning and setup required for delivering high-precision radiation therapy to a target area of the body.
63 $1,795 $6,606
Radiation treatment planning, complex
This procedure involves obtaining the necessary data to develop an optimal radiation treatment plan for three or more treatment areas, or any number of areas requiring special treatment.
27 $429 $1,613
Radiation therapy, 3+ areas, 6-10 MeV
Radiation treatment delivered to three or more separate areas using advanced techniques like custom blocking and rotational beams with an energy level of 6-10 MeV.
26 $232 $926
Special radiation treatment 22 $126 $480
3D radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves creating a three-dimensional treatment plan for radiation therapy. It uses imaging data to map the target area and surrounding tissues to guide precise radiation delivery.
19 $425 $1,679
Fractionated radiation therapy for cranial lesion
Treatment using radiation delivered in multiple sessions to manage a lesion in the head.
15 $606 $2,210
Design and construction of simple radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a simple radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or condition being treated.
14 $34 $133
Respiratory data collection for radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves gathering respiratory data to help develop the optimal radiation treatment plan.
12 $402 $1,468
How to read this data: This reflects Medicare patients only (typically 65+). Payment amounts are what Medicare paid the provider, not your out-of-pocket cost. These counts do not measure clinical quality or years of experience.

Industry Payment Transparency

Open Payments through 2024 ↗
$167,925
Total received (2018-2024)
Avg $23,989/year across 7 years
Top 2% in NY for radiology - diagnostic
A higher payment rank reflects disclosed industry relationships (consulting, research, speaking) common among subspecialists — not wrongdoing.
27
Companies
211
Payment records
Payments are publicly reported; disclosure does not establish legality · Not evidence of wrongdoing · How to interpret →

Payment categories are unavailable while the source breakdown is being rebuilt. Company and year totals do not identify how much belongs to each category.

Payment trend by year

Annual totals from pharmaceutical and medical device companies.

2024
$61,212
2023
$29,158
2022
$6,336
2021
$3,655
2020
$12,223
2019
$24,645
2018
$30,696

Payments by company (2024)

BIOPROTECT MEDICAL, INC.
$36,407
Elekta, Inc.
$11,302
Bayer Healthcare LLC
$4,282
BIOPROTECT LTD.
$4,000
Bayer Healthcare Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$3,866
Siemens Medical Solutions USA, Inc.
$1,206
Boston Scientific Corporation
$79
Tactile Systems Technology Inc
$29
Bard Peripheral Vascular, Inc.
$24
Sumitomo Pharma America, Inc.
$18
Top 3 companies account for 84.9% of 2024 payments
All-time payments by company (2018-2024) ›
Bayer HealthCare Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$74,969
BIOPROTECT MEDICAL, INC.
$36,407
Bayer Healthcare Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$32,513
Elekta, Inc.
$11,302
Bayer Healthcare LLC
$4,282
BIOPROTECT LTD.
$4,000
Siemens Medical Solutions USA, Inc.
$1,659
Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$1,077
Varian Medical Systems, Inc.
$370
IsoRay, Inc
$335
Boston Scientific Corporation
$241
ACCORD HEALTHCARE, INC.
$143
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
$132
Blue Earth Diagnostics Limited
$111
Tactile Systems Technology Inc
$61
Myovant Sciences Inc.
$49
Zap Surgical Systems, Inc.
$41
Myriad Genetic Laboratories, Inc.
$33
Lilly USA, LLC
$32
Novocure Inc.
$30
AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals LP
$27
Bard Peripheral Vascular, Inc.
$24
Augmenix, Inc.
$20
Midatech Pharma US Inc
$18
Sumitomo Pharma America, Inc.
$18
Fortovia Therapeutics, Inc.
$15
PFIZER INC.
$15
Top 3 companies account for 85.7% of all-time payments
Associated products mentioned in payments ›
Axumin · BIOPROTECT BALLOON IMPLANT SYSTEM · BRACHYTHERAPY SOURCE · Brachytherapy Source · CAMCEVI · CYRAMZA · ERLEADA · FLEXITOUCH · Flexitouch Plus · GENERAL THERAPIES · Gelclair · Halcyon · IMFINZI · Model 200 TheraSeed Palladium-103 in ReadyLink · Nubeqa · ORGOVYX · Optune · PLUVICTO · POSLUMA · Prolaris · SPACEOAR · SpaceOAR · TrueBeam · Varian Ethos Treatment Planning · Varian Treatment · Varithena Administration Pack · XTANDI · Xofigo · ZAP-X MV IMAGER · rezum Generator
Should you be concerned? Industry payments are disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their purpose, legality, or effect on care. What matters is whether a recommended drug or device appears in your doctor's payment records. If so, consider asking your doctor about it. How to interpret this data →
Looking for a radiology - diagnostic specialist in Plainview?
Compare radiology - diagnostics in the Plainview area by procedure volume, costs, and industry payment transparency.
Browse radiology - diagnostics nearby

Geographic Context

Radiology - diagnostics in nearby ZIP areas
131
County median income
$143,408
Nearest hospital to ZIP centroid (approximate)
PLAINVIEW HOSPITAL
0.0 mi

Data Sources

Provider Registry NPPES NPPES snapshot; verify current record
Medicare Enrollment PECOS PECOS snapshot
Practice Data Medicare Util. Annual (CY lag)
Industry Payments Open Payments CY 2024
Disciplinary History — Not included N/A

This provider has data in 4 of 4 available federal datasets, with a Data Coverage level of Very High. This reflects how much public data is available about a provider. How we calculate this →

Summary

Dr. Zimberg is a clinical cardiology specialist, with above-average Medicare volume (top 7% in NY), with 20 years of NPI registration.

This summary is auto-generated from federal data, describing data availability and patterns. Read our methodology →

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Dr. Zimberg experienced with injection, amikacin sulfate, 100 mg?
Based on Medicare claims data, Dr. Zimberg performed 880 injection, amikacin sulfate, 100 mg services. These records cover Medicare fee-for-service activity, including eligible younger beneficiaries; they do not measure total practice volume or clinical quality.
Does Dr. Zimberg receive payments from pharmaceutical companies?
Yes. Dr. Zimberg received a total of $167,925 from 27 companies across 211 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their legality or effect on care. Patients may wish to ask their doctor about these relationships, especially if a recommended drug or device appears in the payment records.
How do Dr. Zimberg's costs compare to other radiology - diagnostics in Plainview?
Dr. Zimberg's average Medicare payment per service is $227. Note that these figures represent what Medicare pays, not your out-of-pocket cost, which depends on your specific insurance plan and deductible. Procedure-level data above shows both what was submitted and what Medicare paid for each service type.
What does Data Coverage mean?
Data Coverage (currently Very High for Dr. Zimberg) measures how much public federal data is available about a provider. It is not a quality rating. A "Very High" or "High" level means the provider has data across multiple federal sources (NPPES, PECOS, Medicare Utilization, Open Payments), indicating the presence of registry, enrollment, activity or payment records, not verified experience or clinical quality. A "Low" or "Moderate" level may simply mean the provider is newer, does not see Medicare patients, or has not received any industry payments — none of which are inherently negative. Read our full methodology →
Is this data up to date?
Source publication dates and the snapshots loaded on this site can differ. Rebuilding a page does not refresh its source records. Check the Medicare reporting year and the payment interval shown above; consult the linked official sources for newer releases and current registry details. See our data freshness policy →
About this page

This page combines public CMS records with calculated summaries and explanatory procedure labels. These transformations are not verbatim federal records. Sources: NPPES ↗, Open Payments ↗, Medicare Provider Utilization ↗, and PECOS. Publication is mandated by the Physician Payments Sunshine Act (§6002 ACA, 42 U.S.C. §1320a-7h) and the Freedom of Information Act.

This page is not medical advice, an endorsement, a recommendation, or a quality rating. Data Coverage reflects data completeness — how much federal information exists for this provider — not clinical performance, patient outcomes, or quality of care. Always verify information directly with the provider and consult a licensed clinician before making medical decisions.

Provider corrections: Provider portal · Privacy questions: Privacy Policy · Terms: Terms of Use · Methodology: Methodology

Data Disclaimer — Data sourced from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS): National Plan and Provider Enumeration System (NPPES), Open Payments program, Medicare Provider Utilization and Payment Data, and Provider Enrollment & Certification data (PECOS). Published under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). This website is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by CMS, HHS, or the U.S. Government. Data may contain errors as reported to CMS by providers and reporting entities. Industry payment disclosure alone establishes neither wrongdoing nor legality. Medicare data reflects only patients aged 65+ or those with qualifying disabilities. For corrections, contact CMS directly. This information does not constitute medical advice and should not be used as the sole basis for choosing a healthcare provider. Procedure descriptions use plain language and do not reference CPT® codes, which are copyrighted by the American Medical Association. Full methodology → · Report a data error → · Privacy policy →