Medicare Enrolled

Dr. George Varsos, M.D.

Radiology - Diagnostic · Astoria, NY
Practice pattern: Mixed Practice — Diverse clinical practice across multiple procedure types
2322 30TH AVE, Astoria, NY 11102
7182672763
Registered in NPPES since 2006
NPI: 1639193345 verify on NPPES ↗
Very High
DATA COVERAGE
Data in 4 of 4 federal sources
Measures public federal data availability — not provider quality
Informational, not a quality rating. This page presents federal public records about Dr. Varsos from CMS (NPPES, Open Payments, Medicare Provider Utilization, PECOS). It is not medical advice, an endorsement, or a judgment of clinical quality. Always consult the provider directly and a licensed clinician for medical decisions. Read methodology →
Are you Dr. Varsos? Request a correction or review of any data shown here. Provider portal →

What this data tells you about Dr. Varsos

Dr. George Varsos is a radiology - diagnostic specialist in Astoria, NY, with 20 years of NPI registration. Based on federal Medicare data, Dr. Varsos performed 1,909 Medicare services in 2023. These records do not provide a deduplicated patient total.

Between the years covered by Open Payments, Dr. Varsos received a total of $666 from 17 pharmaceutical and/or device companies across 26 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly reported through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their effect on care. A reliable breakdown by payment category is not available in this snapshot. Patients may wish to discuss these relationships with their provider.

The Data Coverage level for Dr. Varsos is Very High — reflecting how much public federal data is available about this provider. Patients are encouraged to use this data as one of several factors when choosing a healthcare provider.

✓ 20 years of NPI registration ▲ Top 35% volume in NY $666 industry payments

Medicare Practice Summary — 2023

Medicare Utilization ↗
1,909
Medicare services
Top 35% in NY for radiology - diagnostic
Not available
Unique patients (not deduplicated)
$66
Avg. Medicare payment
Medicare patients only (65+ / disabled) · How to read this →

Top procedures by volume

Ranked by number of services performed for Medicare patients. Avg. submitted charge is what the provider billed; avg. Medicare payment is what CMS paid.

Procedure Volume Avg. paid Avg. submitted
CT guidance for radiation therapy
This procedure uses computed tomography imaging to guide the precise placement of radiation therapy fields. It ensures accurate positioning for targeted treatment delivery.
796 $34 $266
Design and construction of complex radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a complex radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or conditions treated.
223 $46 $387
Calculation of radiation therapy dose 220 $25 $145
Radiation treatment management, 5 sessions
Oversight and management of a radiation therapy course consisting of five treatment sessions.
187 $147 $518
Complex radiation therapy planning 87 $129 $512
New patient office visit (45-59 min)
An initial office visit for a new patient lasting between 45 and 59 minutes. This code covers the total time spent by the physician or qualified healthcare professional on the date of the encounter.
60 $99 $291
Radiation treatment planning, complex
This procedure involves obtaining the necessary data to develop an optimal radiation treatment plan for three or more treatment areas, or any number of areas requiring special treatment.
46 $62 $1,162
Radiation treatment planning, 1 area
This procedure involves gathering the necessary data to design the most effective radiation therapy plan for a single treatment area.
44 $29 $105
High precision radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the detailed planning and setup required for delivering high-precision radiation therapy to a target area of the body.
42 $324 $4,786
Design and construction of radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a device used for high precision radiation therapy. It does not include the actual administration of radiation treatment.
42 $174 $1,252
Nuclear stress test of heart muscle
A nuclear medicine imaging test that evaluates blood flow to the heart muscle at rest and during stress using a special camera.
38 $50 $1,315
3D radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves creating a three-dimensional treatment plan for radiation therapy. It uses imaging data to map the target area and surrounding tissues to guide precise radiation delivery.
29 $174 $1,002
Special radiation treatment 27 $82 $253
Office visit, established patient (20-29 min)
An office visit for an existing patient lasting between 20 and 29 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
25 $46 $180
Design and construction of simple radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a simple radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or condition being treated.
24 $18 $168
Complex radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the detailed planning required to deliver external beam radiation therapy to a patient.
19 $118 $786
How to read this data: This reflects Medicare patients only (typically 65+). Payment amounts are what Medicare paid the provider, not your out-of-pocket cost. These counts do not measure clinical quality or years of experience.

Industry Payment Transparency

Open Payments through 2024 ↗
$666
Total received (2022-2024)
Avg $222/year across 3 years
Top 43% in NY for radiology - diagnostic
A higher payment rank reflects disclosed industry relationships (consulting, research, speaking) common among subspecialists — not wrongdoing.
17
Companies
26
Payment records
Payments are publicly reported; disclosure does not establish legality · Not evidence of wrongdoing · How to interpret →

Payment categories are unavailable while the source breakdown is being rebuilt. Company and year totals do not identify how much belongs to each category.

Payment trend by year

Annual totals from pharmaceutical and medical device companies.

2024
$511
2023
$39
2022
$116

Payments by company (2024)

Astellas Pharma US Inc
$80
AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals LP
$66
Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$50
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
$50
Eisai Inc.
$36
Bayer Healthcare Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$31
Regeneron Healthcare Solutions, Inc.
$28
Takeda Pharmaceuticals U.S.A., Inc.
$25
Karyopharm Therapeutics Inc.
$25
GENZYME CORPORATION
$20
Myriad Genetic Laboratories, Inc.
$17
Incyte Corporation
$17
Ipsen Biopharmaceuticals, Inc
$17
SpringWorks Therapeutics, Inc.
$16
RECORDATI_RARE_DISEASES_INC.
$16
Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC
$16
Top 3 companies account for 38.4% of 2024 payments
All-time payments by company (2022-2024) ›
AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals LP
$205
Astellas Pharma US Inc
$80
Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$50
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
$50
Eisai Inc.
$36
Bayer Healthcare Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$31
Regeneron Healthcare Solutions, Inc.
$28
Takeda Pharmaceuticals U.S.A., Inc.
$25
Karyopharm Therapeutics Inc.
$25
GENZYME CORPORATION
$20
Myriad Genetic Laboratories, Inc.
$17
Acrotech Biopharma Inc.
$17
Incyte Corporation
$17
Ipsen Biopharmaceuticals, Inc
$17
SpringWorks Therapeutics, Inc.
$16
RECORDATI_RARE_DISEASES_INC.
$16
Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC
$16
Top 3 companies account for 50.2% of all-time payments
Associated products mentioned in payments ›
BELEODAQ · FRUZAQLA · IMFINZI · JAKAFI · KEYTRUDA · LIBTAYO · Lenvima · MYRISK · OGSIVEO · Onivyde · PLUVICTO · Padcev · RYBREVANT · SARCLISA · SYLVANT · Stivarga · TAGRISSO · TECVAYLI · Vyloy · XPOVIO · Xtandi
Should you be concerned? Industry payments are disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their purpose, legality, or effect on care. What matters is whether a recommended drug or device appears in your doctor's payment records. If so, consider asking your doctor about it. How to interpret this data →
Looking for a radiology - diagnostic specialist in Astoria?
Compare radiology - diagnostics in the Astoria area by procedure volume, costs, and industry payment transparency.
Browse radiology - diagnostics nearby

Geographic Context

Radiology - diagnostics in nearby ZIP areas
291
County median income
$84,961
Nearest hospital to ZIP centroid (approximate)
LENOX HILL HOSPITAL
1.6 mi

Data Sources

Provider Registry NPPES NPPES snapshot; verify current record
Medicare Enrollment PECOS PECOS snapshot
Practice Data Medicare Util. Annual (CY lag)
Industry Payments Open Payments CY 2024
Disciplinary History — Not included N/A

This provider has data in 4 of 4 available federal datasets, with a Data Coverage level of Very High. This reflects how much public data is available about a provider. How we calculate this →

Summary

Dr. Varsos is a mixed practice specialist, with moderate Medicare volume, with 20 years of NPI registration.

This summary is auto-generated from federal data, describing data availability and patterns. Read our methodology →

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Dr. Varsos experienced with ct guidance for radiation therapy?
Based on Medicare claims data, Dr. Varsos performed 796 ct guidance for radiation therapy services. These records cover Medicare fee-for-service activity, including eligible younger beneficiaries; they do not measure total practice volume or clinical quality.
Does Dr. Varsos receive payments from pharmaceutical companies?
Yes. Dr. Varsos received a total of $666 from 17 companies across 26 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their legality or effect on care. Patients may wish to ask their doctor about these relationships, especially if a recommended drug or device appears in the payment records.
How do Dr. Varsos's costs compare to other radiology - diagnostics in Astoria?
Dr. Varsos's average Medicare payment per service is $66. Note that these figures represent what Medicare pays, not your out-of-pocket cost, which depends on your specific insurance plan and deductible. Procedure-level data above shows both what was submitted and what Medicare paid for each service type.
What does Data Coverage mean?
Data Coverage (currently Very High for Dr. Varsos) measures how much public federal data is available about a provider. It is not a quality rating. A "Very High" or "High" level means the provider has data across multiple federal sources (NPPES, PECOS, Medicare Utilization, Open Payments), indicating the presence of registry, enrollment, activity or payment records, not verified experience or clinical quality. A "Low" or "Moderate" level may simply mean the provider is newer, does not see Medicare patients, or has not received any industry payments — none of which are inherently negative. Read our full methodology →
Is this data up to date?
Source publication dates and the snapshots loaded on this site can differ. Rebuilding a page does not refresh its source records. Check the Medicare reporting year and the payment interval shown above; consult the linked official sources for newer releases and current registry details. See our data freshness policy →
About this page

This page combines public CMS records with calculated summaries and explanatory procedure labels. These transformations are not verbatim federal records. Sources: NPPES ↗, Open Payments ↗, Medicare Provider Utilization ↗, and PECOS. Publication is mandated by the Physician Payments Sunshine Act (§6002 ACA, 42 U.S.C. §1320a-7h) and the Freedom of Information Act.

This page is not medical advice, an endorsement, a recommendation, or a quality rating. Data Coverage reflects data completeness — how much federal information exists for this provider — not clinical performance, patient outcomes, or quality of care. Always verify information directly with the provider and consult a licensed clinician before making medical decisions.

Provider corrections: Provider portal · Privacy questions: Privacy Policy · Terms: Terms of Use · Methodology: Methodology

Data Disclaimer — Data sourced from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS): National Plan and Provider Enumeration System (NPPES), Open Payments program, Medicare Provider Utilization and Payment Data, and Provider Enrollment & Certification data (PECOS). Published under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). This website is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by CMS, HHS, or the U.S. Government. Data may contain errors as reported to CMS by providers and reporting entities. Industry payment disclosure alone establishes neither wrongdoing nor legality. Medicare data reflects only patients aged 65+ or those with qualifying disabilities. For corrections, contact CMS directly. This information does not constitute medical advice and should not be used as the sole basis for choosing a healthcare provider. Procedure descriptions use plain language and do not reference CPT® codes, which are copyrighted by the American Medical Association. Full methodology → · Report a data error → · Privacy policy →