Medicare Enrolled

Dr. James Dalzell, MD

Radiology - Diagnostic · Northfield, NJ
Practice pattern: Clinical Cardiology — Primarily office-based clinical cardiology
801 NEW RD, Northfield, NJ 08225
6094075055
Registered in NPPES since 2006
NPI: 1417997719 verify on NPPES ↗
Very High
DATA COVERAGE
Data in 4 of 4 federal sources
Measures public federal data availability — not provider quality
Informational, not a quality rating. This page presents federal public records about Dr. Dalzell from CMS (NPPES, Open Payments, Medicare Provider Utilization, PECOS). It is not medical advice, an endorsement, or a judgment of clinical quality. Always consult the provider directly and a licensed clinician for medical decisions. Read methodology →
Are you Dr. Dalzell? Request a correction or review of any data shown here. Provider portal →

What this data tells you about Dr. Dalzell

Dr. James Dalzell is a radiology - diagnostic specialist in Northfield, NJ, with 20 years of NPI registration. Based on federal Medicare data, Dr. Dalzell performed 4,939 Medicare services in 2023. These records do not provide a deduplicated patient total.

Between the years covered by Open Payments, Dr. Dalzell received a total of $74 from 4 pharmaceutical and/or device companies across 5 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly reported through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their effect on care. A reliable breakdown by payment category is not available in this snapshot. Patients may wish to discuss these relationships with their provider.

The Data Coverage level for Dr. Dalzell is Very High — reflecting how much public federal data is available about this provider. Patients are encouraged to use this data as one of several factors when choosing a healthcare provider.

✓ 20 years of NPI registration ▲ Top 13% volume in NJ $74 industry payments

Medicare Practice Summary — 2023

Medicare Utilization ↗
4,939
Medicare services
Top 13% in NJ for radiology - diagnostic
Not available
Unique patients (not deduplicated)
$217
Avg. Medicare payment
Medicare patients only (65+ / disabled) · How to read this →

Top procedures by volume

Ranked by number of services performed for Medicare patients. Avg. submitted charge is what the provider billed; avg. Medicare payment is what CMS paid.

Procedure Volume Avg. paid Avg. submitted
CT guidance for radiation therapy
This procedure uses computed tomography imaging to guide the precise placement of radiation therapy fields. It ensures accurate positioning for targeted treatment delivery.
715 $70 $507
Intensity-modulated radiation therapy delivery
Delivery of radiation therapy using narrow beams that are spatially and temporally modulated to target specific areas. This process is performed per treatment session.
670 $329 $1,682
Radiation therapy, 3+ areas, 6-10 MeV
Radiation treatment delivered to three or more separate areas using advanced techniques like custom blocking and rotational beams with an energy level of 6-10 MeV.
551 $214 $505
Calculation of radiation therapy dose 359 $59 $210
Continuing radiation therapy consultation per week
A weekly consultation to review and manage ongoing radiation therapy treatment.
315 $78 $236
Radiation treatment management, 5 sessions
Oversight and management of a radiation therapy course consisting of five treatment sessions.
305 $163 $470
Radiation therapy, 3+ areas, 11-19 MeV
Delivery of high-energy radiation (11-19 MeV) to three or more separate treatment areas using custom blocking, tangential ports, wedges, rotational beams, and compensators.
262 $209 $551
Stereoscopic X-ray guidance for radiation therapy localization
This procedure uses stereoscopic X-ray imaging to precisely locate the target area for radiation therapy delivery.
246 $67 $359
Fluorodeoxyglucose f-18 fdg, diagnostic, per study dose, up to 45 millicuries 203 $70 $340
Office visit, established patient (30-39 min)
A follow-up office visit for an existing patient lasting between 30 and 39 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
197 $102 $146
Nuclear medicine scan from skull base to mid-thigh with CT
A nuclear medicine imaging study covering the area from the base of the skull to the middle of the thighs, performed alongside a CT scan.
163 $1,436 $3,266
Contrast dye for imaging (iodine-based)
A contrast agent containing 300-399 mg/ml of iodine used to enhance imaging studies. It is administered per milliliter to improve the visibility of internal structures.
124 $0 $50
Design and construction of complex radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a complex radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or conditions treated.
114 $109 $471
CT scan of abdomen and pelvis with contrast
A CT scan that uses dye to create detailed images of the abdomen and pelvis. This imaging test helps doctors examine internal organs and structures in these areas.
84 $276 $950
CT scan of chest with contrast
A computed tomography scan of the chest using a contrast dye to enhance the visibility of internal structures.
80 $100 $934
CT scan of chest, without contrast
A computed tomography scan of the chest area that uses X-rays to create detailed images without the use of contrast dye.
72 $108 $685
Complex radiation therapy planning 71 $141 $405
Office visit, established patient, complex (40-54 min)
An office or outpatient visit for an existing patient lasting between 40 and 54 minutes. This level of service is determined by the total time spent on the date of the encounter.
59 $151 $190
Radiation treatment planning, complex
This procedure involves obtaining the necessary data to develop an optimal radiation treatment plan for three or more treatment areas, or any number of areas requiring special treatment.
57 $391 $1,272
Radiation treatment planning, 1 area
This procedure involves gathering the necessary data to design the most effective radiation therapy plan for a single treatment area.
56 $242 $518
Design and construction of radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a device used for high precision radiation therapy. It does not include the actual administration of radiation treatment.
44 $413 $1,313
Whole body nuclear medicine scan with CT
A combined imaging procedure using nuclear medicine and CT scans to visualize the entire body.
40 $1,436 $3,274
High precision radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the detailed planning and setup required for delivering high-precision radiation therapy to a target area of the body.
32 $1,608 $5,592
Special radiation treatment 26 $122 $988
Design and construction of simple radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a simple radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or condition being treated.
23 $34 $221
Office visit, established patient (20-29 min)
An office visit for an existing patient lasting between 20 and 29 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
21 $68 $146
CT scan of abdomen and pelvis, without contrast
A computed tomography scan that creates detailed images of the abdominal and pelvic organs. The procedure is performed without the use of intravenous contrast dye.
16 $151 $595
3D radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves creating a three-dimensional treatment plan for radiation therapy. It uses imaging data to map the target area and surrounding tissues to guide precise radiation delivery.
12 $426 $2,540
New patient office visit (30-44 min)
An initial office visit for a new patient lasting between 30 and 44 minutes. This code is used when the total time spent on the date of the encounter falls within this range.
11 $89 $166
New patient office visit, complex (60-74 min) 11 $190 $322
How to read this data: This reflects Medicare patients only (typically 65+). Payment amounts are what Medicare paid the provider, not your out-of-pocket cost. These counts do not measure clinical quality or years of experience.

Industry Payment Transparency

Open Payments through 2024 ↗
$74
Total received (2019-2024)
Avg $25/year across 3 years
Bottom 11% in NJ for radiology - diagnostic
4
Companies
5
Payment records
Payments are publicly reported; disclosure does not establish legality · Not evidence of wrongdoing · How to interpret →

Payment categories are unavailable while the source breakdown is being rebuilt. Company and year totals do not identify how much belongs to each category.

Payment trend by year

Annual totals from pharmaceutical and medical device companies.

2024
$45
2021
$15
2019
$14

Payments by company (2024)

ABBVIE INC.
$29
Tempus AI, Inc
$16
Top 3 companies account for 100.0% of 2024 payments
All-time payments by company (2019-2024) ›
ABBVIE INC.
$29
Tempus AI, Inc
$16
Pharmacyclics LLC, An AbbVie Company
$15
Bayer HealthCare Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$14
Top 3 companies account for 80.7% of all-time payments
Associated products mentioned in payments ›
IMBRUVICA · Xofigo
Should you be concerned? Industry payments are disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their purpose, legality, or effect on care. What matters is whether a recommended drug or device appears in your doctor's payment records. If so, consider asking your doctor about it. How to interpret this data →
Looking for a radiology - diagnostic specialist in Northfield?
Compare radiology - diagnostics in the Northfield area by procedure volume, costs, and industry payment transparency.
Browse radiology - diagnostics nearby

Geographic Context

Radiology - diagnostics in nearby ZIP areas
3
County median income
$76,819
Nearest hospital to ZIP centroid (approximate)
SHORE MEDICAL CENTER
4.4 mi

Data Sources

Provider Registry NPPES NPPES snapshot; verify current record
Medicare Enrollment PECOS PECOS snapshot
Practice Data Medicare Util. Annual (CY lag)
Industry Payments Open Payments CY 2024
Disciplinary History — Not included N/A

This provider has data in 4 of 4 available federal datasets, with a Data Coverage level of Very High. This reflects how much public data is available about a provider. How we calculate this →

Summary

Dr. Dalzell is a clinical cardiology specialist, with above-average Medicare volume (top 13% in NJ), with 20 years of NPI registration.

This summary is auto-generated from federal data, describing data availability and patterns. Read our methodology →

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Dr. Dalzell experienced with ct guidance for radiation therapy?
Based on Medicare claims data, Dr. Dalzell performed 715 ct guidance for radiation therapy services. These records cover Medicare fee-for-service activity, including eligible younger beneficiaries; they do not measure total practice volume or clinical quality.
Does Dr. Dalzell receive payments from pharmaceutical companies?
Yes. Dr. Dalzell received a total of $74 from 4 companies across 5 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their legality or effect on care. Patients may wish to ask their doctor about these relationships, especially if a recommended drug or device appears in the payment records.
How do Dr. Dalzell's costs compare to other radiology - diagnostics in Northfield?
Dr. Dalzell's average Medicare payment per service is $217. Note that these figures represent what Medicare pays, not your out-of-pocket cost, which depends on your specific insurance plan and deductible. Procedure-level data above shows both what was submitted and what Medicare paid for each service type.
What does Data Coverage mean?
Data Coverage (currently Very High for Dr. Dalzell) measures how much public federal data is available about a provider. It is not a quality rating. A "Very High" or "High" level means the provider has data across multiple federal sources (NPPES, PECOS, Medicare Utilization, Open Payments), indicating the presence of registry, enrollment, activity or payment records, not verified experience or clinical quality. A "Low" or "Moderate" level may simply mean the provider is newer, does not see Medicare patients, or has not received any industry payments — none of which are inherently negative. Read our full methodology →
Is this data up to date?
Source publication dates and the snapshots loaded on this site can differ. Rebuilding a page does not refresh its source records. Check the Medicare reporting year and the payment interval shown above; consult the linked official sources for newer releases and current registry details. See our data freshness policy →
About this page

This page combines public CMS records with calculated summaries and explanatory procedure labels. These transformations are not verbatim federal records. Sources: NPPES ↗, Open Payments ↗, Medicare Provider Utilization ↗, and PECOS. Publication is mandated by the Physician Payments Sunshine Act (§6002 ACA, 42 U.S.C. §1320a-7h) and the Freedom of Information Act.

This page is not medical advice, an endorsement, a recommendation, or a quality rating. Data Coverage reflects data completeness — how much federal information exists for this provider — not clinical performance, patient outcomes, or quality of care. Always verify information directly with the provider and consult a licensed clinician before making medical decisions.

Provider corrections: Provider portal · Privacy questions: Privacy Policy · Terms: Terms of Use · Methodology: Methodology

Data Disclaimer — Data sourced from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS): National Plan and Provider Enumeration System (NPPES), Open Payments program, Medicare Provider Utilization and Payment Data, and Provider Enrollment & Certification data (PECOS). Published under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). This website is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by CMS, HHS, or the U.S. Government. Data may contain errors as reported to CMS by providers and reporting entities. Industry payment disclosure alone establishes neither wrongdoing nor legality. Medicare data reflects only patients aged 65+ or those with qualifying disabilities. For corrections, contact CMS directly. This information does not constitute medical advice and should not be used as the sole basis for choosing a healthcare provider. Procedure descriptions use plain language and do not reference CPT® codes, which are copyrighted by the American Medical Association. Full methodology → · Report a data error → · Privacy policy →