Medicare Enrolled

Dr. Gwen Abeles, M.D.

Procedural Dermatology Physician · Montvale, NJ
Practice pattern: Clinical Cardiology — Primarily office-based clinical cardiology
221 W GRAND AVE STE 102B, Montvale, NJ 07645
2013070075
Registered in NPPES since 2006
NPI: 1447222625 verify on NPPES ↗
Very High
DATA COVERAGE
Data in 4 of 4 federal sources
Measures public federal data availability — not provider quality
Informational, not a quality rating. This page presents federal public records about Dr. Abeles from CMS (NPPES, Open Payments, Medicare Provider Utilization, PECOS). It is not medical advice, an endorsement, or a judgment of clinical quality. Always consult the provider directly and a licensed clinician for medical decisions. Read methodology →
Are you Dr. Abeles? Request a correction or review of any data shown here. Provider portal →

What this data tells you about Dr. Abeles

Dr. Gwen Abeles is a procedural dermatology physician in Montvale, NJ, with 20 years of NPI registration. Based on federal Medicare data, Dr. Abeles performed 12,154 Medicare services in 2023. These records do not provide a deduplicated patient total.

Between the years covered by Open Payments, Dr. Abeles received a total of $7,296 from 46 pharmaceutical and/or device companies across 282 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly reported through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their effect on care. A reliable breakdown by payment category is not available in this snapshot. Patients may wish to discuss these relationships with their provider.

The Data Coverage level for Dr. Abeles is Very High — reflecting how much public federal data is available about this provider. Patients are encouraged to use this data as one of several factors when choosing a healthcare provider.

✓ 20 years of NPI registration ▲ Top 8% volume in NJ $7,296 industry payments

Medicare Practice Summary — 2023

Medicare Utilization ↗
12,154
Medicare services
Top 8% in NJ for procedural dermatology physician
Not available
Unique patients (not deduplicated)
$82
Avg. Medicare payment
Medicare patients only (65+ / disabled) · How to read this →

Top procedures by volume

Ranked by number of services performed for Medicare patients. Avg. submitted charge is what the provider billed; avg. Medicare payment is what CMS paid.

Procedure Volume Avg. paid Avg. submitted
Destruction of precancerous skin growths, 2-14
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of two to fourteen precancerous skin lesions. It is performed to eliminate abnormal skin cells that have the potential to develop into cancer.
3,474 $6 $30
Office visit, established patient (20-29 min)
An office visit for an existing patient lasting between 20 and 29 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
1,452 $71 $138
Ultrasound guidance for radiation therapy field placement
Use of ultrasound imaging to help position radiation therapy fields accurately during treatment.
1,213 $171 $250
Radiation treatment planning, 1 area
This procedure involves gathering the necessary data to design the most effective radiation therapy plan for a single treatment area.
1,168 $256 $450
Superficial or low voltage radiation treatment
A radiation therapy procedure that delivers radiation to the surface of the body or uses low voltage energy. This treatment targets areas close to the skin.
1,150 $39 $67
Destruction of precancerous skin growth, 1
Removal of a single precancerous skin growth. This procedure destroys abnormal skin cells to prevent them from developing into cancer.
1,016 $48 $150
Office visit, established patient (30-39 min)
A follow-up office visit for an existing patient lasting between 30 and 39 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
512 $103 $173
Destruction of skin growths (warts/lesions), 1-14
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of one to fourteen skin growths. It is a minor surgical intervention performed on the skin surface.
268 $89 $200
Radiation treatment management, 5 sessions
Oversight and management of a radiation therapy course consisting of five treatment sessions.
228 $170 $285
Destruction of 15 or more precancerous skin growths
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of fifteen or more precancerous skin lesions. It is performed to treat abnormal skin cells that have the potential to develop into cancer.
221 $153 $350
Skin biopsy, tangential
A procedure to remove a sample of the first identified skin growth for laboratory examination.
216 $79 $200
New patient office visit (30-44 min)
An initial office visit for a new patient lasting between 30 and 44 minutes. This code is used when the total time spent on the date of the encounter falls within this range.
128 $90 $175
Continuing radiation therapy consultation per week
A weekly consultation to review and manage ongoing radiation therapy treatment.
125 $83 $118
New patient office visit (45-59 min)
An initial office visit for a new patient lasting between 45 and 59 minutes. This code covers the total time spent by the physician or qualified healthcare professional on the date of the encounter.
114 $118 $300
Acne surgery
A surgical procedure to treat acne. The specific techniques and extent of the surgery are not defined in this general code description.
108 $89 $201
Skin growth biopsy, first lesion
A minor surgical procedure to remove a small sample of tissue from a skin growth for laboratory examination.
107 $140 $250
Destruction of skin growth, 15 or more growths 99 $115 $250
Steroid injection (triamcinolone)
A 10 mg injection of triamcinolone acetonide, a corticosteroid medication. This code specifies the drug and dosage administered.
83 $1 $25
Additional skin growth biopsy
Removal of a sample of an additional skin growth for laboratory examination. This code is used for each extra lesion biopsied during the same session.
75 $47 $150
Calculation of radiation therapy dose 66 $61 $110
Simple radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the initial planning phase for radiation therapy treatment. It includes the setup and configuration required to prepare for delivering radiation to a specific area.
45 $60 $240
Design and construction of simple radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a simple radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or condition being treated.
39 $35 $75
Injection into skin growths, 1-7
A procedure involving the injection of medication into one to seven skin growths.
38 $41 $105
Destruction of cancerous skin growth, 2.1-3.0 cm
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of a cancerous skin lesion measuring between 2.1 and 3.0 centimeters located on the trunk, arms, or legs.
32 $172 $400
Shaving of skin growth, 1.1-2.0 cm
This procedure involves shaving off a skin growth measuring between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters from the body, arms, or legs.
31 $117 $210
Destruction of cancer skin growth, 1.1-2.0 cm
Removal of a cancerous skin growth on the trunk, arms, or legs that measures between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters.
29 $156 $350
Punch biopsy of first skin growth
A small, circular piece of skin is removed from a skin growth using a circular blade. The sample is then sent to a laboratory for examination.
24 $106 $200
Simple drainage of skin abscess
A minor procedure to drain a localized collection of pus from the skin. The abscess is opened to allow the fluid to escape and promote healing.
20 $88 $210
Incisional biopsy of additional skin growth
A surgical procedure to remove a small sample of tissue from an extra skin growth for laboratory examination.
20 $67 $200
Shaving of skin growth, 0.6-1.0 cm
A minor procedure to shave off a skin growth on the body, arms, or legs that measures between 0.6 and 1.0 centimeters.
19 $74 $200
Design and construction of complex radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a complex radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or conditions treated.
19 $116 $191
Eyelid biopsy
A procedure to remove a small sample of tissue from the eyelid for laboratory examination.
15 $155 $425
How to read this data: This reflects Medicare patients only (typically 65+). Payment amounts are what Medicare paid the provider, not your out-of-pocket cost. These counts do not measure clinical quality or years of experience.
0.9% high complexity
38.1% medium
61.0% routine

Industry Payment Transparency

Open Payments through 2024 ↗
$7,296
Total received (2018-2024)
Avg $1,042/year across 7 years
Top 10% in NJ for procedural dermatology physician
A higher payment rank reflects disclosed industry relationships (consulting, research, speaking) common among subspecialists — not wrongdoing.
46
Companies
282
Payment records
Payments are publicly reported; disclosure does not establish legality · Not evidence of wrongdoing · How to interpret →

Payment categories are unavailable while the source breakdown is being rebuilt. Company and year totals do not identify how much belongs to each category.

Payment trend by year

Annual totals from pharmaceutical and medical device companies.

2024
$1,894
2023
$1,859
2022
$604
2021
$141
2020
$304
2019
$1,655
2018
$840

Payments by company (2024)

Amgen Inc.
$454
Regeneron Healthcare Solutions, Inc.
$253
Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$231
E.R. Squibb & Sons, L.L.C.
$199
Verrica Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$178
GENZYME CORPORATION
$120
Galderma Laboratories, L.P.
$93
SUN PHARMACEUTICAL INDUSTRIES INC.
$77
Arcutis Biotherapeutics, Inc.
$67
Lilly USA, LLC
$63
Dermavant Sciences, Inc.
$45
ABBVIE INC.
$34
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
$27
Fidia Pharma USA Inc.
$23
Ortho Dermatologics, a division of Bausch Health US, LLC
$17
Incyte Corporation
$15
Top 3 companies account for 49.5% of 2024 payments
All-time payments by company (2018-2024) ›
Amgen Inc.
$1,070
Biofrontera Inc.
$552
Regeneron Healthcare Solutions, Inc.
$492
E.R. Squibb & Sons, L.L.C.
$392
Incyte Corporation
$376
Galderma Laboratories, L.P.
$330
LEO Pharma Inc.
$329
PFIZER INC.
$304
Lilly USA, LLC
$303
Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$264
Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Inc.
$261
Arcutis Biotherapeutics, Inc.
$213
AbbVie, Inc.
$209
Verrica Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$207
EPI Health, LLC
$173
Journey Medical Corporation
$170
Ortho Dermatologics, a division of Bausch Health US, LLC
$167
Mayne Pharma Inc.
$129
DUSA Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$122
GENZYME CORPORATION
$120
Kyowa Kirin, Inc.
$119
DERMIRA, INC.
$102
Almirall LLC
$99
Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$97
SUN PHARMACEUTICAL INDUSTRIES INC.
$77
Promius Pharma LLC
$71
Dermavant Sciences, Inc.
$60
Sandoz Inc.
$56
PruGen, Inc. Pharmaceuticals
$48
Celgene Corporation
$41
MAYNE PHARMA INC.
$41
Merck Sharp & Dohme Corporation
$39
ABBVIE INC.
$34
Encore Dermatology Inc.
$29
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
$27
Fidia Pharma USA Inc.
$23
Sebela Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$22
AbbVie Inc.
$20
Mission Pharmacal Company
$17
VYNE Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$16
Taro Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc.
$15
Glenmark Therapeutics Inc.
$14
Mylan Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$14
Novum Pharma, LLC
$13
Exeltis, USA Inc.
$12
Aclaris Therapeutics, Inc.
$12
Top 3 companies account for 29.0% of all-time payments
Associated products mentioned in payments ›
20% · ABSORICA · ABSORICA (isotretinoin) · ADBRY · AKLIEF · ALTRENO · AMELUZ · AMZEEQ · Absorica LD · Aczone · Alcortin A · Ameluz · BRYHALI · Bensal HP · CLODERM · Cabtreo · DORYX · DUPIXENT · ENSTILAR · EPIDUO FORTE · EUCRISA · FINACEA · Impoyz · JUBLIA · KERYDIN · LIBTAYO · Levulan Kerastick (aminolevulinic acid HCl) for Topical Solution · Mupirocin Cream · NAFTIN · OLUMIANT · ONEXTON · OPZELURA · ORACEA · Odomzo · Olux · Otezla · Poteligeo · Promiseb Complete · QBREXZA · RHOFADE · Recedo · SILIQ · SIVEXTRO · SOOLANTRA · SPEVIGO · Sernivo Spray · Seysara · Sitavig · Skyrizi · Sotyktu · TALTZ · TETRIX · TREMFYA · Trianex · ULTRAVATE (halobetasol propionate) lotion · VTAMA · Veltin · WYNZORA · Winlevi · XIMINO · Xolegel · YCANTH · Zoryve
Should you be concerned? Industry payments are disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their purpose, legality, or effect on care. What matters is whether a recommended drug or device appears in your doctor's payment records. If so, consider asking your doctor about it. How to interpret this data →
Looking for a procedural dermatology physician in Montvale?
Compare procedural dermatology physicians in the Montvale area by procedure volume, costs, and industry payment transparency.
Browse procedural dermatology physicians nearby

Geographic Context

Procedural dermatology physicians in nearby ZIP areas
62
County median income
$123,715
Nearest hospital to ZIP centroid (approximate)
HACKENSACK MERIDIAN HEALTH PASCACK VALLEY MEDICAL
4.3 mi

Data Sources

Provider Registry NPPES NPPES snapshot; verify current record
Medicare Enrollment PECOS PECOS snapshot
Practice Data Medicare Util. Annual (CY lag)
Industry Payments Open Payments CY 2024
Disciplinary History — Not included N/A

This provider has data in 4 of 4 available federal datasets, with a Data Coverage level of Very High. This reflects how much public data is available about a provider. How we calculate this →

Summary

Dr. Abeles is a clinical cardiology specialist, with above-average Medicare volume (top 8% in NJ), with 20 years of NPI registration.

This summary is auto-generated from federal data, describing data availability and patterns. Read our methodology →

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Dr. Abeles experienced with destruction of precancerous skin growths, 2-14?
Based on Medicare claims data, Dr. Abeles performed 3,474 destruction of precancerous skin growths, 2-14 services. These records cover Medicare fee-for-service activity, including eligible younger beneficiaries; they do not measure total practice volume or clinical quality.
Does Dr. Abeles receive payments from pharmaceutical companies?
Yes. Dr. Abeles received a total of $7,296 from 46 companies across 282 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their legality or effect on care. Patients may wish to ask their doctor about these relationships, especially if a recommended drug or device appears in the payment records.
How do Dr. Abeles's costs compare to other procedural dermatology physicians in Montvale?
Dr. Abeles's average Medicare payment per service is $82. Note that these figures represent what Medicare pays, not your out-of-pocket cost, which depends on your specific insurance plan and deductible. Procedure-level data above shows both what was submitted and what Medicare paid for each service type.
What does Data Coverage mean?
Data Coverage (currently Very High for Dr. Abeles) measures how much public federal data is available about a provider. It is not a quality rating. A "Very High" or "High" level means the provider has data across multiple federal sources (NPPES, PECOS, Medicare Utilization, Open Payments), indicating the presence of registry, enrollment, activity or payment records, not verified experience or clinical quality. A "Low" or "Moderate" level may simply mean the provider is newer, does not see Medicare patients, or has not received any industry payments — none of which are inherently negative. Read our full methodology →
Is this data up to date?
Source publication dates and the snapshots loaded on this site can differ. Rebuilding a page does not refresh its source records. Check the Medicare reporting year and the payment interval shown above; consult the linked official sources for newer releases and current registry details. See our data freshness policy →
About this page

This page combines public CMS records with calculated summaries and explanatory procedure labels. These transformations are not verbatim federal records. Sources: NPPES ↗, Open Payments ↗, Medicare Provider Utilization ↗, and PECOS. Publication is mandated by the Physician Payments Sunshine Act (§6002 ACA, 42 U.S.C. §1320a-7h) and the Freedom of Information Act.

This page is not medical advice, an endorsement, a recommendation, or a quality rating. Data Coverage reflects data completeness — how much federal information exists for this provider — not clinical performance, patient outcomes, or quality of care. Always verify information directly with the provider and consult a licensed clinician before making medical decisions.

Provider corrections: Provider portal · Privacy questions: Privacy Policy · Terms: Terms of Use · Methodology: Methodology

Data Disclaimer — Data sourced from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS): National Plan and Provider Enumeration System (NPPES), Open Payments program, Medicare Provider Utilization and Payment Data, and Provider Enrollment & Certification data (PECOS). Published under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). This website is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by CMS, HHS, or the U.S. Government. Data may contain errors as reported to CMS by providers and reporting entities. Industry payment disclosure alone establishes neither wrongdoing nor legality. Medicare data reflects only patients aged 65+ or those with qualifying disabilities. For corrections, contact CMS directly. This information does not constitute medical advice and should not be used as the sole basis for choosing a healthcare provider. Procedure descriptions use plain language and do not reference CPT® codes, which are copyrighted by the American Medical Association. Full methodology → · Report a data error → · Privacy policy →