Medicare Enrolled

Dr. Brian Baumann, MD

Radiology - Diagnostic · Springfield, IL
Practice pattern: Clinical Cardiology — Primarily office-based clinical cardiology
301 N 8TH ST, Springfield, IL 62701
2175287541
Registered in NPPES since 2012
NPI: 1841559945 verify on NPPES ↗
Very High
DATA COVERAGE
Data in 4 of 4 federal sources
Measures public federal data availability — not provider quality
Informational, not a quality rating. This page presents federal public records about Dr. Baumann from CMS (NPPES, Open Payments, Medicare Provider Utilization, PECOS). It is not medical advice, an endorsement, or a judgment of clinical quality. Always consult the provider directly and a licensed clinician for medical decisions. Read methodology →
Are you Dr. Baumann? Request a correction or review of any data shown here. Provider portal →

What this data tells you about Dr. Baumann

Dr. Brian Baumann is a radiology - diagnostic specialist in Springfield, IL, with 14 years of NPI registration. Based on federal Medicare data, Dr. Baumann performed 1,952 Medicare services in 2023. These records do not provide a deduplicated patient total.

Between the years covered by Open Payments, Dr. Baumann received a total of $195,706 from 20 pharmaceutical and/or device companies across 113 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly reported through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their effect on care. A reliable breakdown by payment category is not available in this snapshot. Patients may wish to discuss these relationships with their provider.

The Data Coverage level for Dr. Baumann is Very High — reflecting how much public federal data is available about this provider. Patients are encouraged to use this data as one of several factors when choosing a healthcare provider.

✓ 14 years of NPI registration ▲ Top 38% volume in IL $195,706 industry payments

Medicare Practice Summary — 2023

Medicare Utilization ↗
1,952
Medicare services
Top 38% in IL for radiology - diagnostic
Not available
Unique patients (not deduplicated)
$103
Avg. Medicare payment
Medicare patients only (65+ / disabled) · How to read this →

Top procedures by volume

Ranked by number of services performed for Medicare patients. Avg. submitted charge is what the provider billed; avg. Medicare payment is what CMS paid.

Procedure Volume Avg. paid Avg. submitted
CT guidance for radiation therapy
This procedure uses computed tomography imaging to guide the precise placement of radiation therapy fields. It ensures accurate positioning for targeted treatment delivery.
780 $35 $425
Calculation of radiation therapy dose 276 $26 $277
Radiation treatment management, 5 sessions
Oversight and management of a radiation therapy course consisting of five treatment sessions.
158 $152 $1,699
New patient office visit, complex (60-74 min) 81 $162 $914
High precision radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the detailed planning and setup required for delivering high-precision radiation therapy to a target area of the body.
65 $330 $4,807
Design and construction of radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a device used for high precision radiation therapy. It does not include the actual administration of radiation treatment.
65 $178 $1,936
Leuprolide acetate (for depot suspension), 7.5 mg 63 $130 $2,539
Office visit, established patient (20-29 min)
An office visit for an existing patient lasting between 20 and 29 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
61 $50 $218
Complex radiation therapy planning 59 $133 $1,443
Design and construction of complex radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a complex radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or conditions treated.
57 $45 $713
Implantable tissue marker, each
A small marker is implanted into tissue to serve as a reference point for future medical imaging or procedures.
54 $267 $340
Design and construction of simple radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a simple radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or condition being treated.
43 $19 $280
Office visit, established patient, complex (40-54 min)
An office or outpatient visit for an existing patient lasting between 40 and 54 minutes. This level of service is determined by the total time spent on the date of the encounter.
35 $135 $760
Prostate radiation therapy device placement
A device is placed in the prostate to facilitate radiation therapy. This procedure involves positioning the device to aid in the delivery of radiation treatment.
32 $56 $557
Ultrasound guidance for needle placement
Use of ultrasound imaging to guide the precise placement of a needle during a medical procedure.
28 $27 $1,071
Special radiation treatment 26 $85 $2,103
Office visit, established patient (30-39 min)
A follow-up office visit for an existing patient lasting between 30 and 39 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
25 $71 $361
Injection of biodegradable material next to prostate
A procedure involving the injection of a biodegradable substance into the tissue surrounding the prostate gland.
19 $2,169 $15,753
Fractionated radiation therapy for cranial lesion
Treatment using radiation delivered in multiple sessions to manage a lesion in the head.
14 $511 $4,897
Subcutaneous or intramuscular chemotherapy injection
This procedure involves administering anti-cancer hormonal medication through an injection into the tissue under the skin or into a muscle.
11 $26 $149
How to read this data: This reflects Medicare patients only (typically 65+). Payment amounts are what Medicare paid the provider, not your out-of-pocket cost. These counts do not measure clinical quality or years of experience.

Industry Payment Transparency

Open Payments through 2024 ↗
$195,706
Total received (2018-2024)
Avg $27,958/year across 7 years
Top 1% in IL for radiology - diagnostic
A higher payment rank reflects disclosed industry relationships (consulting, research, speaking) common among subspecialists — not wrongdoing.
20
Companies
113
Payment records
Payments are publicly reported; disclosure does not establish legality · Not evidence of wrongdoing · How to interpret →

Payment categories are unavailable while the source breakdown is being rebuilt. Company and year totals do not identify how much belongs to each category.

Payment trend by year

Annual totals from pharmaceutical and medical device companies.

2024
$34,740
2023
$125,682
2022
$12,753
2021
$15,828
2020
$5,085
2019
$662
2018
$955

Payments by company (2024)

Boston Scientific Corporation
$30,337
Siemens Medical Solutions USA, Inc.
$4,360
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
$23
ABBVIE INC.
$21
Top 3 companies account for 99.9% of 2024 payments
All-time payments by company (2018-2024) ›
Boston Scientific Corporation
$94,552
Siemens Medical Solutions USA, Inc.
$70,946
BOSTON SCIENTIFIC CORPORATION
$7,918
Regeneron Healthcare Solutions, Inc.
$6,930
Myovant Sciences Inc.
$4,850
Mevion_Medical_Systems_Inc
$3,000
NOVARTIS PHARMACEUTICALS CORPORATION
$2,900
Blue Earth Diagnostics Limited
$2,100
Merck Sharp & Dohme Corporation
$1,065
Augmenix, Inc.
$800
Bayer HealthCare Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$137
Janssen Scientific Affairs, LLC
$125
Theragenics Corporation
$111
Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$103
Civatech Oncology, Inc.
$78
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
$23
ABBVIE INC.
$21
AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals LP
$19
Tolmar, Inc.
$15
Cumberland Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$13
Top 3 companies account for 88.6% of all-time payments
Associated products mentioned in payments ›
ELIGARD · Erleada · Ethyol · GENERAL BPH · GENERAL THERAPIES · GENERAL PAIN MANAGEMENT · General - Oncology · KEYTRUDA · LIBTAYO · LUPRON DEPOT · LUTATHERA · ORGOVYX · PLUVICTO · POSLUMA · PTS250 · SPACEOAR VUE · SpaceOAR · SpaceOAR System · SpaceOAR VUE System - 10mL · TAGRISSO · Xofigo
Should you be concerned? Industry payments are disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their purpose, legality, or effect on care. What matters is whether a recommended drug or device appears in your doctor's payment records. If so, consider asking your doctor about it. How to interpret this data →
Looking for a radiology - diagnostic specialist in Springfield?
Compare radiology - diagnostics in the Springfield area by procedure volume, costs, and industry payment transparency.
Browse radiology - diagnostics nearby

Geographic Context

Radiology - diagnostics in nearby ZIP areas
2
County median income
$74,114
Nearest hospital to ZIP centroid (approximate)
MEMORIAL MEDICAL CENTER
1.7 mi

Data Sources

Provider Registry NPPES NPPES snapshot; verify current record
Medicare Enrollment PECOS PECOS snapshot
Practice Data Medicare Util. Annual (CY lag)
Industry Payments Open Payments CY 2024
Disciplinary History — Not included N/A

This provider has data in 4 of 4 available federal datasets, with a Data Coverage level of Very High. This reflects how much public data is available about a provider. How we calculate this →

Summary

Dr. Baumann is a clinical cardiology specialist, with moderate Medicare volume.

This summary is auto-generated from federal data, describing data availability and patterns. Read our methodology →

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Dr. Baumann experienced with ct guidance for radiation therapy?
Based on Medicare claims data, Dr. Baumann performed 780 ct guidance for radiation therapy services. These records cover Medicare fee-for-service activity, including eligible younger beneficiaries; they do not measure total practice volume or clinical quality.
Does Dr. Baumann receive payments from pharmaceutical companies?
Yes. Dr. Baumann received a total of $195,706 from 20 companies across 113 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their legality or effect on care. Patients may wish to ask their doctor about these relationships, especially if a recommended drug or device appears in the payment records.
How do Dr. Baumann's costs compare to other radiology - diagnostics in Springfield?
Dr. Baumann's average Medicare payment per service is $103. Note that these figures represent what Medicare pays, not your out-of-pocket cost, which depends on your specific insurance plan and deductible. Procedure-level data above shows both what was submitted and what Medicare paid for each service type.
What does Data Coverage mean?
Data Coverage (currently Very High for Dr. Baumann) measures how much public federal data is available about a provider. It is not a quality rating. A "Very High" or "High" level means the provider has data across multiple federal sources (NPPES, PECOS, Medicare Utilization, Open Payments), indicating the presence of registry, enrollment, activity or payment records, not verified experience or clinical quality. A "Low" or "Moderate" level may simply mean the provider is newer, does not see Medicare patients, or has not received any industry payments — none of which are inherently negative. Read our full methodology →
Is this data up to date?
Source publication dates and the snapshots loaded on this site can differ. Rebuilding a page does not refresh its source records. Check the Medicare reporting year and the payment interval shown above; consult the linked official sources for newer releases and current registry details. See our data freshness policy →
About this page

This page combines public CMS records with calculated summaries and explanatory procedure labels. These transformations are not verbatim federal records. Sources: NPPES ↗, Open Payments ↗, Medicare Provider Utilization ↗, and PECOS. Publication is mandated by the Physician Payments Sunshine Act (§6002 ACA, 42 U.S.C. §1320a-7h) and the Freedom of Information Act.

This page is not medical advice, an endorsement, a recommendation, or a quality rating. Data Coverage reflects data completeness — how much federal information exists for this provider — not clinical performance, patient outcomes, or quality of care. Always verify information directly with the provider and consult a licensed clinician before making medical decisions.

Provider corrections: Provider portal · Privacy questions: Privacy Policy · Terms: Terms of Use · Methodology: Methodology

Data Disclaimer — Data sourced from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS): National Plan and Provider Enumeration System (NPPES), Open Payments program, Medicare Provider Utilization and Payment Data, and Provider Enrollment & Certification data (PECOS). Published under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). This website is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by CMS, HHS, or the U.S. Government. Data may contain errors as reported to CMS by providers and reporting entities. Industry payment disclosure alone establishes neither wrongdoing nor legality. Medicare data reflects only patients aged 65+ or those with qualifying disabilities. For corrections, contact CMS directly. This information does not constitute medical advice and should not be used as the sole basis for choosing a healthcare provider. Procedure descriptions use plain language and do not reference CPT® codes, which are copyrighted by the American Medical Association. Full methodology → · Report a data error → · Privacy policy →