Medicare Enrolled

Dr. Susan Schaberg, M.D.

Dermatology · Carbondale, IL
Practice pattern: Clinical Cardiology — Primarily office-based clinical cardiology
2601 W MAIN ST, Carbondale, IL 62901
6185495361
Registered in NPPES since 2006
NPI: 1609844927 verify on NPPES ↗
Very High
DATA COVERAGE
Data in 4 of 4 federal sources
Measures public federal data availability — not provider quality
Informational, not a quality rating. This page presents federal public records about Dr. Schaberg from CMS (NPPES, Open Payments, Medicare Provider Utilization, PECOS). It is not medical advice, an endorsement, or a judgment of clinical quality. Always consult the provider directly and a licensed clinician for medical decisions. Read methodology →
Are you Dr. Schaberg? Request a correction or review of any data shown here. Provider portal →

What this data tells you about Dr. Schaberg

Dr. Susan Schaberg is a dermatology specialist in Carbondale, IL, with 20 years of NPI registration. Based on federal Medicare data, Dr. Schaberg performed 10,367 Medicare services in 2023. These records do not provide a deduplicated patient total.

Between the years covered by Open Payments, Dr. Schaberg received a total of $20,276 from 45 pharmaceutical and/or device companies across 1444 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly reported through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their effect on care. A reliable breakdown by payment category is not available in this snapshot. Patients may wish to discuss these relationships with their provider.

The Data Coverage level for Dr. Schaberg is Very High — reflecting how much public federal data is available about this provider. Patients are encouraged to use this data as one of several factors when choosing a healthcare provider.

✓ 20 years of NPI registration ▲ Top 5% volume in IL $20,276 industry payments

Medicare Practice Summary — 2023

Medicare Utilization ↗
10,367
Medicare services
Top 5% in IL for dermatology
Not available
Unique patients (not deduplicated)
$80
Avg. Medicare payment
Medicare patients only (65+ / disabled) · How to read this →

Top procedures by volume

Ranked by number of services performed for Medicare patients. Avg. submitted charge is what the provider billed; avg. Medicare payment is what CMS paid.

Procedure Volume Avg. paid Avg. submitted
Destruction of precancerous skin growths, 2-14
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of two to fourteen precancerous skin lesions. It is performed to eliminate abnormal skin cells that have the potential to develop into cancer.
2,049 $5 $15
Ultrasound guidance for radiation therapy field placement
Use of ultrasound imaging to help position radiation therapy fields accurately during treatment.
1,469 $137 $273
Radiation treatment planning, 1 area
This procedure involves gathering the necessary data to design the most effective radiation therapy plan for a single treatment area.
1,411 $206 $423
Superficial or low voltage radiation treatment
A radiation therapy procedure that delivers radiation to the surface of the body or uses low voltage energy. This treatment targets areas close to the skin.
1,365 $31 $93
Office visit, established patient (20-29 min)
An office visit for an existing patient lasting between 20 and 29 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
1,069 $61 $122
Destruction of precancerous skin growth, 1
Removal of a single precancerous skin growth. This procedure destroys abnormal skin cells to prevent them from developing into cancer.
800 $44 $100
Office visit, established patient (30-39 min)
A follow-up office visit for an existing patient lasting between 30 and 39 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
645 $83 $212
Skin biopsy, tangential
A procedure to remove a sample of the first identified skin growth for laboratory examination.
268 $74 $150
New patient office visit (30-44 min)
An initial office visit for a new patient lasting between 30 and 44 minutes. This code is used when the total time spent on the date of the encounter falls within this range.
223 $69 $175
Radiation treatment management, 5 sessions
Oversight and management of a radiation therapy course consisting of five treatment sessions.
207 $156 $257
New patient office visit (45-59 min)
An initial office visit for a new patient lasting between 45 and 59 minutes. This code covers the total time spent by the physician or qualified healthcare professional on the date of the encounter.
203 $113 $260
Continuing radiation therapy consultation per week
A weekly consultation to review and manage ongoing radiation therapy treatment.
174 $67 $150
Calculation of radiation therapy dose 89 $52 $105
Destruction of skin growths (warts/lesions), 1-14
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of one to fourteen skin growths. It is a minor surgical intervention performed on the skin surface.
74 $74 $160
Destruction of 15 or more precancerous skin growths
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of fifteen or more precancerous skin lesions. It is performed to treat abnormal skin cells that have the potential to develop into cancer.
72 $125 $300
Additional skin growth biopsy
Removal of a sample of an additional skin growth for laboratory examination. This code is used for each extra lesion biopsied during the same session.
71 $39 $75
Simple radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the initial planning phase for radiation therapy treatment. It includes the setup and configuration required to prepare for delivering radiation to a specific area.
57 $55 $85
Design and construction of simple radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a simple radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or condition being treated.
53 $30 $42
Ear tissue biopsy
A procedure to remove a small sample of tissue from the ear for laboratory examination.
23 $65 $200
Design and construction of complex radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a complex radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or conditions treated.
21 $98 $144
Office visit, established patient (10-19 min)
An office visit for an existing patient lasting 10 to 19 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
13 $45 $80
New patient office visit, 15-29 minutes
An initial office visit for a new patient lasting 15 to 29 minutes. This code is used when the total time spent on the date of the encounter meets this duration threshold.
11 $53 $150
How to read this data: This reflects Medicare patients only (typically 65+). Payment amounts are what Medicare paid the provider, not your out-of-pocket cost. These counts do not measure clinical quality or years of experience.

Industry Payment Transparency

Open Payments through 2024 ↗
$20,276
Total received (2018-2024)
Avg $2,897/year across 7 years
Top 11% in IL for dermatology
A higher payment rank reflects disclosed industry relationships (consulting, research, speaking) common among subspecialists — not wrongdoing.
45
Companies
1,444
Payment records
Payments are publicly reported; disclosure does not establish legality · Not evidence of wrongdoing · How to interpret →

Payment categories are unavailable while the source breakdown is being rebuilt. Company and year totals do not identify how much belongs to each category.

Payment trend by year

Annual totals from pharmaceutical and medical device companies.

2024
$3,313
2023
$3,233
2022
$2,624
2021
$2,691
2020
$2,243
2019
$2,954
2018
$3,218

Payments by company (2024)

ABBVIE INC.
$439
Amgen Inc.
$417
Lilly USA, LLC
$304
Incyte Corporation
$282
E.R. Squibb & Sons, L.L.C.
$262
Dermavant Sciences, Inc.
$243
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
$235
Arcutis Biotherapeutics, Inc.
$217
Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$183
UCB, Inc.
$175
Galderma Laboratories, L.P.
$143
LEO Pharma Inc.
$97
GENZYME CORPORATION
$49
Organon Llc
$47
Regeneron Healthcare Solutions, Inc.
$47
PFIZER INC.
$37
Almirall LLC
$36
MAYNE PHARMA COMMERCIAL LLC
$34
Biofrontera Inc.
$32
Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$20
Journey Medical Corporation
$15
Top 3 companies account for 35.0% of 2024 payments
All-time payments by company (2018-2024) ›
Amgen Inc.
$2,090
Galderma Laboratories, L.P.
$1,722
LEO Pharma Inc.
$1,349
Lilly USA, LLC
$1,298
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
$1,015
PFIZER INC.
$991
Mayne Pharma Inc.
$914
AbbVie Inc.
$825
Incyte Corporation
$790
Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$763
Dermavant Sciences, Inc.
$748
Journey Medical Corporation
$734
Ortho Dermatologics, a division of Bausch Health US, LLC
$716
ABBVIE INC.
$707
UCB, Inc.
$622
Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Inc.
$509
E.R. Squibb & Sons, L.L.C.
$497
Arcutis Biotherapeutics, Inc.
$492
MAYNE PHARMA INC.
$467
AbbVie, Inc.
$374
Sandoz Inc.
$329
Regeneron Healthcare Solutions, Inc.
$316
SUN PHARMACEUTICAL INDUSTRIES INC.
$309
Celgene Corporation
$258
GENZYME CORPORATION
$209
Biofrontera Inc.
$191
Taro Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc.
$169
PruGen, Inc. Pharmaceuticals
$137
Almirall LLC
$124
Mylan Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$108
EPI Health, LLC
$71
MAYNE PHARMA COMMERCIAL LLC
$63
NOVARTIS PHARMACEUTICALS CORPORATION
$58
Organon Llc
$47
Encore Dermatology Inc.
$38
Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$34
VYNE Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$34
TARO PHARMACEUTICALS USA, INC.
$30
Sensus Healthcare, Inc.
$27
Bayer HealthCare Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$25
DUSA Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$23
Paratek Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$16
DERMIRA, INC.
$15
STRATA Skin Sciences, Inc.
$12
Mission Pharmacal Company
$11
Top 3 companies account for 25.5% of all-time payments
Associated products mentioned in payments ›
0.25% · 20% · ABSORICA · ABSORICA (isotretinoin) · ABSORICA LD · ADBRY · AKLIEF · ALTRENO · AMELUZ · APEXICON E · ARAZLO · Absorica LD · Ameluz · Avar · BIAFINE · BLU-U Blue Light Photodynamic Therapy Illuminator Model 4170 · BRYHALI · Bimzelx · CIBINQO · CLODERM · COSENTYX · CYLTEZO · Ceracade · Cimzia · Clindamycin Phosphate and Benzoyl Peroxide · DORYX · DUOBRII · DUPIXENT · DUPIXENT DUPILUMAB INJECTION · Dermatological Psoriasis and Vitiligo Treatment · EBGLYSS · EFUDEX · ELIDEL · EPIDUO FORTE · EPSOLAY · EUCRISA · Enbrel · Exelderm · FABIOR · FINACEA · Finacea · HADLIMA · HALOG (Halcinonide Cream · HALOG OINTMENT (Halcinonide Ointment · HUMIRA · Humira · ILUMYA · Ilumya · Impoyz · JUBLIA · JUBLIA EFINACONAZOLE · KERYDIN · Klisyri · LIBTAYO · Levulan Kerastick (aminolevulinic acid HCl) for Topical Solution · NUZYRA · OLUMIANT · ONEXTON · OPZELURA · ORACEA · Olux · Otezla · PICATO · QBREXZA · REMICADE · RETIN-A-MICRO · RINVOQ · SILIQ · SKYRIZI · SOOLANTRA · Seysara · Skyrizi · Sotyktu · TALTZ · TOPICORT (desoximetasone) Topical Spray · TREMFYA · TRILUMA · TargaDox · Tremfya · ULTRAVATE · ULTRAVATE (halobetasol propionate) lotion · USP) 0.1% · VTAMA · WYNZORA · Winlevi · ZILXI · Zoryve
Should you be concerned? Industry payments are disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their purpose, legality, or effect on care. What matters is whether a recommended drug or device appears in your doctor's payment records. If so, consider asking your doctor about it. How to interpret this data →
Looking for a dermatology specialist in Carbondale?
Compare dermatologists in the Carbondale area by procedure volume, costs, and industry payment transparency.
Browse dermatologists nearby

Geographic Context

Dermatologists in nearby ZIP areas
6
County median income
$45,572
Nearest hospital to ZIP centroid (approximate)
MEMORIAL HOSPITAL OF CARBONDALE
0.0 mi

Data Sources

Provider Registry NPPES NPPES snapshot; verify current record
Medicare Enrollment PECOS PECOS snapshot
Practice Data Medicare Util. Annual (CY lag)
Industry Payments Open Payments CY 2024
Disciplinary History — Not included N/A

This provider has data in 4 of 4 available federal datasets, with a Data Coverage level of Very High. This reflects how much public data is available about a provider. How we calculate this →

Summary

Dr. Schaberg is a clinical cardiology specialist, with above-average Medicare volume (top 5% in IL), with 20 years of NPI registration.

This summary is auto-generated from federal data, describing data availability and patterns. Read our methodology →

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Dr. Schaberg experienced with destruction of precancerous skin growths, 2-14?
Based on Medicare claims data, Dr. Schaberg performed 2,049 destruction of precancerous skin growths, 2-14 services. These records cover Medicare fee-for-service activity, including eligible younger beneficiaries; they do not measure total practice volume or clinical quality.
Does Dr. Schaberg receive payments from pharmaceutical companies?
Yes. Dr. Schaberg received a total of $20,276 from 45 companies across 1,444 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their legality or effect on care. Patients may wish to ask their doctor about these relationships, especially if a recommended drug or device appears in the payment records.
How do Dr. Schaberg's costs compare to other dermatologists in Carbondale?
Dr. Schaberg's average Medicare payment per service is $80. Note that these figures represent what Medicare pays, not your out-of-pocket cost, which depends on your specific insurance plan and deductible. Procedure-level data above shows both what was submitted and what Medicare paid for each service type.
What does Data Coverage mean?
Data Coverage (currently Very High for Dr. Schaberg) measures how much public federal data is available about a provider. It is not a quality rating. A "Very High" or "High" level means the provider has data across multiple federal sources (NPPES, PECOS, Medicare Utilization, Open Payments), indicating the presence of registry, enrollment, activity or payment records, not verified experience or clinical quality. A "Low" or "Moderate" level may simply mean the provider is newer, does not see Medicare patients, or has not received any industry payments — none of which are inherently negative. Read our full methodology →
Is this data up to date?
Source publication dates and the snapshots loaded on this site can differ. Rebuilding a page does not refresh its source records. Check the Medicare reporting year and the payment interval shown above; consult the linked official sources for newer releases and current registry details. See our data freshness policy →
About this page

This page combines public CMS records with calculated summaries and explanatory procedure labels. These transformations are not verbatim federal records. Sources: NPPES ↗, Open Payments ↗, Medicare Provider Utilization ↗, and PECOS. Publication is mandated by the Physician Payments Sunshine Act (§6002 ACA, 42 U.S.C. §1320a-7h) and the Freedom of Information Act.

This page is not medical advice, an endorsement, a recommendation, or a quality rating. Data Coverage reflects data completeness — how much federal information exists for this provider — not clinical performance, patient outcomes, or quality of care. Always verify information directly with the provider and consult a licensed clinician before making medical decisions.

Provider corrections: Provider portal · Privacy questions: Privacy Policy · Terms: Terms of Use · Methodology: Methodology

Data Disclaimer — Data sourced from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS): National Plan and Provider Enumeration System (NPPES), Open Payments program, Medicare Provider Utilization and Payment Data, and Provider Enrollment & Certification data (PECOS). Published under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). This website is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by CMS, HHS, or the U.S. Government. Data may contain errors as reported to CMS by providers and reporting entities. Industry payment disclosure alone establishes neither wrongdoing nor legality. Medicare data reflects only patients aged 65+ or those with qualifying disabilities. For corrections, contact CMS directly. This information does not constitute medical advice and should not be used as the sole basis for choosing a healthcare provider. Procedure descriptions use plain language and do not reference CPT® codes, which are copyrighted by the American Medical Association. Full methodology → · Report a data error → · Privacy policy →