Medicare Enrolled

Dr. Vikram Khanna, MD

Dermatology · Algonquin, IL
Practice pattern: Clinical Cardiology — Primarily office-based clinical cardiology
2430 ESPLANADE DRIVE, Algonquin, IL 60102
8474587546
Registered in NPPES since 2006
NPI: 1598824732 verify on NPPES ↗
Very High
DATA COVERAGE
Data in 4 of 4 federal sources
Measures public federal data availability — not provider quality
Informational, not a quality rating. This page presents federal public records about Dr. Khanna from CMS (NPPES, Open Payments, Medicare Provider Utilization, PECOS). It is not medical advice, an endorsement, or a judgment of clinical quality. Always consult the provider directly and a licensed clinician for medical decisions. Read methodology →
Are you Dr. Khanna? Request a correction or review of any data shown here. Provider portal →

What this data tells you about Dr. Khanna

Dr. Vikram Khanna is a dermatology specialist in Algonquin, IL, with 19 years of NPI registration. Based on federal Medicare data, Dr. Khanna performed 19,853 Medicare services in 2023. These records do not provide a deduplicated patient total.

Between the years covered by Open Payments, Dr. Khanna received a total of $19,673 from 49 pharmaceutical and/or device companies across 801 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly reported through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their effect on care. A reliable breakdown by payment category is not available in this snapshot. Patients may wish to discuss these relationships with their provider.

The Data Coverage level for Dr. Khanna is Very High — reflecting how much public federal data is available about this provider. Patients are encouraged to use this data as one of several factors when choosing a healthcare provider.

✓ 19 years of NPI registration ▲ Top 1% volume in IL $19,673 industry payments

Medicare Practice Summary — 2023

Medicare Utilization ↗
19,853
Medicare services
Top 1% in IL for dermatology
Not available
Unique patients (not deduplicated)
$97
Avg. Medicare payment
Medicare patients only (65+ / disabled) · How to read this →

Top procedures by volume

Ranked by number of services performed for Medicare patients. Avg. submitted charge is what the provider billed; avg. Medicare payment is what CMS paid.

Procedure Volume Avg. paid Avg. submitted
Ultrasound guidance for radiation therapy field placement
Use of ultrasound imaging to help position radiation therapy fields accurately during treatment.
2,798 $153 $384
Radiation treatment planning, 1 area
This procedure involves gathering the necessary data to design the most effective radiation therapy plan for a single treatment area.
2,563 $231 $576
Superficial or low voltage radiation treatment
A radiation therapy procedure that delivers radiation to the surface of the body or uses low voltage energy. This treatment targets areas close to the skin.
2,488 $35 $88
Tissue pathology examination, moderate complexity
A laboratory test where a pathologist examines tissue samples under a microscope to analyze cellular details. This intermediate complexity procedure involves specialized techniques to identify abnormalities in the tissue.
2,394 $30 $75
Destruction of precancerous skin growths, 2-14
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of two to fourteen precancerous skin lesions. It is performed to eliminate abnormal skin cells that have the potential to develop into cancer.
2,378 $5 $14
Office visit, established patient (20-29 min)
An office visit for an existing patient lasting between 20 and 29 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
1,485 $64 $185
Destruction of precancerous skin growth, 1
Removal of a single precancerous skin growth. This procedure destroys abnormal skin cells to prevent them from developing into cancer.
691 $41 $137
UV therapy with tar or petroleum jelly
A treatment using ultraviolet radiation combined with the application of tar or petroleum jelly to the skin.
687 $100 $253
Skin biopsy, tangential
A procedure to remove a sample of the first identified skin growth for laboratory examination.
458 $72 $207
Radiation treatment management, 5 sessions
Oversight and management of a radiation therapy course consisting of five treatment sessions.
402 $162 $404
Continuing radiation therapy consultation per week
A weekly consultation to review and manage ongoing radiation therapy treatment.
372 $74 $187
Office visit, established patient (10-19 min)
An office visit for an existing patient lasting 10 to 19 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
302 $44 $117
New patient office visit (30-44 min)
An initial office visit for a new patient lasting between 30 and 44 minutes. This code is used when the total time spent on the date of the encounter falls within this range.
242 $71 $228
Skin growth removal and lab exam, 1-5 blocks
This procedure involves the removal of a growth from the head, neck, hands, feet, or genitals. The removed tissue is then examined under a microscope in the laboratory.
194 $538 $1,453
Additional skin growth biopsy
Removal of a sample of an additional skin growth for laboratory examination. This code is used for each extra lesion biopsied during the same session.
182 $41 $103
Calculation of radiation therapy dose 169 $56 $140
Pathology tissue examination, moderate complexity
A laboratory test where a pathologist examines tissue samples under a microscope to identify abnormalities. This specific level indicates a moderate degree of complexity in the analysis.
162 $9 $24
Removal and microscopic exam of growth of head, neck, hands, feet, or genitals, each additional stage, 1-5 tissue blocks 156 $354 $883
Office visit, established patient (30-39 min)
A follow-up office visit for an existing patient lasting between 30 and 39 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
153 $91 $261
Destruction of skin growths (warts/lesions), 1-14
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of one to fourteen skin growths. It is a minor surgical intervention performed on the skin surface.
128 $82 $234
Design and construction of simple radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a simple radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or condition being treated.
113 $33 $81
Steroid injection (triamcinolone)
A 10 mg injection of triamcinolone acetonide, a corticosteroid medication. This code specifies the drug and dosage administered.
86 $1 $2
Simple radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the initial planning phase for radiation therapy treatment. It includes the setup and configuration required to prepare for delivering radiation to a specific area.
81 $59 $148
Complicated wound repair, 2.6-7.5 cm
A complex surgical procedure to close a wound measuring between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters on areas such as the face, neck, hands, or feet.
79 $211 $1,014
Skin substitute graft application, 25 sq cm or less
Application of a skin substitute graft to a wound on the face, scalp, eyelids, mouth, neck, ears, around eyes, genitals, hands, feet, fingers, or toes. The wound area covered is 25.0 square centimeters or less.
72 $115 $319
Intermediate wound repair, 2.6-7.5 cm
A medical procedure to close a wound on the scalp, underarms, trunk, arms, or legs that measures between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters. This type of repair involves cleaning the wound and stitching it closed to promote healing.
71 $235 $644
Skin growth shaving, 0.5 cm or less
This procedure involves shaving off a small skin growth measuring 0.5 centimeters or less from the body, arms, or legs.
56 $59 $205
Shaving of skin growth, 0.6-1.0 cm
A minor procedure to shave off a skin growth on the body, arms, or legs that measures between 0.6 and 1.0 centimeters.
53 $78 $254
New patient office visit, 15-29 minutes
An initial office visit for a new patient lasting 15 to 29 minutes. This code is used when the total time spent on the date of the encounter meets this duration threshold.
53 $53 $146
Destruction of 15 or more precancerous skin growths
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of fifteen or more precancerous skin lesions. It is performed to treat abnormal skin cells that have the potential to develop into cancer.
52 $134 $351
Surgical removal of skin cancer, 1.1-2.0 cm
Surgical excision of a cancerous skin growth measuring between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters on the body, arms, or legs.
46 $108 $517
Injection into skin growths, 1-7
A procedure involving the injection of medication into one to seven skin growths.
46 $37 $115
New patient office visit (45-59 min)
An initial office visit for a new patient lasting between 45 and 59 minutes. This code covers the total time spent by the physician or qualified healthcare professional on the date of the encounter.
44 $107 $341
Complicated wound repair, scalp/arms/legs, 2.6-7.5 cm
A complex surgical procedure to close a wound on the scalp, arms, or legs that measures between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters in length.
43 $217 $911
Drug injection, under skin or into muscle
A procedure involving the administration of a medication or substance via injection into the subcutaneous tissue or muscle.
31 $10 $29
Shaving of small skin growth on face or mouth area
A minor procedure to shave off a small skin growth, measuring 0.5 cm or less, located on the face, ears, eyelids, nose, lips, or mouth.
30 $78 $240
Skin growth removal and lab exam, 1-5 blocks
A procedure to remove a growth from the trunk, arms, or legs and send 1 to 5 tissue samples to a laboratory for microscopic examination.
30 $529 $1,362
Punch biopsy of first skin growth
A small, circular piece of skin is removed from a skin growth using a circular blade. The sample is then sent to a laboratory for examination.
29 $92 $261
Intermediate wound repair, 2.5 cm or less
This procedure involves stitching a wound on the scalp, underarms, trunk, arms, or legs that is 2.5 centimeters or smaller. It includes cleaning the wound and closing it with sutures to promote healing.
26 $206 $551
Design and construction of intermediate radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of an intermediate radiation treatment device. It does not specify a particular clinical purpose or condition.
26 $116 $285
Ear tissue biopsy
A procedure to remove a small sample of tissue from the ear for laboratory examination.
25 $49 $197
Shaving of skin growth, 0.5 cm or less
Removal of a small skin growth by shaving it off the surface. This procedure is performed on the scalp, neck, hands, feet, or genitals.
24 $63 $217
Intermediate radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the intermediate-level planning for radiation therapy treatment.
24 $91 $227
Radiation treatment planning, 2 areas
This procedure involves gathering the necessary data to design the most effective radiation therapy plan for two distinct treatment areas.
24 $372 $942
Destruction of cancer skin growth, 0.6-1.0 cm
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of a cancerous skin growth located on the trunk, arms, or legs that measures between 0.6 and 1.0 centimeters.
23 $86 $299
Destruction of cancer skin growth, 1.1-2.0 cm
Removal of a cancerous skin growth on the trunk, arms, or legs that measures between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters.
23 $130 $375
Complex wound repair, 1.1-2.5 cm
A surgical procedure to close a complex wound measuring between 1.1 and 2.5 centimeters on areas such as the face, neck, hands, or feet.
22 $168 $836
Shaving of skin growth on face, 0.6-1.0 cm
This procedure involves shaving off a skin growth located on the face, ears, eyelids, nose, lips, or mouth. The size of the growth being removed is between 0.6 and 1.0 centimeters.
21 $100 $277
Complex repair of eyelid, nose, ear, or lip wound, 1.1-2.5 cm
A surgical procedure to repair a complex wound on the eyelid, nose, ear, or lip that measures between 1.1 and 2.5 centimeters.
21 $180 $913
Design and construction of complex radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a complex radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or conditions treated.
19 $106 $265
Topical aminolevulinic acid HCl 20% solution
A topical medication applied to the skin for medical treatment. It is supplied as a single-unit dosage form containing 354 mg of the active ingredient.
18 $306 $782
Removal of noncancer skin growth, 1.1-2.0 cm
This procedure involves the surgical removal of a benign skin growth located on the body, arms, or legs. The growth measured between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters in diameter.
17 $71 $354
Complex repair of eyelid, nose, ear, or lip wound, 2.6-7.5 cm
A surgical procedure to repair a complex wound on the eyelid, nose, ear, or lip that measures between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters.
17 $215 $1,069
Intraoperative pathology examination, first tissue block
A pathologist examines a tissue sample removed during surgery to provide a preliminary diagnosis. This test is performed on the first tissue block obtained from the procedure.
17 $86 $213
Light application with debridement to destroy precancerous skin growth
This procedure involves applying light to the skin along with debridement to destroy precancerous skin growths.
17 $227 $599
Additional Mohs surgery stage with microscopic exam
This procedure involves the removal and microscopic examination of an additional stage of tissue from the trunk, arms, or legs. It is performed in stages to ensure complete removal of the growth.
16 $339 $844
Surgical removal of skin cancer, 2.1-3.0 cm
This procedure involves the surgical excision of a cancerous skin growth located on the body, arms, or legs. The size of the removed tissue measures between 2.1 and 3.0 centimeters.
15 $131 $601
Removal of noncancer skin growth, 0.6-1.0 cm
This procedure involves the removal of a benign skin growth located on the body, arms, or legs. The growth removed measures between 0.6 and 1.0 centimeters in diameter.
14 $66 $327
Shaving of skin growth, 0.6-1.0 cm
A minor procedure to shave off a skin growth measuring 0.6 to 1.0 cm from the scalp, neck, hands, feet, or genitals.
13 $89 $260
Destruction of cancer skin growth on trunk, arms, or legs, 0.5 cm or less
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of a cancerous skin growth located on the trunk, arms, or legs that is 0.5 centimeters or smaller in size.
12 $73 $208
How to read this data: This reflects Medicare patients only (typically 65+). Payment amounts are what Medicare paid the provider, not your out-of-pocket cost. These counts do not measure clinical quality or years of experience.
0.1% high complexity
50.0% medium
49.9% routine

Industry Payment Transparency

Open Payments through 2024 ↗
$19,673
Total received (2018-2024)
Avg $2,810/year across 7 years
Top 11% in IL for dermatology
A higher payment rank reflects disclosed industry relationships (consulting, research, speaking) common among subspecialists — not wrongdoing.
49
Companies
801
Payment records
Payments are publicly reported; disclosure does not establish legality · Not evidence of wrongdoing · How to interpret →

Payment categories are unavailable while the source breakdown is being rebuilt. Company and year totals do not identify how much belongs to each category.

Payment trend by year

Annual totals from pharmaceutical and medical device companies.

2024
$3,053
2023
$5,462
2022
$3,878
2021
$1,293
2020
$1,818
2019
$2,745
2018
$1,424

Payments by company (2024)

ABBVIE INC.
$931
Dermavant Sciences, Inc.
$545
Lilly USA, LLC
$305
UCB, Inc.
$226
SUN PHARMACEUTICAL INDUSTRIES INC.
$210
PFIZER INC.
$134
GENZYME CORPORATION
$110
Incyte Corporation
$106
Organogenesis Inc.
$90
E.R. Squibb & Sons, L.L.C.
$72
Regeneron Healthcare Solutions, Inc.
$66
Amgen Inc.
$57
Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$53
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
$47
Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$41
Verrica Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$27
Arcutis Biotherapeutics, Inc.
$18
Biofrontera Inc.
$16
Top 3 companies account for 58.3% of 2024 payments
All-time payments by company (2018-2024) ›
ABBVIE INC.
$5,129
E.R. Squibb & Sons, L.L.C.
$1,650
Lilly USA, LLC
$1,321
Merz North America, Inc.
$986
AbbVie Inc.
$835
Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$832
AbbVie, Inc.
$735
Sientra, Inc.
$599
Dermavant Sciences, Inc.
$559
Amgen Inc.
$493
Regeneron Healthcare Solutions, Inc.
$493
Allergan, Inc.
$492
PFIZER INC.
$485
Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Inc.
$459
UCB, Inc.
$366
SUN PHARMACEUTICAL INDUSTRIES INC.
$351
Galderma Laboratories, L.P.
$336
Mayne Pharma Inc.
$332
MERZ NORTH AMERICA, INC.
$329
Organogenesis Inc.
$297
GENZYME CORPORATION
$269
Celgene Corporation
$211
MAYNE PHARMA INC.
$207
Musculoskeletal Transplant Foundation Inc.
$204
Midmark Corporation
$200
ORGANOGENESIS INC.
$196
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
$156
Incyte Corporation
$143
Genentech USA, Inc.
$138
Journey Medical Corporation
$116
Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$110
Biofrontera Inc.
$70
LEO Pharma Inc.
$70
Arcutis Biotherapeutics, Inc.
$67
MAYNE PHARMA COMMERCIAL LLC
$61
Ortho Dermatologics, a division of Bausch Health US, LLC
$48
VYNE Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$45
Allergan Inc.
$41
DUSA Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$30
DERMIRA, INC.
$30
Verrica Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$27
Ra Medical Systems, Inc.
$26
Urgo Medical North America, LLC
$25
ConvaTec Inc.
$24
Novum Pharma, LLC
$20
Medimetriks Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$20
Merck Sharp & Dohme Corporation
$13
Misonix Inc
$13
EPI Health, LLC
$12
Top 3 companies account for 41.2% of all-time payments
Associated products mentioned in payments ›
ABSORICA · ABSORICA (isotretinoin) · AKLIEF · ALTRENO · AMELUZ · AMZEEQ · Affinity · Alcortin A · Ameluz · BLU-U · BOTOX · BOTOX COSMETIC · Bensal HP · Bimzelx · CIBINQO · COSENTYX · Cimzia · Clindacin ETZ · DABRA · DORYX · DUPIXENT · DUPIXENT DUPILUMAB INJECTION · DYSPORT · ENSTILAR · EPIDUO FORTE · EUCRISA · Enbrel · Erivedge · HUMIRA · Humira · ILUMYA · ILUMYA (tildrakizumab-asmn) injection · INNOVAMATRIX AC · Ilumya · LEVULAN KERASTICK · LIBTAYO · ODOMZO · ODOMZO (sonidegib) capsules · OLUMIANT · OPZELURA · ORACEA · Odomzo · Otezla · Puraply · REMICADE · RINVOQ · SIENTRA HIGH STRENGTH COHESIVE SILICONE GEL BREAST IMPLANT · SILIQ · SIVEXTRO · SKYRIZI · SOOLANTRA · SPEVIGO · STELARA · Skyrizi · Sotyktu · TALTZ · TREMFYA · URGOK2 · VTAMA · Winlevi · XELJANZ · Xolair · YCANTH · Zoryve
Should you be concerned? Industry payments are disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their purpose, legality, or effect on care. What matters is whether a recommended drug or device appears in your doctor's payment records. If so, consider asking your doctor about it. How to interpret this data →
Looking for a dermatology specialist in Algonquin?
Compare dermatologists in the Algonquin area by procedure volume, costs, and industry payment transparency.
Browse dermatologists nearby

Geographic Context

Dermatologists in nearby ZIP areas
124
County median income
$102,836
Nearest hospital to ZIP centroid (approximate)
MERCYHEALTH HOSPITAL & PHYSICIAN CLINIC-CRYSTAL LA
4.7 mi

Data Sources

Provider Registry NPPES NPPES snapshot; verify current record
Medicare Enrollment PECOS PECOS snapshot
Practice Data Medicare Util. Annual (CY lag)
Industry Payments Open Payments CY 2024
Disciplinary History — Not included N/A

This provider has data in 4 of 4 available federal datasets, with a Data Coverage level of Very High. This reflects how much public data is available about a provider. How we calculate this →

Summary

Dr. Khanna is a clinical cardiology specialist, with above-average Medicare volume (top 1% in IL), with 19 years of NPI registration.

This summary is auto-generated from federal data, describing data availability and patterns. Read our methodology →

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Dr. Khanna experienced with ultrasound guidance for radiation therapy field placement?
Based on Medicare claims data, Dr. Khanna performed 2,798 ultrasound guidance for radiation therapy field placement services. These records cover Medicare fee-for-service activity, including eligible younger beneficiaries; they do not measure total practice volume or clinical quality.
Does Dr. Khanna receive payments from pharmaceutical companies?
Yes. Dr. Khanna received a total of $19,673 from 49 companies across 801 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their legality or effect on care. Patients may wish to ask their doctor about these relationships, especially if a recommended drug or device appears in the payment records.
How do Dr. Khanna's costs compare to other dermatologists in Algonquin?
Dr. Khanna's average Medicare payment per service is $97. Note that these figures represent what Medicare pays, not your out-of-pocket cost, which depends on your specific insurance plan and deductible. Procedure-level data above shows both what was submitted and what Medicare paid for each service type.
What does Data Coverage mean?
Data Coverage (currently Very High for Dr. Khanna) measures how much public federal data is available about a provider. It is not a quality rating. A "Very High" or "High" level means the provider has data across multiple federal sources (NPPES, PECOS, Medicare Utilization, Open Payments), indicating the presence of registry, enrollment, activity or payment records, not verified experience or clinical quality. A "Low" or "Moderate" level may simply mean the provider is newer, does not see Medicare patients, or has not received any industry payments — none of which are inherently negative. Read our full methodology →
Is this data up to date?
Source publication dates and the snapshots loaded on this site can differ. Rebuilding a page does not refresh its source records. Check the Medicare reporting year and the payment interval shown above; consult the linked official sources for newer releases and current registry details. See our data freshness policy →
About this page

This page combines public CMS records with calculated summaries and explanatory procedure labels. These transformations are not verbatim federal records. Sources: NPPES ↗, Open Payments ↗, Medicare Provider Utilization ↗, and PECOS. Publication is mandated by the Physician Payments Sunshine Act (§6002 ACA, 42 U.S.C. §1320a-7h) and the Freedom of Information Act.

This page is not medical advice, an endorsement, a recommendation, or a quality rating. Data Coverage reflects data completeness — how much federal information exists for this provider — not clinical performance, patient outcomes, or quality of care. Always verify information directly with the provider and consult a licensed clinician before making medical decisions.

Provider corrections: Provider portal · Privacy questions: Privacy Policy · Terms: Terms of Use · Methodology: Methodology

Data Disclaimer — Data sourced from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS): National Plan and Provider Enumeration System (NPPES), Open Payments program, Medicare Provider Utilization and Payment Data, and Provider Enrollment & Certification data (PECOS). Published under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). This website is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by CMS, HHS, or the U.S. Government. Data may contain errors as reported to CMS by providers and reporting entities. Industry payment disclosure alone establishes neither wrongdoing nor legality. Medicare data reflects only patients aged 65+ or those with qualifying disabilities. For corrections, contact CMS directly. This information does not constitute medical advice and should not be used as the sole basis for choosing a healthcare provider. Procedure descriptions use plain language and do not reference CPT® codes, which are copyrighted by the American Medical Association. Full methodology → · Report a data error → · Privacy policy →