Medicare Enrolled

Dr. Ashraf Hassanein, MD

Pathology - Anatomic · The Villages, FL
Practice pattern: Clinical Cardiology — Primarily office-based clinical cardiology
11950 COUNTY ROAD 101, The Villages, FL 32162
3524302580
Registered in NPPES since 2006
NPI: 1902811219 verify on NPPES ↗
Very High
DATA COVERAGE
Data in 4 of 4 federal sources
Measures public federal data availability — not provider quality
Informational, not a quality rating. This page presents federal public records about Dr. Hassanein from CMS (NPPES, Open Payments, Medicare Provider Utilization, PECOS). It is not medical advice, an endorsement, or a judgment of clinical quality. Always consult the provider directly and a licensed clinician for medical decisions. Read methodology →
Are you Dr. Hassanein? Request a correction or review of any data shown here. Provider portal →

What this data tells you about Dr. Hassanein

Dr. Ashraf Hassanein is a pathology - anatomic specialist in The Villages, FL, with 20 years of NPI registration. Based on federal Medicare data, Dr. Hassanein performed 35,297 Medicare services in 2023. These records do not provide a deduplicated patient total.

Between the years covered by Open Payments, Dr. Hassanein received a total of $1,800 from 22 pharmaceutical and/or device companies across 84 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly reported through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their effect on care. A reliable breakdown by payment category is not available in this snapshot. Patients may wish to discuss these relationships with their provider.

The Data Coverage level for Dr. Hassanein is Very High — reflecting how much public federal data is available about this provider. Patients are encouraged to use this data as one of several factors when choosing a healthcare provider.

✓ 20 years of NPI registration ▲ Top 2% volume in FL $1,800 industry payments

Florida License Status

FL DOH · MQA
1
Active license
None
Board action on record
0
Recent admin complaints
Profession License # Status Expires Board Action
Medical Doctor 79632 Clear January 31, 2027
Data from Florida Department of Health Medical Quality Assurance. License records are public under Chapter 119, Florida Statutes. Verify directly on FL DOH →

Medicare Practice Summary — 2023

Medicare Utilization ↗
35,297
Medicare services
Top 2% in FL for pathology - anatomic
Not available
Unique patients (not deduplicated)
$83
Avg. Medicare payment
Medicare patients only (65+ / disabled) · How to read this →

Top procedures by volume

Ranked by number of services performed for Medicare patients. Avg. submitted charge is what the provider billed; avg. Medicare payment is what CMS paid.

Procedure Volume Avg. paid Avg. submitted
Destruction of precancerous skin growths, 2-14
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of two to fourteen precancerous skin lesions. It is performed to eliminate abnormal skin cells that have the potential to develop into cancer.
5,726 $5 $13
Tissue pathology examination, moderate complexity
A laboratory test where a pathologist examines tissue samples under a microscope to analyze cellular details. This intermediate complexity procedure involves specialized techniques to identify abnormalities in the tissue.
5,298 $53 $141
Office visit, established patient (20-29 min)
An office visit for an existing patient lasting between 20 and 29 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
2,763 $66 $180
Office visit, established patient (10-19 min)
An office visit for an existing patient lasting 10 to 19 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
2,452 $43 $112
Additional skin growth biopsy
Removal of a sample of an additional skin growth for laboratory examination. This code is used for each extra lesion biopsied during the same session.
2,158 $38 $100
Skin biopsy, tangential
A procedure to remove a sample of the first identified skin growth for laboratory examination.
2,057 $64 $200
Superficial or low voltage radiation treatment
A radiation therapy procedure that delivers radiation to the surface of the body or uses low voltage energy. This treatment targets areas close to the skin.
1,920 $31 $79
Destruction of precancerous skin growth, 1
Removal of a single precancerous skin growth. This procedure destroys abnormal skin cells to prevent them from developing into cancer.
1,785 $33 $133
Radiation treatment planning, 1 area
This procedure involves gathering the necessary data to design the most effective radiation therapy plan for a single treatment area.
1,193 $202 $518
Destruction of 15 or more precancerous skin growths
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of fifteen or more precancerous skin lesions. It is performed to treat abnormal skin cells that have the potential to develop into cancer.
1,000 $119 $335
Skin growth removal and lab exam, 1-5 blocks
This procedure involves the removal of a growth from the head, neck, hands, feet, or genitals. The removed tissue is then examined under a microscope in the laboratory.
877 $477 $1,342
Destruction of skin growths (warts/lesions), 1-14
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of one to fourteen skin growths. It is a minor surgical intervention performed on the skin surface.
798 $77 $223
Tissue staining for diagnosis, additional
An extra laboratory procedure to apply special stains to tissue slides for detailed examination.
665 $65 $169
Removal and microscopic exam of growth of head, neck, hands, feet, or genitals, each additional stage, 1-5 tissue blocks 645 $318 $812
Office visit, established patient (30-39 min)
A follow-up office visit for an existing patient lasting between 30 and 39 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
631 $92 $255
Tissue staining for diagnosis, initial
A laboratory test where special stains are applied to tissue slides to help examine the cells and identify specific characteristics.
480 $75 $225
Ultrasound guidance for radiation therapy field placement
Use of ultrasound imaging to help position radiation therapy fields accurately during treatment.
479 $132 $347
Complicated wound repair, scalp/arms/legs, 2.6-7.5 cm
A complex surgical procedure to close a wound on the scalp, arms, or legs that measures between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters in length.
412 $316 $846
Complicated wound repair, 2.6-7.5 cm
A complex surgical procedure to close a wound measuring between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters on areas such as the face, neck, hands, or feet.
378 $190 $941
Destruction of cancer skin growth, 1.1-2.0 cm
Removal of a cancerous skin growth on the trunk, arms, or legs that measures between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters.
315 $114 $355
Ear tissue biopsy
A procedure to remove a small sample of tissue from the ear for laboratory examination.
292 $41 $194
Surgical removal of skin cancer, 1.1-2.0 cm
Surgical excision of a cancerous skin growth measuring between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters on the body, arms, or legs.
265 $95 $486
Continuing radiation therapy consultation per week
A weekly consultation to review and manage ongoing radiation therapy treatment.
238 $66 $167
Surgical removal of skin cancer, 2.1-3.0 cm
This procedure involves the surgical excision of a cancerous skin growth located on the body, arms, or legs. The size of the removed tissue measures between 2.1 and 3.0 centimeters.
215 $111 $556
New patient office visit (30-44 min)
An initial office visit for a new patient lasting between 30 and 44 minutes. This code is used when the total time spent on the date of the encounter falls within this range.
199 $80 $227
Novachor implant, per square centimeter
This code represents the supply of Novachor, a biologic implant material, measured by each square centimeter used during a procedure.
180 $772 $3,286
Destruction of cancerous skin growth on face, 1.1-2.0 cm
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of a cancerous skin lesion located on the face, ears, eyelids, nose, lips, or mouth. The lesion treated measures between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters in diameter.
177 $143 $410
Complicated wound repair of trunk, 2.6-7.5 cm
A surgical procedure to close a complex wound on the trunk that measures between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters in length.
157 $302 $789
Calculation of radiation therapy dose 134 $51 $129
Design and construction of complex radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a complex radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or conditions treated.
116 $96 $243
Destruction of cancer skin growth, 0.6-1.0 cm
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of a cancerous skin growth located on the trunk, arms, or legs that measures between 0.6 and 1.0 centimeters.
114 $88 $293
Destruction of cancer skin growth of scalp, neck, hands, feet, or genitals, 1.1-2.0 cm 97 $120 $374
Destruction of cancerous skin growth on face, 0.6-1.0 cm
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of a cancerous skin lesion located on the face, ears, eyelids, nose, lips, or mouth. The lesion treated measures between 0.6 and 1.0 centimeters in diameter.
92 $122 $359
Complex repair of eyelid, nose, ear, or lip wound, 2.6-7.5 cm
A surgical procedure to repair a complex wound on the eyelid, nose, ear, or lip that measures between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters.
76 $195 $994
Simple radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the initial planning phase for radiation therapy treatment. It includes the setup and configuration required to prepare for delivering radiation to a specific area.
73 $56 $142
New patient office visit (45-59 min)
An initial office visit for a new patient lasting between 45 and 59 minutes. This code covers the total time spent by the physician or qualified healthcare professional on the date of the encounter.
73 $127 $335
Special stain test for organisms
A laboratory test using special stains on tissue slides to identify microorganisms. The process includes the technical preparation of the slides and a professional interpretation of the results.
64 $84 $220
Intermediate radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the intermediate-level planning for radiation therapy treatment.
61 $85 $217
Radiation treatment planning, 2 areas
This procedure involves gathering the necessary data to design the most effective radiation therapy plan for two distinct treatment areas.
60 $314 $846
Skin graft repair of eyelid, nose, ear, or lip, 10 sq cm or less
A surgical procedure to repair a wound on the eyelid, nose, ear, or lip by transferring a small piece of skin. The transferred skin covers an area of 10 square centimeters or less.
52 $586 $1,538
Pathology tissue examination, moderate complexity
A laboratory test where a pathologist examines tissue samples under a microscope to identify abnormalities. This specific level indicates a moderate degree of complexity in the analysis.
49 $32 $83
Steroid injection (triamcinolone)
A 10 mg injection of triamcinolone acetonide, a corticosteroid medication. This code specifies the drug and dosage administered.
49 $1 $2
Punch biopsy of first skin growth
A small, circular piece of skin is removed from a skin growth using a circular blade. The sample is then sent to a laboratory for examination.
48 $87 $248
Skin graft repair, 10 sq cm or less
A surgical procedure to repair a wound by transferring a small piece of skin to the affected area. The graft covers wounds on the face, neck, hands, feet, or other specified body parts.
42 $596 $1,520
Removal of noncancer skin growth, 1.1-2.0 cm
This procedure involves the surgical removal of a benign skin growth located on the body, arms, or legs. The growth measured between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters in diameter.
39 $67 $342
Destruction of cancer skin growth, 0.6-1.0 cm
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of a cancerous skin growth measuring 0.6 to 1.0 centimeters. It is performed on the scalp, neck, hands, feet, or genitals.
35 $108 $335
Destruction of small cancerous skin growth on face or mouth
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of a cancerous skin lesion measuring 0.5 centimeters or less located on the face, ears, eyelids, nose, lips, or mouth.
32 $77 $278
Skin substitute graft application, 25 sq cm or less
Application of a skin substitute graft to a wound on the face, scalp, eyelids, mouth, neck, ears, around eyes, genitals, hands, feet, fingers, or toes. The wound area covered is 25.0 square centimeters or less.
31 $122 $315
Destruction of skin growth, 15 or more growths 29 $95 $260
Full thickness skin graft to nose, ears, eyelids, or lips, 20 sq cm or less
A surgical procedure where a full layer of skin is taken from a donor site and transplanted to the nose, ears, eyelids, or lips. The graft covers an area of 20 square centimeters or less.
26 $777 $1,999
Destruction of cancer skin growth on trunk, arms, or legs, 0.5 cm or less
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of a cancerous skin growth located on the trunk, arms, or legs that is 0.5 centimeters or smaller in size.
20 $54 $200
Destruction of cancerous skin growth on face, 2.1-3.0 cm
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of a cancerous skin lesion located on the face, ears, eyelids, nose, lips, or mouth. The lesion treated measures between 2.1 and 3.0 centimeters in diameter.
19 $181 $486
Design and construction of simple radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a simple radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or condition being treated.
19 $30 $76
Removal of noncancer skin growth, 0.6-1.0 cm
This procedure involves the removal of a benign skin growth located on the body, arms, or legs. The growth removed measures between 0.6 and 1.0 centimeters in diameter.
17 $65 $313
Injection into skin growths, 1-7
A procedure involving the injection of medication into one to seven skin growths.
17 $24 $113
Lip biopsy
A procedure to remove a small sample of tissue from the lip for laboratory examination.
13 $88 $247
Complex repair of eyelid, nose, ear, or lip wound, 1.1-2.5 cm
A surgical procedure to repair a complex wound on the eyelid, nose, ear, or lip that measures between 1.1 and 2.5 centimeters.
12 $180 $853
Skin graft repair, 10.1-30 sq cm
A surgical procedure to repair wounds on the forehead, cheeks, chin, mouth, neck, underarms, genitals, hands, or feet by transferring skin. The graft covers an area between 10.1 and 30.0 square centimeters.
11 $724 $1,838
Destruction of cancer skin growth of scalp, neck, hands, feet, or genitals, 2.1-3.0 cm 11 $148 $418
Skin growth removal and lab exam, 1-5 blocks
A procedure to remove a growth from the trunk, arms, or legs and send 1 to 5 tissue samples to a laboratory for microscopic examination.
11 $404 $1,258
How to read this data: This reflects Medicare patients only (typically 65+). Payment amounts are what Medicare paid the provider, not your out-of-pocket cost. These counts do not measure clinical quality or years of experience.

Industry Payment Transparency

Open Payments through 2024 ↗
$1,800
Total received (2018-2024)
Avg $257/year across 7 years
Top 9% in FL for pathology - anatomic
A higher payment rank reflects disclosed industry relationships (consulting, research, speaking) common among subspecialists — not wrongdoing.
22
Companies
84
Payment records
Payments are publicly reported; disclosure does not establish legality · Not evidence of wrongdoing · How to interpret →

Payment categories are unavailable while the source breakdown is being rebuilt. Company and year totals do not identify how much belongs to each category.

Payment trend by year

Annual totals from pharmaceutical and medical device companies.

2024
$611
2023
$385
2022
$117
2021
$148
2020
$97
2019
$179
2018
$263

Payments by company (2024)

PFIZER INC.
$214
SUN PHARMACEUTICAL INDUSTRIES INC.
$101
Organogenesis Inc.
$62
ABBVIE INC.
$57
E.R. Squibb & Sons, L.L.C.
$48
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
$48
Regeneron Healthcare Solutions, Inc.
$23
Amgen Inc.
$22
Galderma Laboratories, L.P.
$19
LEO Pharma Inc.
$17
Top 3 companies account for 61.7% of 2024 payments
All-time payments by company (2018-2024) ›
PFIZER INC.
$243
LEO Pharma Inc.
$203
E.R. Squibb & Sons, L.L.C.
$177
Organogenesis Inc.
$170
Genentech USA, Inc.
$166
Celgene Corporation
$141
SUN PHARMACEUTICAL INDUSTRIES INC.
$101
Regeneron Healthcare Solutions, Inc.
$78
Amgen Inc.
$76
Kerecis Limited
$62
ABBVIE INC.
$57
Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$54
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
$48
Galderma Laboratories, L.P.
$39
Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Inc.
$29
GENZYME CORPORATION
$28
Smith+Nephew, Inc.
$27
Mission Pharmacal Company
$26
Mayne Pharma Inc.
$21
Almirall LLC
$20
AbbVie Inc.
$20
Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$17
Top 3 companies account for 34.6% of all-time payments
Associated products mentioned in payments ›
ADBRY · CIBINQO · COLLAGENASE SANTYL · COSENTYX · DORYX · DUPIXENT · DUPIXENT DUPILUMAB INJECTION · ENSTILAR · EUCRISA · Erivedge · ILUMYA · Kerecis Omega3 SurgiClose · LIBTAYO · Otezla · Ovace · PICATO · Puraply · REMICADE · SKYRIZI · SPEVIGO · Seysara · Sotyktu · Zelboraf
Should you be concerned? Industry payments are disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their purpose, legality, or effect on care. What matters is whether a recommended drug or device appears in your doctor's payment records. If so, consider asking your doctor about it. How to interpret this data →
Looking for a pathology - anatomic specialist in The Villages?
Compare pathology - anatomics in the The Villages area by procedure volume, costs, and industry payment transparency.
Browse pathology - anatomics nearby

Geographic Context

Pathology - anatomics in nearby ZIP areas
18
County median income
$73,297
Nearest hospital to ZIP centroid (approximate)
VILLAGES REGIONAL HOSPITAL, THE
6.2 mi

Data Sources

Provider Registry NPPES NPPES snapshot; verify current record
Medicare Enrollment PECOS PECOS snapshot
Practice Data Medicare Util. Annual (CY lag)
Industry Payments Open Payments CY 2024
Disciplinary History — Not included N/A

This provider has data in 4 of 4 available federal datasets, with a Data Coverage level of Very High. This reflects how much public data is available about a provider. How we calculate this →

Summary

Dr. Hassanein is a clinical cardiology specialist, with above-average Medicare volume (top 2% in FL), with 20 years of NPI registration.

This summary is auto-generated from federal data, describing data availability and patterns. Read our methodology →

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Dr. Hassanein experienced with destruction of precancerous skin growths, 2-14?
Based on Medicare claims data, Dr. Hassanein performed 5,726 destruction of precancerous skin growths, 2-14 services. These records cover Medicare fee-for-service activity, including eligible younger beneficiaries; they do not measure total practice volume or clinical quality.
Does Dr. Hassanein receive payments from pharmaceutical companies?
Yes. Dr. Hassanein received a total of $1,800 from 22 companies across 84 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their legality or effect on care. Patients may wish to ask their doctor about these relationships, especially if a recommended drug or device appears in the payment records.
How do Dr. Hassanein's costs compare to other pathology - anatomics in The Villages?
Dr. Hassanein's average Medicare payment per service is $83. Note that these figures represent what Medicare pays, not your out-of-pocket cost, which depends on your specific insurance plan and deductible. Procedure-level data above shows both what was submitted and what Medicare paid for each service type.
What does Data Coverage mean?
Data Coverage (currently Very High for Dr. Hassanein) measures how much public federal data is available about a provider. It is not a quality rating. A "Very High" or "High" level means the provider has data across multiple federal sources (NPPES, PECOS, Medicare Utilization, Open Payments), indicating the presence of registry, enrollment, activity or payment records, not verified experience or clinical quality. A "Low" or "Moderate" level may simply mean the provider is newer, does not see Medicare patients, or has not received any industry payments — none of which are inherently negative. Read our full methodology →
Is this data up to date?
Source publication dates and the snapshots loaded on this site can differ. Rebuilding a page does not refresh its source records. Check the Medicare reporting year and the payment interval shown above; consult the linked official sources for newer releases and current registry details. See our data freshness policy →
About this page

This page combines public CMS records with calculated summaries and explanatory procedure labels. These transformations are not verbatim federal records. Sources: NPPES ↗, Open Payments ↗, Medicare Provider Utilization ↗, and PECOS. Publication is mandated by the Physician Payments Sunshine Act (§6002 ACA, 42 U.S.C. §1320a-7h) and the Freedom of Information Act.

This page is not medical advice, an endorsement, a recommendation, or a quality rating. Data Coverage reflects data completeness — how much federal information exists for this provider — not clinical performance, patient outcomes, or quality of care. Always verify information directly with the provider and consult a licensed clinician before making medical decisions.

Provider corrections: Provider portal · Privacy questions: Privacy Policy · Terms: Terms of Use · Methodology: Methodology

Data Disclaimer — Data sourced from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS): National Plan and Provider Enumeration System (NPPES), Open Payments program, Medicare Provider Utilization and Payment Data, and Provider Enrollment & Certification data (PECOS). Published under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). This website is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by CMS, HHS, or the U.S. Government. Data may contain errors as reported to CMS by providers and reporting entities. Industry payment disclosure alone establishes neither wrongdoing nor legality. Medicare data reflects only patients aged 65+ or those with qualifying disabilities. For corrections, contact CMS directly. This information does not constitute medical advice and should not be used as the sole basis for choosing a healthcare provider. Procedure descriptions use plain language and do not reference CPT® codes, which are copyrighted by the American Medical Association. Full methodology → · Report a data error → · Privacy policy →