Medicare Enrolled

Dr. Alexander Engelman, M.D.

Radiology - Diagnostic · Tampa, FL
Practice pattern: Clinical Cardiology — Primarily office-based clinical cardiology
601 S ARMENIA AVE, Tampa, FL 33609
8133538803
Registered in NPPES since 2011
NPI: 1679863658 verify on NPPES ↗
Very High
DATA COVERAGE
Data in 4 of 4 federal sources
Measures public federal data availability — not provider quality
Informational, not a quality rating. This page presents federal public records about Dr. Engelman from CMS (NPPES, Open Payments, Medicare Provider Utilization, PECOS). It is not medical advice, an endorsement, or a judgment of clinical quality. Always consult the provider directly and a licensed clinician for medical decisions. Read methodology →
Are you Dr. Engelman? Request a correction or review of any data shown here. Provider portal →

What this data tells you about Dr. Engelman

Dr. Alexander Engelman is a radiology - diagnostic specialist in Tampa, FL, with 15 years of NPI registration. Based on federal Medicare data, Dr. Engelman performed 8,737 Medicare services in 2023. These records do not provide a deduplicated patient total.

Between the years covered by Open Payments, Dr. Engelman received a total of $46,724 from 50 pharmaceutical and/or device companies across 644 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly reported through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their effect on care. A reliable breakdown by payment category is not available in this snapshot. Patients may wish to discuss these relationships with their provider.

The Data Coverage level for Dr. Engelman is Very High — reflecting how much public federal data is available about this provider. Patients are encouraged to use this data as one of several factors when choosing a healthcare provider.

✓ 15 years of NPI registration ▲ Top 9% volume in FL $46,724 industry payments

Florida License Status

FL DOH · MQA
1
Active license
None
Board action on record
0
Recent admin complaints
Profession License # Status Expires Board Action
Medical Doctor 128283 Clear January 31, 2028
Data from Florida Department of Health Medical Quality Assurance. License records are public under Chapter 119, Florida Statutes. Verify directly on FL DOH →

Medicare Practice Summary — 2023

Medicare Utilization ↗
8,737
Medicare services
Top 9% in FL for radiology - diagnostic
Not available
Unique patients (not deduplicated)
$194
Avg. Medicare payment
Medicare patients only (65+ / disabled) · How to read this →

Top procedures by volume

Ranked by number of services performed for Medicare patients. Avg. submitted charge is what the provider billed; avg. Medicare payment is what CMS paid.

Procedure Volume Avg. paid Avg. submitted
CT guidance for radiation therapy
This procedure uses computed tomography imaging to guide the precise placement of radiation therapy fields. It ensures accurate positioning for targeted treatment delivery.
2,379 $94 $303
Intensity-modulated radiation therapy delivery
Delivery of radiation therapy using narrow beams that are spatially and temporally modulated to target specific areas. This process is performed per treatment session.
2,303 $275 $907
Calculation of radiation therapy dose 604 $52 $163
Office visit, established patient (30-39 min)
A follow-up office visit for an existing patient lasting between 30 and 39 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
519 $92 $271
Continuing radiation therapy consultation per week
A weekly consultation to review and manage ongoing radiation therapy treatment.
502 $67 $197
Radiation treatment management, 5 sessions
Oversight and management of a radiation therapy course consisting of five treatment sessions.
461 $155 $479
Office visit, established patient (20-29 min)
An office visit for an existing patient lasting between 20 and 29 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
301 $62 $187
Cranial lesion radiation therapy
Treatment of a brain lesion using radiation delivered over multiple sessions.
196 $772 $2,761
Design and construction of complex radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a complex radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or conditions treated.
181 $98 $309
New patient office visit, complex (60-74 min) 177 $163 $522
Complex radiation therapy planning 147 $131 $425
High precision radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the detailed planning and setup required for delivering high-precision radiation therapy to a target area of the body.
135 $1,410 $4,610
Design and construction of radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a device used for high precision radiation therapy. It does not include the actual administration of radiation treatment.
135 $363 $1,160
Leuprolide acetate (for depot suspension), 7.5 mg 130 $133 $300
Special radiation treatment 120 $110 $331
Radiation therapy, 3+ areas, 6-10 MeV
Radiation treatment delivered to three or more separate areas using advanced techniques like custom blocking and rotational beams with an energy level of 6-10 MeV.
120 $179 $580
Subcutaneous or intramuscular chemotherapy injection
This procedure involves administering anti-cancer hormonal medication through an injection into the tissue under the skin or into a muscle.
48 $25 $82
Special medical radiation therapy consultation
A consultation with a radiation oncologist to discuss treatment options and plan for medical radiation therapy.
45 $108 $313
Fractionated radiation therapy for cranial lesion
Treatment using radiation delivered in multiple sessions to manage a lesion in the head.
44 $520 $1,619
Injection of biodegradable material next to prostate
A procedure involving the injection of a biodegradable substance into the tissue surrounding the prostate gland.
27 $2,210 $7,249
Radiation treatment planning, complex
This procedure involves obtaining the necessary data to develop an optimal radiation treatment plan for three or more treatment areas, or any number of areas requiring special treatment.
26 $179 $698
3D radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves creating a three-dimensional treatment plan for radiation therapy. It uses imaging data to map the target area and surrounding tissues to guide precise radiation delivery.
23 $360 $1,184
Transrectal ultrasound of prostate
An ultrasound imaging procedure where a probe is inserted into the rectum to create pictures of the prostate gland.
19 $137 $432
Special radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the specialized planning required for radiation therapy treatment.
17 $51 $162
Office visit, established patient, complex (40-54 min)
An office or outpatient visit for an existing patient lasting between 40 and 54 minutes. This level of service is determined by the total time spent on the date of the encounter.
16 $134 $364
Complex radiation therapy planning for internal radiation
This procedure involves the detailed planning required to deliver internal radiation therapy. It covers the technical preparation necessary for the administration of the treatment.
15 $356 $1,061
Prostate radiation therapy needle insertion
A needle or tube is inserted into the prostate to deliver radiation therapy.
12 $630 $1,975
Design and construction of simple radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a simple radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or condition being treated.
12 $19 $164
Complex application of radiation source
A procedure involving the complex placement of a radiation source. The specific clinical purpose is not stated in the source description.
12 $369 $1,236
Ultrasound guidance for radiation therapy
Use of ultrasound imaging to guide the administration of radiation therapy.
11 $53 $173
How to read this data: This reflects Medicare patients only (typically 65+). Payment amounts are what Medicare paid the provider, not your out-of-pocket cost. These counts do not measure clinical quality or years of experience.

Industry Payment Transparency

Open Payments through 2024 ↗
$46,724
Total received (2018-2024)
Avg $6,675/year across 7 years
Top 5% in FL for radiology - diagnostic
A higher payment rank reflects disclosed industry relationships (consulting, research, speaking) common among subspecialists — not wrongdoing.
50
Companies
644
Payment records
Payments are publicly reported; disclosure does not establish legality · Not evidence of wrongdoing · How to interpret →

Payment categories are unavailable while the source breakdown is being rebuilt. Company and year totals do not identify how much belongs to each category.

Payment trend by year

Annual totals from pharmaceutical and medical device companies.

2024
$17,177
2023
$21,171
2022
$2,864
2021
$3,213
2020
$780
2019
$497
2018
$1,021

Payments by company (2024)

Bayer Healthcare Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$10,045
Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$5,182
PFIZER INC.
$242
PROGENICS PHARMACEUTICALS, INC.
$202
Blue Earth Diagnostics Limited
$192
Dendreon Pharmaceuticals LLC
$173
Sumitomo Pharma America, Inc.
$151
Myriad Genetic Laboratories, Inc.
$130
AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals LP
$94
Boston Scientific Corporation
$93
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
$78
Tolmar, Inc.
$72
Teleflex LLC
$66
Astellas Pharma US Inc
$61
Tempus AI, Inc
$56
BIOPROTECT MEDICAL, INC.
$51
Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC
$48
ACCORD HEALTHCARE, INC.
$47
ABBVIE INC.
$39
Olympus America Inc.
$37
Telix Pharmaceuticals
$28
Napo Pharmaceuticals Inc
$28
Regeneron Healthcare Solutions, Inc.
$27
IsoRay, Inc
$19
SUN PHARMACEUTICAL INDUSTRIES INC.
$17
Top 3 companies account for 90.1% of 2024 payments
All-time payments by company (2018-2024) ›
Bayer Healthcare Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$23,354
Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$7,497
PFIZER INC.
$5,796
Myriad Genetic Laboratories, Inc.
$1,236
Dendreon Pharmaceuticals LLC
$1,130
PALETTE LIFE SCIENCES, INC.
$853
Blue Earth Diagnostics Limited
$832
Varian Medical Systems, Inc.
$561
Bayer HealthCare Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$474
Astellas Pharma US Inc
$376
Boston Scientific Corporation
$310
IsoRay, Inc
$292
Myovant Sciences Inc.
$290
Sumitomo Pharma America, Inc.
$284
MEDTEC, Inc.
$272
AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals LP
$262
Siemens Medical Solutions USA, Inc.
$214
PROGENICS PHARMACEUTICALS, INC.
$202
Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC
$187
Axonics, Inc.
$170
BOSTON SCIENTIFIC CORPORATION
$165
Progenics Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$155
AbbVie, Inc.
$148
Amgen Inc.
$140
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
$134
ABBVIE INC.
$126
Foundation Medicine, Inc.
$120
ACCORD HEALTHCARE, INC.
$112
Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Inc.
$110
Palette Life Sciences, Inc.
$110
Teleflex LLC
$81
Tolmar, Inc.
$72
AngioDynamics, Inc.
$59
TOLMAR Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$57
SUN PHARMACEUTICAL INDUSTRIES INC.
$56
Tempus AI, Inc
$56
Telix Pharmaceuticals
$52
Elekta, Inc.
$52
BIOPROTECT MEDICAL, INC.
$51
Olympus America Inc.
$37
Verity Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$34
MEDIVATION FIELD SOLUTIONS LLC
$33
Merck Sharp & Dohme Corporation
$31
Napo Pharmaceuticals Inc
$28
Regeneron Healthcare Solutions, Inc.
$27
Laborie Medical Technologies Corp.
$24
Novocure Inc.
$23
Kyowa Kirin, Inc.
$15
MENARINI SILICON BIOSYSTEMS, INC.
$13
AbbVie Inc.
$12
Top 3 companies account for 78.4% of all-time payments
Associated products mentioned in payments ›
ARIA Radiation Therapy Management Software · Axonics · Axumin · BIOPROTECT BALLOON IMPLANT SYSTEM · BRAC CDx · BRACAnalysis CDx · BRACHYTHERAPY SOURCE · Brachytherapy Source · CAMCEVI · Cellsearch · ELIGARD · ERLEADA · EVENITY · Erleada · FLEXITRON HDR · FOUNDATIONONE · GELCLAIR CONCENTRATED ORAL GEL · GENERAL THERAPIES · Halcyon · ILLUCCIX · IMFINZI · KEYTRUDA · LIBTAYO · LUPRON DEPOT · LUTATHERA · LYNPARZA · Lupron · Lupron Depot · MOSAIQ · MYRISK · NANOKNIFE · NanoKnife · Nubeqa · ORGOVYX · Oncology · PLUVICTO · POSLUMA · POTELIGEO · PROLARIS · PROVENGE · PYLARIFY · Prolaris · Prolia · SPACEOAR VUE · SpaceOAR VUE System - 10mL · Superion · TAGRISSO · Trelstar · TrueBeam · UROLIFT · XGEVA · XT CDX · XTANDI · Xarelto · Xofigo · Xtandi · YONSA · ZYTIGA · iTIND System
Should you be concerned? Industry payments are disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their purpose, legality, or effect on care. What matters is whether a recommended drug or device appears in your doctor's payment records. If so, consider asking your doctor about it. How to interpret this data →
Looking for a radiology - diagnostic specialist in Tampa?
Compare radiology - diagnostics in the Tampa area by procedure volume, costs, and industry payment transparency.
Browse radiology - diagnostics nearby

Geographic Context

Radiology - diagnostics in nearby ZIP areas
77
County median income
$75,011
Nearest hospital to ZIP centroid (approximate)
HCA FLORIDA SOUTH TAMPA HOSPITAL
0.0 mi

Data Sources

Provider Registry NPPES NPPES snapshot; verify current record
Medicare Enrollment PECOS PECOS snapshot
Practice Data Medicare Util. Annual (CY lag)
Industry Payments Open Payments CY 2024
Disciplinary History — Not included N/A

This provider has data in 4 of 4 available federal datasets, with a Data Coverage level of Very High. This reflects how much public data is available about a provider. How we calculate this →

Summary

Dr. Engelman is a clinical cardiology specialist, with above-average Medicare volume (top 9% in FL), with 15 years of NPI registration.

This summary is auto-generated from federal data, describing data availability and patterns. Read our methodology →

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Dr. Engelman experienced with ct guidance for radiation therapy?
Based on Medicare claims data, Dr. Engelman performed 2,379 ct guidance for radiation therapy services. These records cover Medicare fee-for-service activity, including eligible younger beneficiaries; they do not measure total practice volume or clinical quality.
Does Dr. Engelman receive payments from pharmaceutical companies?
Yes. Dr. Engelman received a total of $46,724 from 50 companies across 644 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their legality or effect on care. Patients may wish to ask their doctor about these relationships, especially if a recommended drug or device appears in the payment records.
How do Dr. Engelman's costs compare to other radiology - diagnostics in Tampa?
Dr. Engelman's average Medicare payment per service is $194. Note that these figures represent what Medicare pays, not your out-of-pocket cost, which depends on your specific insurance plan and deductible. Procedure-level data above shows both what was submitted and what Medicare paid for each service type.
What does Data Coverage mean?
Data Coverage (currently Very High for Dr. Engelman) measures how much public federal data is available about a provider. It is not a quality rating. A "Very High" or "High" level means the provider has data across multiple federal sources (NPPES, PECOS, Medicare Utilization, Open Payments), indicating the presence of registry, enrollment, activity or payment records, not verified experience or clinical quality. A "Low" or "Moderate" level may simply mean the provider is newer, does not see Medicare patients, or has not received any industry payments — none of which are inherently negative. Read our full methodology →
Is this data up to date?
Source publication dates and the snapshots loaded on this site can differ. Rebuilding a page does not refresh its source records. Check the Medicare reporting year and the payment interval shown above; consult the linked official sources for newer releases and current registry details. See our data freshness policy →
About this page

This page combines public CMS records with calculated summaries and explanatory procedure labels. These transformations are not verbatim federal records. Sources: NPPES ↗, Open Payments ↗, Medicare Provider Utilization ↗, and PECOS. Publication is mandated by the Physician Payments Sunshine Act (§6002 ACA, 42 U.S.C. §1320a-7h) and the Freedom of Information Act.

This page is not medical advice, an endorsement, a recommendation, or a quality rating. Data Coverage reflects data completeness — how much federal information exists for this provider — not clinical performance, patient outcomes, or quality of care. Always verify information directly with the provider and consult a licensed clinician before making medical decisions.

Provider corrections: Provider portal · Privacy questions: Privacy Policy · Terms: Terms of Use · Methodology: Methodology

Data Disclaimer — Data sourced from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS): National Plan and Provider Enumeration System (NPPES), Open Payments program, Medicare Provider Utilization and Payment Data, and Provider Enrollment & Certification data (PECOS). Published under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). This website is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by CMS, HHS, or the U.S. Government. Data may contain errors as reported to CMS by providers and reporting entities. Industry payment disclosure alone establishes neither wrongdoing nor legality. Medicare data reflects only patients aged 65+ or those with qualifying disabilities. For corrections, contact CMS directly. This information does not constitute medical advice and should not be used as the sole basis for choosing a healthcare provider. Procedure descriptions use plain language and do not reference CPT® codes, which are copyrighted by the American Medical Association. Full methodology → · Report a data error → · Privacy policy →