Medicare Enrolled

Dr. Shiv Desai, M.D.

Radiology - Diagnostic · Orlando, FL
Practice pattern: Clinical Cardiology — Primarily office-based clinical cardiology
601 E ROLLINS ST, Orlando, FL 32803
4073032030
Registered in NPPES since 2013
NPI: 1730523176 verify on NPPES ↗
Very High
DATA COVERAGE
Data in 4 of 4 federal sources
Measures public federal data availability — not provider quality
Informational, not a quality rating. This page presents federal public records about Dr. Desai from CMS (NPPES, Open Payments, Medicare Provider Utilization, PECOS). It is not medical advice, an endorsement, or a judgment of clinical quality. Always consult the provider directly and a licensed clinician for medical decisions. Read methodology →
Are you Dr. Desai? Request a correction or review of any data shown here. Provider portal →

What this data tells you about Dr. Desai

Dr. Shiv Desai is a radiology - diagnostic specialist in Orlando, FL, with 13 years of NPI registration. Based on federal Medicare data, Dr. Desai performed 2,936 Medicare services in 2023. These records do not provide a deduplicated patient total.

Between the years covered by Open Payments, Dr. Desai received a total of $6,915 from 20 pharmaceutical and/or device companies across 83 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly reported through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their effect on care. A reliable breakdown by payment category is not available in this snapshot. Patients may wish to discuss these relationships with their provider.

The Data Coverage level for Dr. Desai is Very High — reflecting how much public federal data is available about this provider. Patients are encouraged to use this data as one of several factors when choosing a healthcare provider.

✓ 13 years of NPI registration ▲ Top 32% volume in FL $6,915 industry payments

Florida License Status

FL DOH · MQA
2
Active licenses
None
Board action on record
0
Recent admin complaints
Profession License # Status Expires Board Action
Medical Doctor 136731 Clear January 31, 2028
Medical Doctor 160085 Clear January 31, 2027
Data from Florida Department of Health Medical Quality Assurance. License records are public under Chapter 119, Florida Statutes. Verify directly on FL DOH →

Medicare Practice Summary — 2023

Medicare Utilization ↗
2,936
Medicare services
Top 32% in FL for radiology - diagnostic
Not available
Unique patients (not deduplicated)
$74
Avg. Medicare payment
Medicare patients only (65+ / disabled) · How to read this →

Top procedures by volume

Ranked by number of services performed for Medicare patients. Avg. submitted charge is what the provider billed; avg. Medicare payment is what CMS paid.

Procedure Volume Avg. paid Avg. submitted
CT guidance for radiation therapy
This procedure uses computed tomography imaging to guide the precise placement of radiation therapy fields. It ensures accurate positioning for targeted treatment delivery.
1,004 $35 $135
Calculation of radiation therapy dose 377 $26 $100
Radiation treatment management, 5 sessions
Oversight and management of a radiation therapy course consisting of five treatment sessions.
222 $151 $577
Design and construction of complex radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a complex radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or conditions treated.
190 $47 $181
Stereoscopic X-ray guidance for radiation therapy localization
This procedure uses stereoscopic X-ray imaging to precisely locate the target area for radiation therapy delivery.
160 $15 $62
Office visit, established patient (30-39 min)
A follow-up office visit for an existing patient lasting between 30 and 39 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
148 $72 $294
Prolonged office E/M service, first 15 minutes
This code is used for additional time spent by a physician beyond the maximum required time of a primary office or outpatient evaluation and management service. It is billed in 15-minute increments based on total time spent on the date of the primary service.
144 $25 $94
Complex radiation therapy planning 100 $133 $511
Design and construction of radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a device used for high precision radiation therapy. It does not include the actual administration of radiation treatment.
89 $179 $675
Office visit, established patient, complex (40-54 min)
An office or outpatient visit for an existing patient lasting between 40 and 54 minutes. This level of service is determined by the total time spent on the date of the encounter.
88 $111 $431
High precision radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the detailed planning and setup required for delivering high-precision radiation therapy to a target area of the body.
87 $330 $1,258
New patient office visit, complex (60-74 min) 87 $144 $549
Respiratory data collection for radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves gathering respiratory data to help develop the optimal radiation treatment plan.
39 $83 $314
Fractionated radiation therapy for cranial lesion
Treatment using radiation delivered in multiple sessions to manage a lesion in the head.
33 $512 $1,941
Design and construction of simple radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a simple radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or condition being treated.
30 $19 $72
Special radiation treatment 27 $85 $321
Nasal and throat exam with endoscope
A procedure to visually examine the nose and throat using a thin, flexible tube with a camera. This allows for direct visualization of the internal structures of the upper airway.
25 $27 $113
Radiation treatment planning, 1 area
This procedure involves gathering the necessary data to design the most effective radiation therapy plan for a single treatment area.
24 $29 $114
Radiation treatment planning, complex
This procedure involves obtaining the necessary data to develop an optimal radiation treatment plan for three or more treatment areas, or any number of areas requiring special treatment.
24 $65 $247
3D radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves creating a three-dimensional treatment plan for radiation therapy. It uses imaging data to map the target area and surrounding tissues to guide precise radiation delivery.
21 $179 $674
Initial hospital admission, high complexity
Initial hospital inpatient or observation care for a new patient involving high-level medical decision making, with at least 75 minutes total time on the date of the encounter.
17 $139 $525
How to read this data: This reflects Medicare patients only (typically 65+). Payment amounts are what Medicare paid the provider, not your out-of-pocket cost. These counts do not measure clinical quality or years of experience.

Industry Payment Transparency

Open Payments through 2024 ↗
$6,915
Total received (2019-2024)
Avg $1,153/year across 6 years
Top 14% in FL for radiology - diagnostic
A higher payment rank reflects disclosed industry relationships (consulting, research, speaking) common among subspecialists — not wrongdoing.
20
Companies
83
Payment records
Payments are publicly reported; disclosure does not establish legality · Not evidence of wrongdoing · How to interpret →

Payment categories are unavailable while the source breakdown is being rebuilt. Company and year totals do not identify how much belongs to each category.

Payment trend by year

Annual totals from pharmaceutical and medical device companies.

2024
$612
2023
$2,317
2022
$3,174
2021
$761
2020
$13
2019
$38

Payments by company (2024)

Siemens Medical Solutions USA, Inc.
$130
Novocure Inc.
$117
GE HEALTHCARE
$102
Bayer Healthcare Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$72
Myriad Genetic Laboratories, Inc.
$49
Regeneron Healthcare Solutions, Inc.
$32
Brainlab, Inc.
$28
TerSera Therapeutics LLC
$24
PFIZER INC.
$21
RefleXion Medical, Inc.
$19
Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$17
Top 3 companies account for 57.2% of 2024 payments
All-time payments by company (2019-2024) ›
Ambu Inc.
$2,533
Brainlab, Inc.
$1,458
Siemens Medical Solutions USA, Inc.
$952
Regeneron Healthcare Solutions, Inc.
$351
Mevion_Medical_Systems_Inc
$293
Novocure Inc.
$290
AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals LP
$167
GT Medical Technologies, Inc
$160
Bayer Healthcare Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$143
GE HEALTHCARE
$102
Elekta, Inc.
$99
VIEWRAY TECHNOLOGIES INC
$98
Myriad Genetic Laboratories, Inc.
$80
Boston Scientific Corporation
$51
Bayer HealthCare Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$41
TerSera Therapeutics LLC
$24
PFIZER INC.
$21
RefleXion Medical, Inc.
$19
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
$17
Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$17
Top 3 companies account for 71.5% of all-time payments
Associated products mentioned in payments ›
ELEKTA MEDICAL LINEAR ACCELERATOR · ELEKTA UNITY · Eclipse Treatment Planning System for External Beam Radiation Therapy · GAMMATILE · GENERAL THERAPIES · GammaTile · Halcyon · IMFINZI · Image Guided Surgical Device · LIBTAYO · MEKINIST · MRIdian · MRIdian LINAC · ORGOVYX · Optune · PROLARIS · PTS250 · Prolaris · REFLEXION MEDICAL RADIOTHERAPY SYSTEM · SPACEOAR · Surgical planning and navigation radiation treatment planning and positioning · TECVAYLI · TrueBeam · Varian Ethos Treatment Planning · Xofigo · Zoladex
Should you be concerned? Industry payments are disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their purpose, legality, or effect on care. What matters is whether a recommended drug or device appears in your doctor's payment records. If so, consider asking your doctor about it. How to interpret this data →
Looking for a radiology - diagnostic specialist in Orlando?
Compare radiology - diagnostics in the Orlando area by procedure volume, costs, and industry payment transparency.
Browse radiology - diagnostics nearby

Geographic Context

Radiology - diagnostics in nearby ZIP areas
47
County median income
$77,011
Nearest hospital to ZIP centroid (approximate)
ADVENTHEALTH ORLANDO
0.0 mi

Data Sources

Provider Registry NPPES NPPES snapshot; verify current record
Medicare Enrollment PECOS PECOS snapshot
Practice Data Medicare Util. Annual (CY lag)
Industry Payments Open Payments CY 2024
Disciplinary History — Not included N/A

This provider has data in 4 of 4 available federal datasets, with a Data Coverage level of Very High. This reflects how much public data is available about a provider. How we calculate this →

Summary

Dr. Desai is a clinical cardiology specialist, with moderate Medicare volume.

This summary is auto-generated from federal data, describing data availability and patterns. Read our methodology →

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Dr. Desai experienced with ct guidance for radiation therapy?
Based on Medicare claims data, Dr. Desai performed 1,004 ct guidance for radiation therapy services. These records cover Medicare fee-for-service activity, including eligible younger beneficiaries; they do not measure total practice volume or clinical quality.
Does Dr. Desai receive payments from pharmaceutical companies?
Yes. Dr. Desai received a total of $6,915 from 20 companies across 83 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their legality or effect on care. Patients may wish to ask their doctor about these relationships, especially if a recommended drug or device appears in the payment records.
How do Dr. Desai's costs compare to other radiology - diagnostics in Orlando?
Dr. Desai's average Medicare payment per service is $74. Note that these figures represent what Medicare pays, not your out-of-pocket cost, which depends on your specific insurance plan and deductible. Procedure-level data above shows both what was submitted and what Medicare paid for each service type.
What does Data Coverage mean?
Data Coverage (currently Very High for Dr. Desai) measures how much public federal data is available about a provider. It is not a quality rating. A "Very High" or "High" level means the provider has data across multiple federal sources (NPPES, PECOS, Medicare Utilization, Open Payments), indicating the presence of registry, enrollment, activity or payment records, not verified experience or clinical quality. A "Low" or "Moderate" level may simply mean the provider is newer, does not see Medicare patients, or has not received any industry payments — none of which are inherently negative. Read our full methodology →
Is this data up to date?
Source publication dates and the snapshots loaded on this site can differ. Rebuilding a page does not refresh its source records. Check the Medicare reporting year and the payment interval shown above; consult the linked official sources for newer releases and current registry details. See our data freshness policy →
About this page

This page combines public CMS records with calculated summaries and explanatory procedure labels. These transformations are not verbatim federal records. Sources: NPPES ↗, Open Payments ↗, Medicare Provider Utilization ↗, and PECOS. Publication is mandated by the Physician Payments Sunshine Act (§6002 ACA, 42 U.S.C. §1320a-7h) and the Freedom of Information Act.

This page is not medical advice, an endorsement, a recommendation, or a quality rating. Data Coverage reflects data completeness — how much federal information exists for this provider — not clinical performance, patient outcomes, or quality of care. Always verify information directly with the provider and consult a licensed clinician before making medical decisions.

Provider corrections: Provider portal · Privacy questions: Privacy Policy · Terms: Terms of Use · Methodology: Methodology

Data Disclaimer — Data sourced from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS): National Plan and Provider Enumeration System (NPPES), Open Payments program, Medicare Provider Utilization and Payment Data, and Provider Enrollment & Certification data (PECOS). Published under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). This website is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by CMS, HHS, or the U.S. Government. Data may contain errors as reported to CMS by providers and reporting entities. Industry payment disclosure alone establishes neither wrongdoing nor legality. Medicare data reflects only patients aged 65+ or those with qualifying disabilities. For corrections, contact CMS directly. This information does not constitute medical advice and should not be used as the sole basis for choosing a healthcare provider. Procedure descriptions use plain language and do not reference CPT® codes, which are copyrighted by the American Medical Association. Full methodology → · Report a data error → · Privacy policy →