Medicare Enrolled

Dr. George Schmieder, DO

MOHS-Micrographic Surgery Physician · Orange Park, FL
Practice pattern: Mixed Practice — Diverse clinical practice across multiple procedure types
906 PARK AVE, Orange Park, FL 32073
9045410315
Registered in NPPES since 2006
NPI: 1578537759 verify on NPPES ↗
Very High
DATA COVERAGE
Data in 4 of 4 federal sources
Measures public federal data availability — not provider quality
Informational, not a quality rating. This page presents federal public records about Dr. Schmieder from CMS (NPPES, Open Payments, Medicare Provider Utilization, PECOS). It is not medical advice, an endorsement, or a judgment of clinical quality. Always consult the provider directly and a licensed clinician for medical decisions. Read methodology →
Are you Dr. Schmieder? Request a correction or review of any data shown here. Provider portal →

What this data tells you about Dr. Schmieder

Dr. George Schmieder is a mohs-micrographic surgery physician in Orange Park, FL, with 20 years of NPI registration. Based on federal Medicare data, Dr. Schmieder performed 15,340 Medicare services in 2023. These records do not provide a deduplicated patient total.

Between the years covered by Open Payments, Dr. Schmieder received a total of $14,182 from 40 pharmaceutical and/or device companies across 560 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly reported through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their effect on care. A reliable breakdown by payment category is not available in this snapshot. Patients may wish to discuss these relationships with their provider.

The Data Coverage level for Dr. Schmieder is Very High — reflecting how much public federal data is available about this provider. Patients are encouraged to use this data as one of several factors when choosing a healthcare provider.

✓ 20 years of NPI registration ▲ Top 9% volume in FL $14,182 industry payments

Florida License Status

FL DOH · MQA
1
Active license
None
Board action on record
0
Recent admin complaints
Profession License # Status Expires Board Action
Osteopathic Physician 4926 Clear March 31, 2028
Data from Florida Department of Health Medical Quality Assurance. License records are public under Chapter 119, Florida Statutes. Verify directly on FL DOH →

Medicare Practice Summary — 2023

Medicare Utilization ↗
15,340
Medicare services
Top 9% in FL for mohs-micrographic surgery physician
Not available
Unique patients (not deduplicated)
$148
Avg. Medicare payment
Medicare patients only (65+ / disabled) · How to read this →

Top procedures by volume

Ranked by number of services performed for Medicare patients. Avg. submitted charge is what the provider billed; avg. Medicare payment is what CMS paid.

Procedure Volume Avg. paid Avg. submitted
Ultrasound guidance for radiation therapy field placement
Use of ultrasound imaging to help position radiation therapy fields accurately during treatment.
2,334 $139 $243
Superficial or low voltage radiation treatment
A radiation therapy procedure that delivers radiation to the surface of the body or uses low voltage energy. This treatment targets areas close to the skin.
2,308 $32 $54
Radiation treatment planning, 1 area
This procedure involves gathering the necessary data to design the most effective radiation therapy plan for a single treatment area.
2,282 $207 $346
UV therapy with tar or petroleum jelly
A treatment using ultraviolet radiation combined with the application of tar or petroleum jelly to the skin.
1,654 $88 $145
Laser treatment for inflammatory skin disease, less than 250 sq cm
This procedure uses a laser to treat inflammatory skin conditions covering an area smaller than 250 square centimeters.
1,634 $118 $211
Skin growth removal and lab exam, 1-5 blocks
This procedure involves the removal of a growth from the head, neck, hands, feet, or genitals. The removed tissue is then examined under a microscope in the laboratory.
806 $470 $893
Removal and microscopic exam of growth of head, neck, hands, feet, or genitals, each additional stage, 1-5 tissue blocks 329 $322 $526
Destruction of precancerous skin growths, 2-14
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of two to fourteen precancerous skin lesions. It is performed to eliminate abnormal skin cells that have the potential to develop into cancer.
319 $5 $20
Office visit, established patient (20-29 min)
An office visit for an existing patient lasting between 20 and 29 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
299 $63 $105
Complicated wound repair, 2.6-7.5 cm
A complex surgical procedure to close a wound measuring between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters on areas such as the face, neck, hands, or feet.
286 $191 $639
Calculation of radiation therapy dose 270 $52 $81
Radiation treatment management, 5 sessions
Oversight and management of a radiation therapy course consisting of five treatment sessions.
251 $154 $235
Skin growth removal and lab exam, 1-5 blocks
A procedure to remove a growth from the trunk, arms, or legs and send 1 to 5 tissue samples to a laboratory for microscopic examination.
249 $477 $857
Skin biopsy, tangential
A procedure to remove a sample of the first identified skin growth for laboratory examination.
245 $68 $146
Laser treatment for inflammatory skin disease, 250-500 sq cm
This procedure uses a laser to treat inflammatory skin conditions covering an area between 250 and 500 square centimeters.
212 $131 $231
Continuing radiation therapy consultation per week
A weekly consultation to review and manage ongoing radiation therapy treatment.
192 $67 $104
Destruction of precancerous skin growth, 1
Removal of a single precancerous skin growth. This procedure destroys abnormal skin cells to prevent them from developing into cancer.
171 $37 $97
Additional skin growth biopsy
Removal of a sample of an additional skin growth for laboratory examination. This code is used for each extra lesion biopsied during the same session.
168 $37 $73
Kerecis omega3, per square centimeter 154 $116 $149
Complicated wound repair, scalp/arms/legs, 2.6-7.5 cm
A complex surgical procedure to close a wound on the scalp, arms, or legs that measures between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters in length.
130 $204 $566
Design and construction of simple radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of a simple radiation treatment device. It does not specify the clinical purpose or condition being treated.
101 $30 $50
Acne surgery
A surgical procedure to treat acne. The specific techniques and extent of the surgery are not defined in this general code description.
85 $91 $147
Complicated wound repair of trunk, 2.6-7.5 cm
A surgical procedure to close a complex wound on the trunk that measures between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters in length.
81 $210 $525
New patient office visit (30-44 min)
An initial office visit for a new patient lasting between 30 and 44 minutes. This code is used when the total time spent on the date of the encounter falls within this range.
75 $67 $136
Skin graft repair of eyelid, nose, ear, or lip, 10 sq cm or less
A surgical procedure to repair a wound on the eyelid, nose, ear, or lip by transferring a small piece of skin. The transferred skin covers an area of 10 square centimeters or less.
60 $617 $1,031
Simple radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the initial planning phase for radiation therapy treatment. It includes the setup and configuration required to prepare for delivering radiation to a specific area.
54 $53 $94
Additional Mohs surgery stage with microscopic exam
This procedure involves the removal and microscopic examination of an additional stage of tissue from the trunk, arms, or legs. It is performed in stages to ensure complete removal of the growth.
53 $306 $502
Surgical removal of skin cancer, 1.1-2.0 cm
Surgical excision of a cancerous skin growth measuring between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters on the body, arms, or legs.
40 $98 $327
Skin graft repair, 10 sq cm or less
A surgical procedure to repair a wound by transferring a small piece of skin to the affected area. The graft covers wounds on the face, neck, hands, feet, or other specified body parts.
39 $605 $1,017
Skin substitute graft application, 25 sq cm or less
Application of a skin substitute graft to a wound on the trunk, arms, or legs covering 25 square centimeters or less.
35 $121 $200
Skin graft repair of eyelid, nose, ear, or lip, 10.1-30 sq cm
This procedure involves repairing a wound on the eyelid, nose, ear, or lip by transferring skin from another area. The graft size covered is between 10.1 and 30.0 square centimeters.
32 $792 $1,334
Skin graft repair, 10.1-30 sq cm
A surgical procedure to repair wounds on the forehead, cheeks, chin, mouth, neck, underarms, genitals, hands, or feet by transferring skin. The graft covers an area between 10.1 and 30.0 square centimeters.
30 $739 $1,237
Skin substitute graft application, 25 sq cm or less
Application of a skin substitute graft to a wound on the face, scalp, eyelids, mouth, neck, ears, around eyes, genitals, hands, feet, fingers, or toes. The wound area covered is 25.0 square centimeters or less.
29 $118 $200
Intermediate radiation therapy planning
This procedure involves the intermediate-level planning for radiation therapy treatment.
28 $87 $137
Radiation treatment planning, 2 areas
This procedure involves gathering the necessary data to design the most effective radiation therapy plan for two distinct treatment areas.
28 $330 $550
Steroid injection (triamcinolone)
A 10 mg injection of triamcinolone acetonide, a corticosteroid medication. This code specifies the drug and dosage administered.
26 $1 $4
Complex repair of eyelid, nose, ear, or lip wound, 2.6-7.5 cm
A surgical procedure to repair a complex wound on the eyelid, nose, ear, or lip that measures between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters.
24 $200 $670
Complex radiation therapy planning 24 $137 $209
Radiation treatment planning, complex
This procedure involves obtaining the necessary data to develop an optimal radiation treatment plan for three or more treatment areas, or any number of areas requiring special treatment.
24 $350 $588
Office visit, established patient (10-19 min)
An office visit for an existing patient lasting 10 to 19 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
24 $45 $69
Office visit, established patient (30-39 min)
A follow-up office visit for an existing patient lasting between 30 and 39 minutes. The visit involves medical evaluation and management of the patient's condition.
24 $78 $159
Destruction of cancer skin growth, 1.1-2.0 cm
Removal of a cancerous skin growth on the trunk, arms, or legs that measures between 1.1 and 2.0 centimeters.
20 $76 $239
Surgical removal of skin cancer, 2.1-3.0 cm
This procedure involves the surgical excision of a cancerous skin growth located on the body, arms, or legs. The size of the removed tissue measures between 2.1 and 3.0 centimeters.
19 $117 $378
Design and construction of intermediate radiation treatment device
This code covers the design and construction of an intermediate radiation treatment device. It does not specify a particular clinical purpose or condition.
18 $107 $175
Destruction of 15 or more precancerous skin growths
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of fifteen or more precancerous skin lesions. It is performed to treat abnormal skin cells that have the potential to develop into cancer.
17 $126 $203
Injection into skin growths, 1-7
A procedure involving the injection of medication into one to seven skin growths.
15 $36 $75
Intermediate wound repair, 2.6-7.5 cm
A medical procedure to close a wound on the scalp, underarms, trunk, arms, or legs that measures between 2.6 and 7.5 centimeters. This type of repair involves cleaning the wound and stitching it closed to promote healing.
15 $152 $398
Destruction of skin growths (warts/lesions), 1-14
This procedure involves the removal or destruction of one to fourteen skin growths. It is a minor surgical intervention performed on the skin surface.
15 $73 $145
Intraoperative pathology examination, first tissue block
A pathologist examines a tissue sample removed during surgery to provide a preliminary diagnosis. This test is performed on the first tissue block obtained from the procedure.
12 $74 $127
How to read this data: This reflects Medicare patients only (typically 65+). Payment amounts are what Medicare paid the provider, not your out-of-pocket cost. These counts do not measure clinical quality or years of experience.
0.9% high complexity
54.6% medium
44.6% routine

Industry Payment Transparency

Open Payments through 2024 ↗
$14,182
Total received (2018-2024)
Avg $2,026/year across 7 years
Top 16% in FL for mohs-micrographic surgery physician
A higher payment rank reflects disclosed industry relationships (consulting, research, speaking) common among subspecialists — not wrongdoing.
40
Companies
560
Payment records
Payments are publicly reported; disclosure does not establish legality · Not evidence of wrongdoing · How to interpret →

Payment categories are unavailable while the source breakdown is being rebuilt. Company and year totals do not identify how much belongs to each category.

Payment trend by year

Annual totals from pharmaceutical and medical device companies.

2024
$1,179
2023
$1,512
2022
$1,705
2021
$1,678
2020
$2,457
2019
$2,426
2018
$3,225

Payments by company (2024)

ABBVIE INC.
$332
GENZYME CORPORATION
$210
PFIZER INC.
$109
Kerecis Limited
$100
Amgen Inc.
$90
Organogenesis Inc.
$52
Regeneron Healthcare Solutions, Inc.
$49
E.R. Squibb & Sons, L.L.C.
$43
Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$39
Incyte Corporation
$38
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
$38
Dermavant Sciences, Inc.
$32
Lilly USA, LLC
$32
Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$14
Top 3 companies account for 55.2% of 2024 payments
All-time payments by company (2018-2024) ›
UCB Biosciences Inc.
$1,451
PFIZER INC.
$1,270
GENZYME CORPORATION
$1,071
Janssen Research & Development, LLC
$986
Lilly USA, LLC
$982
AbbVie Inc.
$942
ABBVIE INC.
$855
LEO Pharma Inc.
$855
Regeneron Healthcare Solutions, Inc.
$830
Janssen Biotech, Inc.
$675
AbbVie, Inc.
$487
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
$408
Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Inc.
$379
Amgen Inc.
$352
Ortho Dermatologics, a division of Bausch Health US, LLC
$351
Janssen Scientific Affairs, LLC
$310
Celgene Corporation
$282
Galderma Laboratories, L.P.
$214
Genentech USA, Inc.
$200
Mylan Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$149
Sebela Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$124
E.R. Squibb & Sons, L.L.C.
$118
UCB, Inc.
$109
Kerecis Limited
$100
Mayne Pharma Inc.
$90
Incyte Corporation
$79
SUN PHARMACEUTICAL INDUSTRIES INC.
$77
Dermavant Sciences, Inc.
$75
Melinta Therapeutics, Inc.
$64
Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$61
Organogenesis Inc.
$52
VYNE Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$32
Helsinn Therapeutics (U.S.), Inc.
$29
Sandoz Inc.
$28
ORGANOGENESIS INC.
$21
Almirall LLC
$17
EPI Health, LLC
$16
Bayer HealthCare Pharmaceuticals Inc.
$13
Kyowa Kirin, Inc.
$13
DERMIRA, INC.
$13
Top 3 companies account for 26.7% of all-time payments
Associated products mentioned in payments ›
ABSORICA · ABSORICA (isotretinoin) · ADBRY · AMZEEQ · ARAZLO · Absorica LD · BRYHALI · Baxdela · Bimekizumab · CIBINQO · CLODERM · COSENTYX · CYLTEZO · Cimzia · Clindamycin Phosphate and Benzoyl Peroxide · DORYX · DUOBRII · DUPIXENT · DUPIXENT DUPILUMAB INJECTION · ELIDEL · ENSTILAR · EPIDUO FORTE · EUCRISA · Enbrel · Erivedge · Finacea · HUMIRA · Humira · ILUMYA · ILUMYA (tildrakizumab-asmn) injection · Ilumya · JUBLIA · KERYDIN · Kerecis Omega3 SurgiClose · LIBTAYO · NAFTIN · OPZELURA · ORACEA · Olux · Otezla · PICATO · POTELIGEO · Puraply Antimicrobial · QBREXZA · REMICADE · RINVOQ · SILIQ · SKYRIZI · SOOLANTRA · SPEVIGO · Seysara · Skyrizi · Sotyktu · TALTZ · TREMFYA · Tremfya · VALCHLOR · VTAMA · Winlevi · ZILXI
Should you be concerned? Industry payments are disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their purpose, legality, or effect on care. What matters is whether a recommended drug or device appears in your doctor's payment records. If so, consider asking your doctor about it. How to interpret this data →
Looking for a mohs-micrographic surgery physician in Orange Park?
Compare mohs-micrographic surgery physicians in the Orange Park area by procedure volume, costs, and industry payment transparency.
Browse mohs-micrographic surgery physicians nearby

Geographic Context

Mohs-micrographic surgery physicians in nearby ZIP areas
8
County median income
$86,094
Nearest hospital to ZIP centroid (approximate)
HCA FLORIDA ORANGE PARK HOSPITAL
0.0 mi

Data Sources

Provider Registry NPPES NPPES snapshot; verify current record
Medicare Enrollment PECOS PECOS snapshot
Practice Data Medicare Util. Annual (CY lag)
Industry Payments Open Payments CY 2024
Disciplinary History — Not included N/A

This provider has data in 4 of 4 available federal datasets, with a Data Coverage level of Very High. This reflects how much public data is available about a provider. How we calculate this →

Summary

Dr. Schmieder is a mixed practice specialist, with above-average Medicare volume (top 9% in FL), with 20 years of NPI registration.

This summary is auto-generated from federal data, describing data availability and patterns. Read our methodology →

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Dr. Schmieder experienced with ultrasound guidance for radiation therapy field placement?
Based on Medicare claims data, Dr. Schmieder performed 2,334 ultrasound guidance for radiation therapy field placement services. These records cover Medicare fee-for-service activity, including eligible younger beneficiaries; they do not measure total practice volume or clinical quality.
Does Dr. Schmieder receive payments from pharmaceutical companies?
Yes. Dr. Schmieder received a total of $14,182 from 40 companies across 560 payment records. A record can group multiple payments. These transfers are publicly disclosed through CMS Open Payments. Disclosure alone does not establish their legality or effect on care. Patients may wish to ask their doctor about these relationships, especially if a recommended drug or device appears in the payment records.
How do Dr. Schmieder's costs compare to other mohs-micrographic surgery physicians in Orange Park?
Dr. Schmieder's average Medicare payment per service is $148. Note that these figures represent what Medicare pays, not your out-of-pocket cost, which depends on your specific insurance plan and deductible. Procedure-level data above shows both what was submitted and what Medicare paid for each service type.
What does Data Coverage mean?
Data Coverage (currently Very High for Dr. Schmieder) measures how much public federal data is available about a provider. It is not a quality rating. A "Very High" or "High" level means the provider has data across multiple federal sources (NPPES, PECOS, Medicare Utilization, Open Payments), indicating the presence of registry, enrollment, activity or payment records, not verified experience or clinical quality. A "Low" or "Moderate" level may simply mean the provider is newer, does not see Medicare patients, or has not received any industry payments — none of which are inherently negative. Read our full methodology →
Is this data up to date?
Source publication dates and the snapshots loaded on this site can differ. Rebuilding a page does not refresh its source records. Check the Medicare reporting year and the payment interval shown above; consult the linked official sources for newer releases and current registry details. See our data freshness policy →
About this page

This page combines public CMS records with calculated summaries and explanatory procedure labels. These transformations are not verbatim federal records. Sources: NPPES ↗, Open Payments ↗, Medicare Provider Utilization ↗, and PECOS. Publication is mandated by the Physician Payments Sunshine Act (§6002 ACA, 42 U.S.C. §1320a-7h) and the Freedom of Information Act.

This page is not medical advice, an endorsement, a recommendation, or a quality rating. Data Coverage reflects data completeness — how much federal information exists for this provider — not clinical performance, patient outcomes, or quality of care. Always verify information directly with the provider and consult a licensed clinician before making medical decisions.

Provider corrections: Provider portal · Privacy questions: Privacy Policy · Terms: Terms of Use · Methodology: Methodology

Data Disclaimer — Data sourced from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS): National Plan and Provider Enumeration System (NPPES), Open Payments program, Medicare Provider Utilization and Payment Data, and Provider Enrollment & Certification data (PECOS). Published under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). This website is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by CMS, HHS, or the U.S. Government. Data may contain errors as reported to CMS by providers and reporting entities. Industry payment disclosure alone establishes neither wrongdoing nor legality. Medicare data reflects only patients aged 65+ or those with qualifying disabilities. For corrections, contact CMS directly. This information does not constitute medical advice and should not be used as the sole basis for choosing a healthcare provider. Procedure descriptions use plain language and do not reference CPT® codes, which are copyrighted by the American Medical Association. Full methodology → · Report a data error → · Privacy policy →